We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong
Ranked #66 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great Hotel...”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great hotel, fab room, really comfy beds, good gym, great concierge-who will let taxis know exactly where you need to go...& how to get back!!!!
Good foo, great coffee....good take out from hotel for croissants etc....
Good executive lounge with wifi...
Staff very helpful...

Room Tip: A front room is noisier, ask for a corner room-huge with great views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahWH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Sarahws888,

Many thanks for the outstanding review, and five stars. I can see by your listing that you are a very seasoned traveller; your reviews assist us all in improving our service delivery and standards.

Come back soon!

Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    459
    181
    49
    35
See reviews for
72
79
75
762
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was an outstanding experience -- quite amazing really. I didn't expect a DoubleTree in Shanghai to be as sumptous and grand as this hotel. I highly recommend it to anyone going to the Pudong area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Jim B,

Many thanks for the five stars and recommendation. You will see more and more Doubletree hotels throughout China, the brand is becoming very popular.

Come back soon!

Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here for just one night in January 2013. Had some difficulties to find the hotel, as it is not located on some of the maps, and on Google maps location is totally wrong (close to the Century Ave)! Had to ask at other hotels and walk for almost 3km to actually locate the hotel. Location on hotels own website is better, but... I have just used Google maps, and it was costly mistake. The hotels itself is huge, with two towers, and quite modern with all modern anemities one could wish for. Executive lounge is on first floor (a bit weird), but spacious and with decent offerings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PremiumFlyer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Mirror74,

Thank you for the four stars and review. I apologize for google maps not being accurate. We have been trying to get this fixed for some time, and will continue to push them to correct the error. I was happy to read you enjoyed all our modern amenities and Executive Lounge.

Come back soon!

Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Because of the good reviews posted here I chose this hotel for my 3D2N business trip in Shanghai last week. The experience upon arrival was not quite what I expected for a 4/5 star hotel: there was no one at the entrance to help guests with luggages! As a result I had to take my luggage out from the taxi trunk and also carried it up the stairs all my myself.

What was more outrageous was my experience before check-out. On the day of check-out I went out for a meeting and then returned to the room an hour before check-out time. To my astonishment, a cleaning lady was in the room doing cleaning (which is unusual on the check-out day), and I found all my clothing in the closet taken out and placed on the coffee table. Whilst the hotel staff at the reception later sought to explain that they were merely doing the usual cleaning even though I was going to check out later that day, apparently this was an excuse, since there was no reason why they had to remove the guest's clothes from the closet. Apparently the cleaning staff was mistaken that I had checked out and was preparing the room for the next guest.

I was given a room on an upper room. The room was spacious and clean. But apart from this the stay cannot be said to be a pleasant one. I definitely will not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kagami0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Kagami0316,

Thank you for your recent review. I was sorry to read that your visit to our hotel was less than perfect. Please accept my sincere apology. I appreciate receiving both good and not so good comments about our guest's experiences at this property. I use them both to motivate and to train the staff to improve upon our service delivery.

There is no excuse for your experience. There should always be someone available to support you with your luggage and Housekeeping should not disturb your belongings to clean a room, especially on the check out date. Again my apologies.

Also thank you for the one bright moment with you feeling our guestrooms were clean and spacious.

I hope your future travels bring you back to Shanghai and that you give us another opportunity to have you as our guest.

Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Really good views with upper floor.
Pretty nice location with convenient transportation.
But facilities and breakfast are lower than my expectation.
The spongy bed made me feel even tired than before when woke up in the morning, maybe it's not specifically double-tree's fault...
Besides, I don't see any service with warmly smile or passionate attitude.
All in all, nice place to stay for biz trip, but not a good choice makes people feel cozy and happy.

Room Tip: Upper level @ west wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ff x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear ffx,

Thank you for your recent review and comments. It is one thing to have a great location, convenient transportation, and beautiful views from the guestrooms, but these can all be considered minor items when you do not encounter a warm welcome, a smiling face, and a passionate service attitude. Please accept my apology for not meeting your expectations at all levels.

I have also reviewed your breakfast and bedding comments with my Food & Beverage and Housekeeping teams respectively.

Thank you for assisting the team in improving our service delivery. Please email me directly at david.givens@hilton.com when your travels bring you back to Shanghai.


Come back soon!

David Givens - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Good size rooms, well appointed and clean. Good breakfast selection. Close to the New exhibition centre. Bit far from the centre of Shanghai- The Bund and Nanjing Rd. Although Taxis are cheap and the subway is handy only a block away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fox_webster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Fox_Webster.

Many thanks for the five stars and review. I was happy to read you found the hotel well appointed, clean, and with nice size rooms. The Chef was also glad you enjoyed his breakfast offerings. As you found out, our location provides a good starting point with easy access to all of Shanghai. The public transportation system is very easy and convenient to the hotel.

Come back soon!


David Givens - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat,Oman
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I enjoyed staying in there. Infact I stayed 3 nights in 1 week in all different rooms. All rooms were very specious and clean. Only tiring was hotel is too big so need a lont of walking to reach to room!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are really nice with good view of city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narumuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Narumuscat,

Thank you for the review and five stars. It is very much appreciated. I was happy to read you enjoyed your visit. We are a big hotel, but with comfortable rooms and delicious warm
Doubletree Cookies.

Come back soon!


Warm Shanghai Regards,


David Givens - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#41 of 5,105 in Shanghai
579 reviews
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#69 of 5,105 in Shanghai
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Century Park
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong
Address: No.889 Yanggao South Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200127, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#64 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#120 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong 5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Shanghai New International Exhibition Center, located in Lujiazui Business Center, the 47-story Jin Jiang Oriental Hotel (the formerly Sofitel Shanghai Jin Jiang Oriental Pudong) soars majestically over Pudong with convenient access to Shanghai CBD (central business district). The hotel features 850 tastefully designed rooms in West Wing and East Wing, 6 inspired restaurants, a health club, an in-door swimming pool, an out-door tennis court, and conference facilities for up to 600 delegates. X-Sensation, the famous revolving restaurant and bar is an ideal venue to entertain friends, family and business associates. With almost 10-year experience of professional service and kind atmosphere, this deluxe 5-star hotel offers great packages to ensure your next business trip is a fruitful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Shanghai
Shanghai Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing