We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a experience avoidable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong
Ranked #67 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed April 24, 2014

the house keeping probably thought we were some country bumkins --- they simply didnt clean the room or replenished the tea / coffee consumables . we had to call the housekeeping a couple of times and the housekeeper didnt understand english ...so the problem repeated each evening .

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank vvi_amd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Wi_amd,

Many thanks for the review and 3 stars. I appreciate your comments concerning the housekeeping issues you experienced; please accept my apology for the not meeting your expectations. Your comments will assist me greatly in improving our housekeeping service delivery.

Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
david.givens@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Stay here for 2 nights for an event and all lower price rooms were fully book. So end up booking a suit which the room itself is very nice and clean plus good view. The gym is pretty small compare to the size of this hotel. The bfast is avg but there is lot of open space and garden which gives another feel. Is about 5 mins walking to the closest Line 6 station which is a bonus as getting taxi in rush hour in Shanghai is nightmare. The lobby bar is ok but there are local customer smoking so not so cool and staff are not proactive enough and always need to wait for long time until someone serve u.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Bill133,

Many thanks for the review and 4 stars. I was happy to read you found your suite to be very nice, clean and with a good view. Also you were very smart to opt for the subway, traffic in Shanghai can be brutal! The metro system is quick and easy to use, I always suggest for our guests to try it out.

Come back soon!

Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
david.givens@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The air conditioner did not work and after 3 attempts to have it fixed they finally gave me a new room. The repair help did not understand English and I am not sure if they actually tried to fix it. The last straw was when they opened the window for me and then just left

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear William K,

Many thanks for the review and 3 stars. Please accept my apology for the AC issues you experienced. To try three times to have it fixed is unacceptable and you should not have had to experience this. We definitely dropped the ball. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

I hope your future travels are problem free and relaxing.

Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
david.givens@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is the best hotel in the area. The rooms are very large, clean and nice. The food especially the Short Ribs was very good. the Executive Lounge is well appointed and the staff very professional and friendly. English was spoken well and by many of the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank bob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Bob D,

Thank you for the review and 5 stars. i was happy to read you enjoyed our large rooms, and found them to be clean and nice. The Chef was also happy to read you enjoyed his short ribs; I have to agree with you they are fantastic, very tender and juicey.

Come back soon!

Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
david.givens@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed at this well-established Shanghai hotel in the Hilton chain over the 2014 Easter weekend.
There were some aspects that made it somewhat frustrating. Minor things like the television remote control being all in Chinese (with no available explanation of the controls in English) and, furthermore, well used and old so it was the devil's own job to change channels (and it was a very wet couple of days so ready availability of TV WAS important). Some issues were rather more serious such as it being a tad difficult to get taxis since the hotel is somewhat off from the main road and waiting time could be quite lengthy especially during busy periods. Something else which required lengthy time was moving from one part of the hotel to another. The place is huge with two towers and a lower level connecting central area. The most grating element, though, was right at the end when, straight after paying the bill, I apparently became a non-person or, at least, an invisible one since all the smiles seemed to suddenly dry up and no further attention was paid to me with nary a parting "byebye". Rather perfunctory ... not unlike the almost cold cookie that was handed to me unsmilingly at check-in.
Nevertheless, on balance, the positives of the place tend to outweigh the negatives. It all started incredibly, and most efficiently, well with the hotel's HiltonHonors staff getting in touch with me a week before check-in and asking whether there was anything they could do. An upgrade and a late check-in were arranged quite effortlessly as were tables at restaurants around town. Upon arrival, I found that the suite provided was very spacious, with huge bedroom and bathroom, a most comfortable open plan living and dining room area, second toilet, and kitchenette, and superb view. Furthermore, so many of the staff were genuinely and most efficiently friendly. One of the assistant duty managers, Jacky, couldn't do enough to help and all in perfect English. The hotel has no massage facilities but he quickly arranged for me to have one at the Four Seasons. Another great feature of this hotel is that it regularly helps to train young Irish interns. One of them, Shannon, is a breath of "Emerald Isle" fresh air. Be sure to stop and chat with her. As with other good hotels, this one has a "Care line". Unlike at other hotels, however, here calls are answered almost immediately with the assistance required being forthcoming promptly. Very efficient! The lifts, too, seemed to arrive almost as soon as the button was pressed. The Executive Lounge is a large oasis of comfort and peaceful quiet facing beautiful green grounds. Though the fare at breakfast and the evening "Happy Hour" was no more, in range and quality, than what one would expect, the attentive, friendly service from the young staff was superb. By the second day, my cup of coffee arrived without it having been ordered, in fact I'd only just sat down! There are several excellent places to eat in-house, including a revolving restaurant and an all-day dining Grand Cafe, as well as 24-hour room service.
All in all, therefore, a place well worth a stay ... as well as a return.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzAussie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear OzAussie2014,

Many thanks for the review and 4 stars. I appreciate the in-depth comments about your recent experience. We have some areas that we need to improve and with your comments it will assist us greatly. I was happy to see you got to meet Jacky, he is fantastic. Also the Irish Interns, we have developed a strong relationship with their school in Dublin, and look forward to hosting a group each year. I appreciate your closing comments, .."a place well worth a stay..as well as a return".

Come back soon!

Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
david.givens@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This was my third stay. The property is well build and nicely maintain. It has two wings east and west. East wing have delux room. Room are bigger in east. East wing is at back side you have to walk more to access your room. So I prefered west wing this time.

The lightng in room is very insufficient. You feel dullness. There are corner rooms. I would not advice to take that rooms. It doestnot have bath tubs and rooms are smaller and not convinient due to shape of room. The middle rooms are much better than corner rooms.

Health area is very well maintain with big jacuzzi and sauna and steam room.

Breakfast is well balanced food for both vegeterian and non veg eaters.

Wifi in lobby is free.

Staff is very friendly. And always ready to help you.

Be carefull about your hilton honours points credits. Last time stayed they didnot credit through I book through internet on normal tarrif. So whrn you check out reconfirm your hilton rewards point.

The holel is away from city and sightseeings and metro is also not so closed. But as a business trip its ok. And you have taxi available at any time.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank anubhav73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Anubhav73,

Welcome back! Many thanks for the review and 4 stars. I appreciate your loyalty to the property and being a HHonors member. I was happy to see you found a well balanced breakfast for both vegetarians and non veg eaters. We had many previous comments about are morning buffet needing more vegetarian items. It means a lot to us that you find the staff to be very friendly; you cant train to be friendly you have to hire people who have a hospitality spirit. I have a great group of people working at the hotel.

Come back soon!

Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
david.givens@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Note: I'm Hilton Diamond, so I get executive rooms, so your visit may vary. I get a suite, and it's quite nice. Bed is comfortable, a lot of room to spread out, two rooms, Pantry and plenty of room to work and get comfortable.

Bathrooms are large and nice.

Executive lounge is nice. For business travel - I like this hotel. Not a lot to do in close proximity to the hotel, if you want night life - stay somewhere else. If you're using this as a hub for work - it's great. Nice work out room too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Dean G,

Many thanks for the review and 5 stars! Also congrats on achieving Diamond status and being a loyal Hilton guest. I appreciate your comments and look forward to your return visit.

Come back soon!

Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
david.givens@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#61 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,520 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
#54 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,007 reviews
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#75 of 5,159 in Shanghai
475 reviews
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#52 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong

Address: No.889 Yanggao South Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200127, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#65 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#79 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $97 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong 5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Shanghai New International Exhibition Center, located in Lujiazui Business Center, the 47-story Jin Jiang Oriental Hotel (the formerly Sofitel Shanghai Jin Jiang Oriental Pudong) soars majestically over Pudong with convenient access to Shanghai CBD (central business district). The hotel features 850 tastefully designed rooms in West Wing and East Wing, 6 inspired restaurants, a health club, an in-door swimming pool, an out-door tennis court, and conference facilities for up to 600 delegates. X-Sensation, the famous revolving restaurant and bar is an ideal venue to entertain friends, family and business associates. With almost 10-year experience of professional service and kind atmosphere, this deluxe 5-star hotel offers great packages to ensure your next business trip is a fruitful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Shanghai
Shanghai Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing