We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location. Good value for Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
Ranked #40 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Convenient location. Good value for Shanghai”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel is located not far from the Century Subway Station where Line 2 stops which also runs to the airport. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel needs some updating in terms of style as far as the lobby is concerned but the rooms are very tasteful and in good shape. Whoever designed this hotel, did not think about privacy in the bathroom. You walk into the room through the bathroom and the toilet section has a glass door. Internet speed is good and what is to be desired there, is the great Chinese Firewall. So if you want to access US Websites etc. you need a VPN client as in many other locations in China. Major department stores are in walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ab1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, General Manager at Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear ab1966

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel team friendly and accommodating. I am a true believer that is the people in a hotel that make a difference and create customer loyalty.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai in order for me to arrange a room with a more conventional bathroom arrangement. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    259
    70
    12
    4
See reviews for
24
38
48
360
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Fabulous interior design of the hotel.
Beautiful lobby , large rooms , bathtub and shower together in a spacious marble bathroom and so far the best maid I ever had in any Marriott.
Maybe it was even a man.
Clean to perfection , peaceful rooms , really enjoyable.
Excellent breakfast.
Only the Italian restaurant within the hotel is a disaster.
Expensive , with limited choice of food, personnel without basic knowledge of English.
Needs serious improvement.

Room Tip: Room on top floors have better views ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, General Manager at Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear jasmine t:

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

I am pleased you had such a great experience although I cannot take credit for your stay as we do not have an Italian restaurant in the Hotel. There are 23 Marriott properties in Shanghai and I am afraid your comments were mistakenly placed on the Courtyard by Marriott Pudong site.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai. I would be pleased to show you the facilities and services of the Courtyard Pudong.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

It's a pretty good Courtyard Marriott for any business traveller. Location is good, close to metro and just a short driving distance to the central business area in Pudong. Nice room with decent gym and good breakfast. Nothing fancy and don't expect it's a luxury hotel, but service level is quite high.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidcklai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, General Manager at Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear davidcklai
Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.
Good to hear you enjoyed the gym and breakfast. Both are great starts to the day.
Best Regards,
Bruce Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

The rooms themselves were compact but functional. The toliet had a glass door which i found weird initially. Hotel staff were friendly and accomodating.

Breakfast provided a good range of food and was of good quality.

The hotel is located in a convenient spot to most of the offices in the pudong area. I would recommend this hotel and will be staying there again when i next visit shanghai on business.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmeet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, General Manager at Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Harmeet S
Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.
I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel team friendly and accommodating. I am a true believer that is the people in a hotel that make a difference and create customer loyalty. I have shared your positive breakfast comments with the Executive Chef and his brigade.
Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai in order for me to arrange a room with a more conventional bathroom arrangement. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.
Best Regards,
Bruce Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

I write this review after one week of a 2 week stay at this hotel. The level of service is high and all the staff are helpful and friendly. Most speak quite good English so communication isn't a problem. The room I have is spacious and has all the amenities you would wish for. The maid service is great the mini bar is replenished daily.

Breakfast is a buffet style with cook to order items as well. A great selection I must say even the most fussy of eaters should find something.

I forgot my jumper one night in the lobby and the next day I reported it when I went to breakfast they took the details and before I could take my first bite it was returned to me. Well impressed as I haven't had the same with other hotels I have stayed in.

All in all a great hotel and would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank askpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, General Manager at Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear askpackers:

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts during your stay. Travelling in Shanghai can be very hectic and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

I am a firm believer that it is the associates who make a hotel and not the structure. I am very pleased my team is making such a favorable impression on you and hope that we will continue to be your “home away from home” while in Shanghai.

Please feel free to contact me personally if I can be of any assistance during your stay.

Best Regards,
Bruce Dupuis
General Manager
cy.shacy.gm@courtyard.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This hotel is sometimes perfect and other times just ok. I have stayed here on numerous occasions as it is close to our offices in Shanghai. If you are a member and get upgraded to the executive level, make sure you dont get one of the strange rooms where you walk into the bathroom, toilet shower before you reach the bedroom, very uncomfortable when ordering room service or if your partner needs to get to room while you are using the facilities.

The executive lounge area is rather nice but in all the time that I have been there I know all the dishes that will be served together on what days it will be served, no variety available.

Staff are friendly, breakfast is good, rooms are clean although smelling of cigarette smoke sometimes and location is not bad, the subway or metro is one black away.

Room Tip: Avoid the walk in bathroom bedrooms where you need to walk through the bathroom to reach bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAinnanjing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, General Manager at Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear SAinnanjing:

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

I have shared your comments concerning the Executive Floor selection with the culinary team who will look at creating some new menus. I have also shared your positive comments concerning breakfast. Whilst it is always difficult to hear that we did not meet a customer’s expectations it is only through customer feedback, both positive and negative that we can further develop our product.

Smoking is a concern all through China and we are continuously looking for the best solution to accommodate both smoking and non-smoking guests while enforcing the local bylaws.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai in order for me to arrange a room with a more conventional bathroom arrangement. Once again thank you for your valuable comments.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Just spent one night on the last leg of a long trip in the mainland. Overall, the experience was great, including a very nice breakfast on the morning I departed. I had a big problem with room service late at night--it started when they didn't have the menu item I wanted (I recall it was a basic turkey sandwich), so I ordered a burger that finally arrived, but was nowhere close to cooked. I called to report it, then was eventually greeted with a replacement almost an hour later. By that time, I was done eating and just wanted to go to sleep. Fortunately, they didn't give me any problem removing the charge from my bill, but the whole ordeal was so drawn out that I was just very disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, General Manager at Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Rob L:

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

Whilst always difficult to hear I am pleased that you pointed out the problem you experienced in Room Service. It is only through customer feedback, both positive and negative that we can further develop our services.

Once again please accept my apologies for our shortcomings. I would like to thank you for your loyalty to the Courtyard Pudong Shanghai by Marriott and hope this isolated incident will not deter you from patronizing the hotel on your next visit to Shanghai.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
#114 of 5,082 in Shanghai
566 reviews
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#44 of 5,082 in Shanghai
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong

Property: Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
Address: No.838, Dongfang Rd, Pudong Dist, Shanghai 200122, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Pudong is a classy yet contemporary business hotel located in the business district of Shanghai Pudong, located at the main intersection in Pudong with easy access to the business centers of both Shanghai Puxi and Shanghai Pudong, only 5 minutes walk to the Century Avenue Station of Metro Line 2, 4, 6 and 9. This up market 4 star, 323 rooms Full Service hotel offers customers 3 F&B outlets plus extended meeting & banquet facilities of more than 1000 square meter. It's newly created premier and executive level rooms together with its new state of the art executive level Club Lounge will be a welcoming experience for both the international and domestic business traveler in the heart of Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai
Courtyard Shanghai Pudong
Shanghai Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing