We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean Rooms - Ensure you state your Smoking Preference” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Atlantis Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Atlantis Shanghai
Ranked #43 of 4,573 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Clean Rooms - Ensure you state your Smoking Preference”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

When you check in and check out the staff are constantly sniffing and snorting which in my humble opinion is disgusting.

The rooms are very clean, and a fresh bottle of water is provided every day. The room is provided with slippers, bathrobe, toothbrush, toothpaste, ear buds etc, tea and coffee making facilities as well as a mini bar.

Smoking is very prevalent in China so if you do not smoke ensure that you ask for a non smoking room when you book and when you check in.

To do any sightseeing it is a 40RMB taxi ride to yu gardens, after which you can then take the hop on hop off bus tour which is also 40 RMB

Within a 15 minute walk next to the Oriental Pearl TV tower there are two huge shopping centers.

The Hotel is a 1hr taxi drive from the airport so take the train.

Room Tip: State your smoking preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbarrettsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy C, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Atlantis Shanghai, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warmest greeting from Novotel Shanghai Atlantis!

Thank you for your specific comments and I appreciate you writing to tell us your experience during your last stay with us. It will definitely help us to improve further.

I noticed that you have some comments about the staff's grooming. I have copied this to my Departmental Managers for their immediate actions and proper trainings for all their staff concerned. Please be rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

I would once again thank you and really appreciates your kind support to us, and would like to ensure you a more pleasant stay in your next trip here.

With my very best regards,

Francis Goh
General Manager
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    351
    122
    17
    15
See reviews for
76
77
86
353
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I can feel very comfortable when I was staying in the hotel. Nice staff and comfortable environment.
All the rooms are located at the very high floor so that can see a great view.
The buffet breakfasts are delicious and everyday got new types of food.
For the location, it is quite convenient to go everywhere as it is just nearby No.4 metro line (actually needs around 200 meters walk).
One more, if they can provide some warming sentences (like Happy Birthday) to the birthday guest it would be perfect.

Room Tip: High floor of all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy C, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Atlantis Shanghai, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warmest greeting from Novotel Shanghai Atlantis!

Thank you for your specific comments and I appreciate you writing to tell us what you experienced during your last stay with us. Your recognition of our staff's service and attitude will definitely help us to improve further.

I noticed that you have a good advice about greeting birthday guests during their check in or check out service. It is really a good suggestion. I have copied this to my Department Managers for their immediate actions and proper trainings for all their staff concerned. Actually, we also have daily email greetings to our birghday guests. As long as the guest provide the accurate email address, he / she will receive a greeting email on his / her birthday.

My team & I make it a top priority to ensure that our guests experience a pleasant, efficient, friendly and comfortable stay.

I would once again thank you and really appreciates your kind support to us, and we definitely likes to welcome you back next time.



With my very best regards,

Francis Goh
General Manager
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

My second stay at this property and the stay was pleasant. Check In and Check Out were smooth. Breakfast was good at the Square but service has scope for improvement. Need to add more food option for the vegetarian guests!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Prakkash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy C, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Atlantis Shanghai, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warmest greeting from Novotel Shanghai Atlantis!

I appreciate you writing to tell me your experience during your last stay with us. It will definitely help us to improve further.

However, I noticed that you have some comments about our service and food option. I hereby copied this email to my Departmental Managers for their immediate actions.

Please be rest assured that we are taking measures to change our food varieties and improve our food quality to increase our guests' satisfaction. And I am sure that you will have a more pleasant stay in future.

I would once again thank you and really appreciates your kind support to us, and we definitely likes to welcome you back next time.



With my very best regards,

Francis Goh
General Manager
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Palma, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I stayed here during a recent business trip to Shanghai. Overall, it was a decent stay and for CNY 600 a night you certainly can't complain about much. The rooms are on the smallish size and somewhat spartan, but the property is clean and well maintained. I was on the 35th floor with a very nice view of the Shanghai skyline and riverfront. I also found the room to be very quiet, which was nice. On the negative side, the bed was very firm and I didn't sleep very well my first couple nights. I did enjoy that there was a selection of pillows of various firmness on the bed, but the mattress was just way too hard in my opinion.

The breakfast buffet was quite good and had a very wide selection, including both western and traditional Chinese items. The one thing it was a little bit lacking on was the fresh fruit. Most of the Asian buffet breakfasts I've encountered had a nice selection of fruit which I enjoy, but it was very limited here. Other than that I enjoyed the Dim Sum and other assorted Chinese items which were freshly prepared and quite tasty. There was also a nice selection of freshly prepared pastries.

Moving on to service. I wouldn't say it was "bad" as that certainly wasn't the case. However, by Chinese hotel standards it was just ok. I've stayed in many other Asian hotels where the staff was falling all over themselves when you asked for something, or even when you didn't ask for something. At the Atlantis they were mostly helpful when asked but didn't go out of their way otherwise. Again, for the price you can't really complain.

One "pet peeve" about my stay was the internet access. They require you to sign in using your room number and a password which is the last 6 digits of your passport number. Mine didn't work, so I called the number on the login screen for assistance. Unfortunately that number rang and rang and nobody ever answered it, so I called the guest service line and they insisted that everything was set up correctly and "there must be a problem with my computer." Grrrr...very frustrating. I was there on business and had a ton of work related emails to get through and I had never-ending problems getting online. Finally one afternoon I had a tech support person come up to my room to get me signed in but then I was back to the same frustrating drill the next morning. I really don't understand why they need to make signing into the internet so complicated! I hope management reads this and can find a better solution.

Overall, I would say this is a fine place to stay if you want a clean room at a reasonable price, but don't expect the level of service that you might find at some other hotels in Shanghai.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandrfas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy C, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Atlantis Shanghai, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warmest greeting from Novotel Shanghai Atlantis!

Thank you for your specific comments and I appreciate you writing to tell me what you experienced during your last stay with us. It will definitely help us to improve further.

I am truly sorry for the problems you encountered and I hereby copied this email to my Departmental Managers for their immediate actions and proper trainings for all their staff concerned. Please be rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

The using of your room number and a password which is the last 6 digits of your passport is strictly instructed by the Public Security Bureau. We are sorry to cause you much inconvenience.

I would once again thank you and really appreciate your kind support to us. I definitely would like to welcome you back next time, and ensure you have a more pleasant stay in future.



With my very best regards,

Francis Goh
General Manager
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed in Novotel Atlantis last November, taking the chance of special price of CNY 600, breakfast included. It is fine with this price, fair room. However, I will definitely not stay in this hotel if it costs CNY 900 - 1000 (it's normal price).

Also, breakfast is horrible, I have never seen such bad quality breakfast in my life.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlkj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy C, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Atlantis Shanghai, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warmest greeting from Novotel Shanghai Atlantis!

Thank you for your specific comments and I appreciate you writing to tell me your experience during your last stay with us. It will definitely help us to improve further.

I noticed that you have some comments about breakfast. I am truly sorry for the problems you encountered and I hereby copied this email to my Departmental Managers for their immediate actions and proper trainings for all their staff concerned.

Please be rest assured that we are taking measures to change our food varieties and improve our food quality to prevent future occurrence of this problem. And I am sure that you will have a more pleasant stay in future.

I would once again thank you and really appreciates your kind support to us, and we definitely likes to welcome you back next time.



With my very best regards,

Francis Goh
General Manager
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
296 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I asked for a hotel next to the airport because I was on transit.
The place is 45 mins away!! That was the only problem. Not their fault, it was totally mine.
I could see the river from my window, not that it matter at 2 am. Whwn you had to leave the hotel al 6.
Room clean and modern, spacius enough for two people, impecable service, their bell boy was cheerfull and exceptional helping. A superb service.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimiMexico_df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy C, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Atlantis Shanghai, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warmest greeting from Novotel Shanghai Atlantis!

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share with us your impressions about our hotel and our service.

It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to adjust and better our services and facilities to meet the discerning needs of our guest.

I was delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and particularly appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff. Your acknowledgement of our staff service and attitude will definitely motivate them to go the extra mile in assisting guests whenever and wherever possible.

Once again, thank you for your great support to Novotel Shanghai Atlantis! It is always a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Novotel Shanghai Atlantis the next time your travels bring you this way.

With my very best regards,

Francis Goh
General Manager
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#50 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
#68 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#57 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#24 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Pullman Shanghai South
#29 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Atlantis Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Atlantis Shanghai

Property: Novotel Atlantis Shanghai
Address: No.728 Pudong Avenue, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#42 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#43 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#94 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Atlantis Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Atlantis Shanghai is a 4 star international hotel in the heart of Pudong Lujiazui, the financial centre of Shanghai. The first choice for a business trip, the Novotel is 7-minutes walk away from the metro, close to the Shanghai Exhibition Centre and offers conference facilities up to 150 people.Ideal for a break in this cosmopolitan city, the hotel is a short drive from the Bund waterfront and legendary shopping along Nanjing Road. Enjoy a choice of four restaurants and a bar, an indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and fitness centre. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. Onsite parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Atlantis Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Atlantis Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Accor Atlantis Shanghai
Novotel Shanghai
Shanghai Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing