We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not like Courtyard in the US”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
Ranked #40 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
231 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not like Courtyard in the US”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed here last May and was wonderfully surprised that this was a Courtyard. It is more like a normal Marriott in the US. My room was very spacious. Of course being Platinum with Marriott helped as I got to use the executive floor for check-in and happy hour every evening. The restaturant bar was very nice and I will always remember Sunny at the bar for being, well sunny. She was always bright and cheerful and it was great fun to teach her about American Football. I have not had a chance to go back but Iook forward to when I can.

Room Tip: Try and stay on the higher floors. Decent views from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Stephen,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your positive feedback.

As our Elite Platinum Member, it is always our pleasure to have you staying with us at our hotel. Even more satisfying is to get such a nice review. I am very happy that you have enjoyed your stay and I will make sure to forward your compliments to our Spice Café waitress Sunny.

I wish you all the best and I look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel during your next trip to Shanghai.

Sincerely,

Juozas Natkevicius
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    252
    69
    12
    4
See reviews for
24
36
48
350
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard in April of 2012. There was a very interesting deal on Deluxe Suites when booked more than a month in advance (not refundable). It came to about the same price as a Superior room. I was really impressed by the size of the room, the quality of the furniture, the overall cleanliness and the executive level service. The bed was really comfortable.

The staff was friendly and eager to please. The lobby is large and welcoming.

The executive lounge is top quality. The food was good and the atmosphere was really relaxed. The young ladies working at the lounge were very nice and polite. One afternoon, as I was enjoying a bear, I saw a senior attendant giving English lessons to new attendant to better serve customer. Nice attention!

The hotel is not really close to touristic attractions but at walking distance from the gigantic Next Age shopping mall and a couple of subway stations away from the famous Pearl tower and from the Bund. The Shanghai subway is very simple to use and indications are clear. I enjoyed walking in the neighborhood of the hotel.

If I have the chance to return to the wonderful city of Shanghai, I would return to the Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong without any hesitation.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journey_on_earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your extensive positive feedback.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed staying at our hotel. We always strive to provide our guests with the most comfortable experience, therefore I appreciate your compliments, particularly regarding your room and the executive lounge.

I hope you will be coming back to Shanghai in the near future and we will be able to welcome you at our hotel once more.

Sincerely,

Juozas Natkevicius
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just like the title says....

Pros:
Nice Lobby, Friendly staff, Very reasonable rates, recently remodeled, decent food, inexpensive meeting room rates, [typical Marriott] At Your Service staff attitude, many restaurants within walking distance

Cons:
Staff English could improve; A/C in rooms functional, but not great, buffets are okay (but not great like renaissance or Marriot City Centre), executive lounge not 24/7, charge for printing at business center is higher and even higher at lounge), executive lounge and rooms at middle floors, floors 1 through 4 (not ground) show signs of age (beat up doors, molding, non-remodeled bathroom). No pool. There appears to be a hospital leasing out part of the hotel, which is odd. There are escalators that go no where.

I would stay here again for the rate. I would definitely do another event here. Leo, Cynthia, and entire staff were pleasant to work with, responsive, reasonable, wllling t succumb to my negotiations, and did not stress out over the little details (i.e. let me cancel rooms at 11 PM)..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uclalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback.

I appreciate your compliments regarding our staff. I will definitely make sure to pass your positive feedback to our At Your Service and Event management associates.
As you have mentioned, we are aware that some of our employees lack the English proficiency, but I would like to assure you that special language classes are being conducted and hopefully during your next stay you will be pleasantly surprised with the results.

Furthermore, I would like to assure you that there are no hospitals operating at our hotel. However, there is a medical check center on the 3rd floor in the office building which is accessible through the side entrance and those escalators are for their convenience. I apologize for any misunderstandings that it may have caused you.

I would like to wish you safe future travels and I look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel during your next stay in Shanghai.

Sincerely,

Juozas Natkevicius
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stopped here for food because everything was closed. I tried two different mixed drinks, both of which were not good (including a long island iced tea). I also had the wonton soup, which was unappetizing. I wouldn't recommend eating here. They were very prompt and attentive.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback.

It is very unfortunate that you had an unpleasant dining experience at our hotel’s restaurant. I have already informed our Director of Food and Beverage and our Executive Chef about your comments regarding the taste of the food and mixed drinks. I can assure you that we will be monitoring the quality of these items to make sure they are of high standards.

I would like to wish you safe future travels and I hope on your next visit to Shanghai, I will have an opportunity to welcome you at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Juozas Natkevicius
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

After searching for a hotel that would put me close to the New International Exhibition venue and creature conveniences such as restaurants, the Courtyard seemed to fill the bill. One often thinks of Courtyard from our on the road experiences here in the US, but think "Big City" when you think of this one. Standing tall, it is easily recognizable even through some of Shanghai's smoggy days....which seem more frequent than ever.

Attentive staff, prompt service in the rooms, ample coffee refills in the morning and when you need pinpoint directions to an electronics store because you might have left a charging cable.....no problem. The concierge laid out a simple walk path that put me right in the middle of Shanghai's Times Square and literally hundreds of options for cables.

If you have traveled to China previously, you won't be shocked by the absence of room air conditioning during the off season. Windows open slightly to allow cooler air in.

Shanghai is a HUGE city and the street noise seems New York constant, however the hotel is situated just off Dong Fang Road and from my room's perspective, it was not a bother. Ask for a higher level room to avoid any lingering noise.

An upcoming trip already has this hotel in the plans.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room if you want to avoid noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RideHigh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai – Pudong and providing us with your feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I am glad that we were able to assist you and your searches for a cable were successful. We always strive to provide our guests with the most comfortable and effortless experience, so please do not hesitate to ask for assistance should require any during your future stays.

I would like to wish you safe travels and I look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel during your next stay in Shanghai.

Sincerely,

Juozas Natkevicius
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

In the midst of most unhelpful taxi drivers and others, this hotel staff make you feel comfortable in an otherwise scary situation. Excellent in all guest contact departments. Good Breakfast. Nice compact rooms, first time I have had a room where you literally pass through the bathroom!!! but well managed and designed. Good facilites, water pressure etc. Very well kept hotel as well. Did not have time recreational facialites whaever was there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Upul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai – Pudong and providing us with your feedback.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate your compliments regarding our staff. We always strive to provide our guests with the most comfortable and pleasant experience through customer care, therefore your positive feedback means we are on the right track.

I look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel next time you will be in Shanghai.

Sincerely,

Juozas Natkevicius
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights in October 2012, on a business trip. Within walking distance of the subway (8-10 min walk) and close to many restaurants and a shopping mall. Courteous staff, very eager to please. The lobby greeters and concierge desk staff appeared to be mostly college kids (spoke to one of them), with just enough knowledge of English to help with directions and taxis. Room was clean and comfortable, internet access was good. When I asked for the door to the balcony to be opened (was on a high floor), was made to sign a lengthy waiver of liability before being given the key. Found it funny, but I can see it from their point of view :-) View from the room was mainly other tall hotels and office buildings close by, that were well lit up at night. Nothing to write home about. This hotel is still a few miles away from central Pudong where all the really fancy (and $$$) sykscraper hotels live. Not a big deal. The Chinese restaurant in the hotel (not the one in the lobby, but on one of the higher floors) was excellent. Upscale ambience, but not very crowded, possibly due to the slightly higher prices, but still affordable by US standards. But the food was well worth it, IMO. You could tell that the chef took pride in his creations and presentations. Ended up eating there three times as I was too tired to venture out after long days. Enjoyed my meal every time. All in all, a conveniently located hotel for business travel. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on higher floors. Traffic noise from the busy main road could be an issue on the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txtravel_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai – Pudong and providing us with your feedback.

I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and plan to do so in the future. Furthermore, it is wonderful to know that you had great experience at our “Hua Mei Gardens” Chinese restaurant and I will be sure to forward your compliments to our chefs.

Also, as you have pointed out, we are aware that some of our concierge desk employees lack the English proficiency, but I would like to assure you that we are conducting special classes to improve in this area and hopefully during your next stays you will be pleasantly surprised.
Meanwhile, I would like to wish you best of luck and I look forward to welcoming you at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Juozas Natkevicius
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#46 of 5,059 in Shanghai
834 reviews
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
#112 of 5,059 in Shanghai
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong

Property: Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
Address: No.838, Dongfang Rd, Pudong Dist, Shanghai 200122, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Pudong is a classy yet contemporary business hotel located in the business district of Shanghai Pudong, located at the main intersection in Pudong with easy access to the business centers of both Shanghai Puxi and Shanghai Pudong, only 5 minutes walk to the Century Avenue Station of Metro Line 2, 4, 6 and 9. This up market 4 star, 323 rooms Full Service hotel offers customers 3 F&B outlets plus extended meeting & banquet facilities of more than 1000 square meter. It's newly created premier and executive level rooms together with its new state of the art executive level Club Lounge will be a welcoming experience for both the international and domestic business traveler in the heart of Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Marriott, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai
Courtyard Shanghai Pudong
Shanghai Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing