We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Atlantis Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Atlantis Shanghai
Ranked #42 of 4,573 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

From 2010 to 2013, I had been staying in this hotel very often thus acquiring my gold card membership with Accor. Though flexible, I chose this hotel again and again as this place has been giving me the feeling of home away from home. I know this hotel from 2006, but this hotel has picked up momentum from late 2009 (thanks to the GM there) and I could visibly see the change in ambience, hospitality, friendliness, cleanliness etc. Breakfast is lavish! Rooms have been renovated to a sense of high end feeling. A room with a view towards Shanghai city side is a real treat at night! Thanks Novotel Atlantis management and staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to pearl tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy C, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Atlantis Shanghai, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your specific comments and I appreciate you writing to tell us about your experience during your last stay with us. It is our pleasure to let our guests feel the hotel a home away from home.

My team & I make it a top priority to ensure that our guests experience a pleasant, efficient, friendly and comfortable stay.

Thank you once again for your great support to us and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back next time!

With my very best regards,

Francis Goh
General Manager
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    351
    122
    17
    15
See reviews for
76
77
86
353
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Normally I stay at the Minya Hotel, but this time I decided to try the Novotel Atlantis, due to it's closer proximity to the CBD of Pudong. The hotel seems rather new, and feels fresh and clean.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful. One afternoon I left my iPhone in the lobby bar, and later when I called the hotel, they had it saved for me at the front desk.

I suspect I was given an upgrade, as I had booked the lowest cost room, but was given a junior suite. It had a rather large living area, but oddly with only two lounge chairs. Easily had space for a sofa and coffee table, which would have made time spent in the room more comfortable.

The sleeping area had a large king bed, with plenty of pillows of differing densities. Missing was a clock, and it was only on my last day did I finally notice the three international electric outlets to the right of the television.

Oddly, there was only one electrical outlet at the desk area, taken hop by a TV, and one nearby at floor level taken up by a lamp. So in order to charge my devices, I had to unplug the living area TV.
Meanwhile at each go the TV's they have a nice connectivity panel, that at least had a USB outlet I could use for charging. But to not have 2-3 international outlets at the desk, especially in such a young hotel, is rather odd. Equally, the chair at the desk was rather uncomfortable for sitting and working any length of time. A proper desk chair would have been preferred.

Whilst I was happy overall with the room, I guess due to my room being at the end of the hall, I had a very small window relative to the room side, and it was way in the corner. Hence the room never had sufficient daylight, and on days when I had to work from the hotel room, it was a bit gloomy.

Breakfast was good, with a fairly decent selection. And if you want a good coffee, there is a Starbucks in the office building attached to the hotel.

For the price and location, it is a good choice for reasonable business trips. As I was staying 5 nights, I preferred to stay at a reasonably priced hotel such as this.

They neighbourhood around the hotel is of no consequence, as it is mostly a residential area. Not far from the CDB, which one evening I strolled to in about 30 minutes.

Overall, it was a good stay, Definitely a hotel I would stay at again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larrybud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy C, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Atlantis Shanghai, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warmest greeting from Novotel Shanghai Atlantis!

Thank you for having taken your time to share with us your impressions about our hotel and our service.

I was delighted to read that you particularly appreciated the friendliness of our staff and had a pleasant stay at our hotel.

I noticed that you have some suggestions about our room facilities. Thanks for your comments. I have copied this to my department managers for their immediate concern and your request has been recorded in our booking system as history for offering better service for your future stay.

Should you need any assistance during your stay in the future, please feel free to contact our Guest Relations Manager.

We would like to thank you for your kind understanding and really appreciate your kind support to us, and definitely hope to welcome you back next time.


With my very best regards,

Francis Goh
General Manager
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

If you want to be in Pudong side of the city center, this is a good option.
Clean, well maintained rooms located on high floors and commanding a nice view, especially in the evening.
Just a few hundred meters from subway station (line 4)

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have a nicer view of the city
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Me_Italy_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy C, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Atlantis Shanghai, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your specific comments and I appreciate you writing to tell us about your experience during your last stay with us. It will definitely help us to improve further.

My team & I make it a top priority to ensure that our guests experience a pleasant, efficient, friendly and comfortable stay.

Thank you once again for your great support to us and we look forward to welcoming you back next time!

With my very best regards,

Francis Goh
General Manager
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

When you check in and check out the staff are constantly sniffing and snorting which in my humble opinion is disgusting.

The rooms are very clean, and a fresh bottle of water is provided every day. The room is provided with slippers, bathrobe, toothbrush, toothpaste, ear buds etc, tea and coffee making facilities as well as a mini bar.

Smoking is very prevalent in China so if you do not smoke ensure that you ask for a non smoking room when you book and when you check in.

To do any sightseeing it is a 40RMB taxi ride to yu gardens, after which you can then take the hop on hop off bus tour which is also 40 RMB

Within a 15 minute walk next to the Oriental Pearl TV tower there are two huge shopping centers.

The Hotel is a 1hr taxi drive from the airport so take the train.

Room Tip: State your smoking preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbarrettsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy C, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Atlantis Shanghai, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warmest greeting from Novotel Shanghai Atlantis!

Thank you for your specific comments and I appreciate you writing to tell us your experience during your last stay with us. It will definitely help us to improve further.

I noticed that you have some comments about the staff's grooming. I have copied this to my Departmental Managers for their immediate actions and proper trainings for all their staff concerned. Please be rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

I would once again thank you and really appreciates your kind support to us, and would like to ensure you a more pleasant stay in your next trip here.

With my very best regards,

Francis Goh
General Manager
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I can feel very comfortable when I was staying in the hotel. Nice staff and comfortable environment.
All the rooms are located at the very high floor so that can see a great view.
The buffet breakfasts are delicious and everyday got new types of food.
For the location, it is quite convenient to go everywhere as it is just nearby No.4 metro line (actually needs around 200 meters walk).
One more, if they can provide some warming sentences (like Happy Birthday) to the birthday guest it would be perfect.

Room Tip: High floor of all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy C, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Atlantis Shanghai, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warmest greeting from Novotel Shanghai Atlantis!

Thank you for your specific comments and I appreciate you writing to tell us what you experienced during your last stay with us. Your recognition of our staff's service and attitude will definitely help us to improve further.

I noticed that you have a good advice about greeting birthday guests during their check in or check out service. It is really a good suggestion. I have copied this to my Department Managers for their immediate actions and proper trainings for all their staff concerned. Actually, we also have daily email greetings to our birghday guests. As long as the guest provide the accurate email address, he / she will receive a greeting email on his / her birthday.

My team & I make it a top priority to ensure that our guests experience a pleasant, efficient, friendly and comfortable stay.

I would once again thank you and really appreciates your kind support to us, and we definitely likes to welcome you back next time.



With my very best regards,

Francis Goh
General Manager
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

My second stay at this property and the stay was pleasant. Check In and Check Out were smooth. Breakfast was good at the Square but service has scope for improvement. Need to add more food option for the vegetarian guests!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Prakkash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy C, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Atlantis Shanghai, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warmest greeting from Novotel Shanghai Atlantis!

I appreciate you writing to tell me your experience during your last stay with us. It will definitely help us to improve further.

However, I noticed that you have some comments about our service and food option. I hereby copied this email to my Departmental Managers for their immediate actions.

Please be rest assured that we are taking measures to change our food varieties and improve our food quality to increase our guests' satisfaction. And I am sure that you will have a more pleasant stay in future.

I would once again thank you and really appreciates your kind support to us, and we definitely likes to welcome you back next time.



With my very best regards,

Francis Goh
General Manager
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#50 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
#69 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#60 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#23 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Pullman Shanghai South
#29 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Atlantis Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Atlantis Shanghai

Property: Novotel Atlantis Shanghai
Address: No.728 Pudong Avenue, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#39 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#42 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#94 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Atlantis Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Atlantis Shanghai is a 4 star international hotel in the heart of Pudong Lujiazui, the financial centre of Shanghai. The first choice for a business trip, the Novotel is 7-minutes walk away from the metro, close to the Shanghai Exhibition Centre and offers conference facilities up to 150 people.Ideal for a break in this cosmopolitan city, the hotel is a short drive from the Bund waterfront and legendary shopping along Nanjing Road. Enjoy a choice of four restaurants and a bar, an indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and fitness centre. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. Onsite parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Novotel Atlantis Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Atlantis Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Accor Atlantis Shanghai
Novotel Shanghai
Shanghai Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing