We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel at the bund”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #158 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I stayed at Panorama hotel for a weekend because of its price and proximity to the bund. Staff is unfriendly and speaks little English. I got a very spacious living room, average bedroom and tiny kitchen and bathroom. Excellent view of the bund from the 26 floor. Cleanliness of living and bedroom is acceptable but toilet and kitchen were just dirty, black mould in bathroom. It is far to walk to any metro station.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KabulM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 210 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2011

First thoughts were very negative. Tired rooms, dirty carpet, black mould in bathroom. REALLY hard bed. Unfriendly staff. No conciergecservices.

Breakfast pretty average. Great views if you get a front room. Good location.

Try to stay somewhere else

Room Tip: Get a view. Better still, get a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubacubaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Just off the Bund, this hotel has lots going for it despite obvious problems. Great location close to transport, gardens, spectacular river vistas, exercise on the Bund and close contact with the locals. The best feature of a ten day stay in a three room suite on the tenth floor, was without doubt the sumptuous breakfast which erased all the problems of ageing decor, cigarette smoked furniture, sluggish air conditioning and old fashioned television sets, concreted bed mattresses and stained carpets. We survived a regular overflowing of the shower unit which helpfully had a Please Slip Carefully sign on the wall...a very nice Chinglish warning... and we developed a system of transferring the living room suite cushions onto the bed so as to make sleeping more comfortable. The other useful expedient was to pop into the local markets and purchase your own air deodoriser for immersing the carpet with lavender spray to rid the wonderful spacious suite of rooms of the appalling dead cat spells. Now the food offerings were so memorable that we were more than prepared to forgive Accor for allowing this hotel to remain in business. Thanks to the obviously stressed staff who were patently aware of how awful some aspects of their workplace were, they deserve better than this run down and poorly maintained hotel. Hopefully, the Accor management will get the message and renovate big time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianmorrisontowncrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I just finished a 3 night stay at this hotel. It is well worn. There has been some updating of the rooms but the common areas still look unkempt. You could see by the marks on the wall and floor how my room used to have two beds and now was a single with a seating area. Of course the light switches for each bed were still in the old locations.

The air conditioning never really got the room below 80 degrees. It was actually warmer inside than outside. I don't know what will happen in the summer!

The bathroom was crowded and dated. Granted you are limited to what you can do with a remodeling but I don't think they did anything in the bathroom, including removing the mold from the tiles. Hot water was adequate although the shower had seperate hot and cold faucets so you had to watch the temperature closely. (no anti-scald mixing valve)

The lobby is a check in desk with no seating area or other amenities. The hotel is limited to the top half of the building. The bottom floors are serviced apartments. One entrance is for the hotel and the other is for residents.

The restaurant is on the 30th floor and has an excellent view of the financial district and the river. Of course it was completely fogged in for my visit! I ate breakfast there twice. The food was OK although the choices were limited and the service was poor when you could locate a staff member.

Unless you get a Great Rate, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeenThere_Didntdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

I stayed 5 nights on Business. Initial response was it looked tired and felt tired. Breakfast range was basic. The killer point is view and location, both of which are excellent. I had a service apartment on north side which meant bedroom and lounge and side view of river with a chance to see the sun rise. Bed was hard. After a time I got used to and accepted it. Internet was free. View at Brekfast time can be excellent if not 'misty'. Easy walking distance to the Bund. Give the noisy disco bar across the road a miss ! At around RMB 500 a night plus RMB 80 for breakfast not bad value but not great either unless you are a fan of 30th floor Breakfast room views over the Bund across to Pudong.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoPolo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

My family and I recently stayed in the Panorama Hotel in Shanghai for two nights at the start of a short tour of northern China. We stayed in a 2-bedroom family suite on the 21st floor that had eye-poppingly fabulous views of the Bund, Pudong and the Huangpo River. In fact, I could hardly think of any other place in the city with views like this (tip: when booking, make sure you request a south-facing room, as high as you can go). This is a hotel with some style and character - not like your usual four-star offering. The reception staff are helpful and eager to please. The rooms are spacious and well appointed; Our suite even had a small kitchen, as well as a large sitting room. The hotel is located just minutes from the Bund, and there are a number of restaurants within easy walking distance. But the most impressive thing about this hotel is the views... I would not hesitate recommending this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a south-facing room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OilRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

The VIEW: surely one of the best in the world (and I have seen lots of marvellous views). A shame to sleep, and wonderful with open curtains throughout the night.
The cost was very good: 799 RMB (tax included) (about $120). Breakfast about 70 RMB each ($10). www.sinohotel.com as usual provides an exceptionally convenient and totally reliable way to search and reserve hotels in China (pay at desk on arrival; no need to pay in advance; the online direct reservation for the Panorama was not convenient, run by an unfamiliar third-party, and required credit card payment online; best to avoid this method, I think).
Our room was on the 22nd floor; apparently only rooms on 20th floor had king beds. The view was completely unblocked on either floor; no need to worry about higher or lower. And you certainly want to pay the premium for the river-facing rooms!
I stayed here in 2003, and finally returned, able to share the experience with a partner. I was worried by some of the strongly negative reviews on TripAdvisor. The negative comments are true: the hotel has not been maintained to 5-star standards (marked but clean hall carpets, visible cigarette damage, older furniture, tube TV [the horror}. It is no longer an Accor property. The breakfast buffet was not luxurious (but perfectly adequate: ten hot offerings, plus all the rest of bread, fruit, juice etc) (and the 30th floor VIEW). The bathroom was not large, and there was dirt visible in the tile grouting and under the unfortunately-designed wash basin table.
But, the room was large, absolutely clean (wooden floor, no dirty carpet), the beds comfortable (not Holiday Inn soft, but much softer than Chinese business hotels). We slept perfectly comfortably. The room had a large couch and couch-chair. All the details: refrigerator, free Internet, toiletries, safe.
Was a reviewer offended by the dirt in the bathroom cracks? I used a facecloth to attack one of these dirty grout lines as I lay soaking in the bathtub; the dirt slowly disappeared after a good five minutes scrubbing at the wall. My scrupulously clean bath at home has no worse dirt problems than I saw in the hotel!
The bath and shower provided as much hot water as desired. It was just fine.
If the hotel would tackle one room every day for a few months, most of the offending signs of age and wear in the room's bathroom could be removed at little cost.
As reviewers enthuse, the VIEW was the thing. And the windows were clean, and a pane opened, so that fresh air could enter, and cameras could be held outside to avoid the screenscreens on the windows. The walk to the Bund was short and interesting. The area along the adjacent small river (Suzhou Creek) was historically interesting. Small hole-in-the-wall restaurants were located a block from the hotel (if you are brave enough to try them; the muslim-run ones are great!), and a couple of convenince stores are across the street.
In summary, the Panorama will not satisfy those who require the over-the-top gold-tapped luxury of a Hilton or Hyatt. You can find that luxury (and the view) at Hyatt-on-the-Bund a block away from the Panorama, at a price three times higher.. But you will suffer not at all for braving the Panorama.
I may sound rather defensive in this review. That is true, as I find the negative comments to be so unnecessary, as the Panorama provides comfort that most of the world would envy, and was so happy that my excellent 2003 visit could be duplicated in 2011. I worry that the negativity will result in the hotel being unable to survive; the guest count did not seem very high on the night of our stay. And that would be shame: my partner and I will remember forever reading and dozing and sleeping on the 22nd floor with that VIEW, with the occasional foghorn, beckoning throughout the night.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Traveller99ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#183 of 5,161 in Shanghai
309 reviews
Lujiazui
Oriental Riverside Hotel
Oriental Riverside Hotel
#144 of 5,161 in Shanghai
457 reviews
Hongkou
Broadway Mansions Hotel
Broadway Mansions Hotel
#169 of 5,161 in Shanghai
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#92 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,142 reviews
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
The Bund
JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel

Address: No.53 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China (Formerly The Panorama Hotel On the Bund Shanghai)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#141 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $107 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Shanghai
The Panorama Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing