We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We stayed here twice in two weeks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
Ranked #42 of 4,997 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We stayed here twice in two weeks!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We were booked into hotel as part of our China tour. It was a comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Although it is in the business sector of the city, there are good facilities nearby. Easy access to Metro, which takes you the Bund in 10mins. Breakfast was very good, variety and once again very good service.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jjdcjdbjdajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments after your stay here! Its our greatest pleasure to delight our guests! We are glad you're satisfied with our service for you during your stay! Your great words will encourage us do it better!

We are looking forward to your continus reservation in our hotel. We will certainly try our very best to make sure your next stay is an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    241
    68
    12
    3
See reviews for
21
36
46
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Germantown Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I normally stay in the Hongqiao area in Shanghai due to the heavy concentration of Western restaurants as I usually need a break from Chinese food. The hotel itself is very nice with excellent service for China. They even set up a TP Link in my room for wifi as I am a silver Marriott member and there was no charge. Very comfortable room, with good A/C, actually had to turn up the temperature. Also room was about 150 RMB less than Hongqiao. Alas the area is not as good for getting a taste of home as Hongqiao. Ended up eating at hotel buffet the first night as all the restaurants had lines outside the hotel. Hotel buffet was OK at best. Ate at Yu Xin Sichuan restaurant for lunch (in mall next to hotel) and it was super spicy which I like with English menus. Took a taxi to Boxing Cat Brewery the last night. I will probably move back to Hongqiao for my next visit to Shanghai but it has nothing to do with the hotel itself. It's still 40 min to Pudong airport from this hotel so do not think it is close to the airport.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments after your stay here! Its our greatest pleasure to delight our guests! We are glad you're satisfied with our service for you during your stay! Your great words will encourage us do it better!

We are looking forward to your continus reservation in our hotel. We will certainly try our very best to make sure your next stay is an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I have stayed in many good hotels. With most reputable chains, it is unusual if there is much to complain about the rooms, food or choices offered. Designs and decoration varies, and this hotel has recently been refurbished with the rooms being bright and airy through much used of glass and modern furniture. As noted by some others, the new open plan bathroom with glass internal doors has some compromises, but does give more space and there is a solid sliding screen door to provide privacy when required. Some hotels offer bigger rooms (but these are quite big enough) and more gadgets (that I have no need for), but this one has the basics very well sorted. Rooms have a large comfortable bed -- firm but with soft memory foam topper pad, new bathroom facilities with large shower cubicle. The hotel boasts a good selection of restaurants and lobby bar plus great executive lounge if your rate or Marriott Rewards status enables access. Breakfasts in either location are excellent with wide selection. With a few minor exceptions where refurbishment is not complete, the decor in this hotel is bright and welcoming despite being one of the older buildings in Pudong -- but nothing in Pudong is actually old! Nearby is the Century Avenue Metro station with easy links to the rest of the city, and right behind the hotel is the 96 Plaza shopping mall, which is actually 50% restaurants -- another great culinary selection. Explore some little alleys off nearbye streets such as Loashan Lu and you will find fascinating local markets and specialty shops. Walk along Weifang Lu to the end and find gardens along the river, eventually connecting with the Pudong Bund.

However, although the hotel deserves praise for many aspects, what really marks it out as my place of choice to stay in Pudong is the staff. Just as in several other hotels, they are polite and efficient. But they are also very friendly and if you show willingness, will engage in conversation, happy to improve their spoken English. When travelling for several weeks without family or friends, this makes an enormous difference -- an important but often isolated business trip actually becomes a pleasure, as I now have good friends there. Many of the staff are students on a 6 or 12 month placement as part of their course. They are also away from home, very keen to improve their language skills, and make a great effort to succeed in their assigned tasks. Some of the friends I made will not still be there next time I go, but I will have opportunity to make more new friends and I still keep in e-mail contact with others who teach me about different areas of the country.

I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve_48098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments after your stay here! Its our greatest pleasure to delight our guests! We are glad you're satisfied with our service for you during your stay! Your great words will encourage us do it better!

We are looking forward to your continus reservation in our hotel. We will certainly try our very best to make sure your next stay is an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed here first time in Shanghai. At first sight, hotel is very nice and located in a very convenient metro lines. There are 2-3 metro lines closed to hotel and took 5-10 minutes to Nanjing Lu. There is convenient store right next to hotel and big outdoor mall very nearby the hotel. Room is very nice and big enough for me. Luckily I got upgraded to bigger room in a corner of tower which gave me more spaces in bathroom. Overall, I'm very happy with this hotel and shall come back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitlimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments after your stay here! We are glad you had a good trip in Shanghai and satisfied our service when you stay in our hotel! Your great words will encourage us do it better! We are looking forward to your continus reservation in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
148 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

A few point to note about this hotel:
1) Good Breakfast including take away Latte, cappuccino, you can order variety of fresh juice as smoothie with the breakfast package
2) Clean and nice rooms
3) Bed and pillow very comfortable
4) Very friendly staff
5) My room service order was not satisfactory but what the hotel did was resend the order and made it a complementary, this is excellent customer service rendered.
6) The hotel is 1 hours from the airport by taxi if no traffic jam.
7) A lot of eating places and shopping malls nearby the hotel
8) Complementary Wifi
9) Expensive hotel but its quite normal for Shanghai
10) Indian food is available on their menu
11) Nice bar
12) The location is convenient if you have things to do nearby the hotel area or else its quite far from the city centre
13) There is a metro station nearby the hotel,5 mins walking distance.

Overall the hotel is excellent, good staffs, everything is almost perfect.

Thanks

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swordfish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments after your stay here! Thanks for your detail points on us! We feel so glad you're satisfied with our facilities and service during your stay! Your great words will encourage us do it better! We are looking forward to your continus reservation in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Service is incredible! I felt as if I was staying at a five star hotel in New York. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Room prices are very reasonable. Only a short 10 minute walk to the Century street subway station. Very good location.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soar573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments after your stay here! Its our greatest pleasure to delight our guests! We are looking forward to your continus reservation in our hotel. We will certainly try our very best to make sure your next stay is an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three nights in May. The hotel is very clean and the staff was excellent to work with. No problems with speaking English or interpreting what I was trying to convey. The rooms were better than most of the Courtyards I stay with. The concierge level lounge was very nice with a mix of American and Asian foods for breakfast. The lounge in the lobby was a nice meeting place as it wasn't too quiet or too noisy. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is traveling on business or even if on vacation. The hotel's location is almost too good. The major drawback I had is some of the taxi drivers didn't want to take you anywhere nearby as the fare would be too small.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments after your stay here! Its our greatest pleasure to delight our guests! We feel glad you give great words on our service and Courtyard brand! We are looking forward to your continus reservation in our hotel. We will certainly try our very best to make sure your next stay is an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
#103 of 4,997 in Shanghai
550 reviews
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#57 of 4,997 in Shanghai
787 reviews
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#73 of 4,997 in Shanghai
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong

Property: Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
Address: No.838, Dongfang Rd, Pudong Dist, Shanghai 200122, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#42 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#49 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Pudong is a classy yet contemporary business hotel located in the business district of Shanghai Pudong, located at the main intersection in Pudong with easy access to the business centers of both Shanghai Puxi and Shanghai Pudong, only 5 minutes walk to the Century Avenue Station of Metro Line 2, 4, 6 and 9. This up market 4 star, 323 rooms Full Service hotel offers customers 3 F&B outlets plus extended meeting & banquet facilities of more than 1000 square meter. It's newly created premier and executive level rooms together with its new state of the art executive level Club Lounge will be a welcoming experience for both the international and domestic business traveler in the heart of Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai
Courtyard Shanghai Pudong
Shanghai Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing