We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Atlantis Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Atlantis Shanghai
Ranked #43 of 4,573 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
199 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our family stayed here one night in their standard room. We were on 35th floor.

The pros
-room in general is ok, but very average
-beds are good
-hotel personnel were helpful
-hotel was very quiet (no disturbing sounds, excluding in swimming pool / spa area)

The cons
-hotel looks and feels bit tired
-room had some signs of wear and tear
-tired and bit dark bathroom
-they had some renovation ongoing (e.g. Spa was closed)
-main swimming pool's water could be bit warmer (I had to warm myself in their round and very warm bubble pool. No sauna unfortunately)
-slow check-in
-very average breakfast
-small gym

This hotel is very typical 3 star business hotel. Nothing exceptional. Part of big chain. Nothing much to be remembered. Area nearby hotel is not very interesting and there were not that many restaurants around. By taxi it is easy to get to Lujiazui business district and shopping malls. Over there are numerous amount of good restaurants for any taste.

We payed close to RMB 600 for our room. With this price the value is very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abramis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy C, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Atlantis Shanghai, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warmest greeting from Novotel Shanghai Atlantis!

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share with us your comments about our hotel and our service.

It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to adjust and better our services and facilities to meet the discerning needs of our guest.

I have hereby copied your comments to my Departmental Managers for their immediate actions and for all their staff concerned.

If it is possible you back to Novotel Shanghai Atlantis the next time your travel brings you this way, you can try our new renovated guest room and I am sure you will have a more pleasant stay.

I would once again thank you and really appreciate your kind support to us. It is always a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Novotel Shanghai Atlantis in future.



With my very best regards,

Francis Goh
General Manager
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    351
    122
    17
    15
See reviews for
76
77
86
352
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistán
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

It is a good hotel in a quiet area but not too far from the river and city centre. The staff was very courteous and every one spoke good english. The rooms are spacious and have all requisite amenities. Room service provided 4 complimentary bottles of water instead of the standard two on my request. Restaurant serves a wide range of menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner which included Chinese, Indian and Japanese cuisine. Free wifi was available in the executive floor. There are some shops near the hotel as are a few massage parlours. Overall, a pleasant stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arshadsiraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy C, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Atlantis Shanghai, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warmest greeting from Novotel Shanghai Atlantis!

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share with us your impressions about our hotel and our service.

It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to adjust and better our services and facilities to meet the discerning needs of our guest.

I was delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and particularly appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff. Your acknowledgement of our staff service and attitude will definitely motivate them to go the extra mile in assisting guests whenever and wherever possible.

Once again, thank you for your great support to Novotel Shanghai Atlantis! It is always a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Novotel Shanghai Atlantis the next time your travels bring you this way.

With my very best regards,

Francis Goh
General Manager
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudenaarde, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Spa and revolving restaurant are not open due to necessary renewal of both. Friendly multilingual reception staff is very helpfull. The business lounge is only open for cocktails from 5 to 7, a little bit early for hard working businessmen.

Room Tip: Business rooms and biz lounge are nice with view on the Financial heart of the city. Beds are heave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy C, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Atlantis Shanghai, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warmest greeting from Novotel Shanghai Atlantis!

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share with us your comments about our hotel and our service.

It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to adjust and better our services and facilities to meet the discerning needs of our guest.

I have hereby copied this email to my Departmental Managers for their immediate actions and for all their staff concerned.

I would once again thank you and really appreciate your kind support to us, and I would like to welcome you back to Novotel Shanghai Atlantis and ensure you have a more pleasant stay in future.



With my very best regards,

Francis Goh
General Manager
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Hotel is ideally located near the main business hub of the city. All the entertainment streets are located a few minutes away by taxi. I would recommend you visit Xin Tian Di while there.

The Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner Buffets are of high quality and the food is up to international standards. There is a small bar in the Lounge that is open till midnight each day. Good pizza and beverages.

Free high speed Wi-Fi in all the rooms and lobby area.

Overall, a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Corner Suites on the business floors are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy C, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Atlantis Shanghai, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warmest greeting from Novotel Shanghai Atlantis!

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share with us your impressions about our hotel and our service.

It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to adjust and better our services and facilities to meet the discerning needs of our guest.

I was delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. Your acknowledgement of our staff service and attitude will definitely motivate them to go the extra mile in assisting guests whenever and wherever possible.

Once again, thank you for your great support to Novotel Shanghai Atlantis! It is always a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Novotel Shanghai Atlantis the next time your travels bring you this way.

With my very best regards,

Francis Goh
General Manager
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I arrived at the hotel in the evening after my training. The hotel staff were very courteous and helpful.

When I asked for a non-smoking room, I was given a room. When I reached the floor of my room, the entire floor smells of cigarette smoke (considering this is a non-smoking floor). When I reached to my room, I was shocked that the room looks more of a dungeon than a hotel room, the window is so small that I feel like a prisoner in this room. Furthermore, the lights are very few which makes the room so dark. I had an eerie feeling when I stepped in to the room.

The paint on the walls seems like cracking and peeling off. Not too sure how old is this hotel but it is not what I expect of an Accor hotel brand. I asked for them to change my room to the one with bigger windows. Surprisingly, they asked one of their staff to come up to my room and picked me up and showed me the room I have requested for.

The alternative room they gave me is smaller and in a smokers floor. But I do not care at all as having a big window where sunshine can come in the morning is more important to me than the size of the room.

The breakfast place (square 2) has good selection of food. Quite happy with the breakfast. One thing that I find not good about the hotel location is it is far from places to eat. The nearest metro station is about 15 to 20 minutes walk. They do not provide free shuttle service to the metro station.

A big let down is the hotel does not really have a non-smoker floor at all. Even non-smoking floors are smells of smoke from cigarettes or cigar. If you want to get second hand smoke and cancer from smoke then better check-in here.

I will never ever come to this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms at room 21 (ie. 3221, 3321, etc), this room looks like a dungeon with very small w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy C, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Atlantis Shanghai, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warmest greeting from Novotel Shanghai Atlantis!

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share with us your comments about our hotel and our service.

It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to adjust and better our services and facilities to meet the discerning needs of our guest.

I have hereby copied this email to my Departmental Managers for their immediate actions and for all their staff concerned.

I would like to know if it is possible to give me your personal contact, and I would like to arrange a courtesy call by myself.

I would once again thank you and really appreciate your kind support to us, and I would like to welcome you back to Novotel Shanghai Atlantis and ensure you have a more pleasant stay in future.



With my very best regards,

Francis Goh
General Manager
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have now stayed at the hotel four times and enjoyed the benefits of the premier business floor. The service provided by staff is exceptionally good and overall that provided by all personnel in the hotel is of very high quality. The only area where improvement could be made is the evening turn down service that only occurred once in our ten night stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy C, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Atlantis Shanghai, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warmest greeting from Novotel Shanghai Atlantis!

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share with us your impressions about our hotel and our service.

It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to adjust and better our services and facilities to meet the discerning needs of our guest.

I was delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and particularly appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff. Your acknowledgement of our staff service and attitude will definitely motivate them to go the extra mile in assisting guests whenever and wherever possible.

I have hereby copied this email to my Departmental Managers for their immediate actions and for all their staff concerned.

I would once again thank you and really appreciate your kind support to us, and I would like to welcome you back to Novotel Shanghai Atlantis and ensure you have a more pleasant stay in future.

With my very best regards,

Francis Goh
General Manager
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

very good location about 5-10 mins walk to Pudong Avenue Metro station line 4.
quiet room with good ventilation/air cond. floor 39
nice swimming pool with jacuzzi.
tasty breakfast/ american-english/ keep us running for a while.
multi nation staff at reception desk very helpfull
internet working very well except those blocked in china like google/tube ect

generally only one bad thing i have discoverd after all may stay on the departure day -----the little deposit safe numeric lock in the room was not mounted at all so anyone could take the box of what may be 5 kilos..............funny

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank zorbaWarsaw_Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy C, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Atlantis Shanghai, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warmest greeting from Novotel Shanghai Atlantis!

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share with us your impressions about our hotel and our service.

It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to adjust and better our services and facilities to meet the discerning needs of our guest.

I was delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and particularly appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff. Your acknowledgement of our staff service and attitude will definitely motivate them to go the extra mile in assisting guests whenever and wherever possible.

Once again, thank you for your great support to Novotel Shanghai Atlantis! It is always a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Novotel Shanghai Atlantis the next time your travels bring you this way.

With my very best regards,

Francis Goh
General Manager
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#50 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
#68 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#57 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#24 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Pullman Shanghai South
#29 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Atlantis Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Atlantis Shanghai

Property: Novotel Atlantis Shanghai
Address: No.728 Pudong Avenue, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#43 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#94 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Atlantis Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Atlantis Shanghai is a 4 star international hotel in the heart of Pudong Lujiazui, the financial centre of Shanghai. The first choice for a business trip, the Novotel is 7-minutes walk away from the metro, close to the Shanghai Exhibition Centre and offers conference facilities up to 150 people.Ideal for a break in this cosmopolitan city, the hotel is a short drive from the Bund waterfront and legendary shopping along Nanjing Road. Enjoy a choice of four restaurants and a bar, an indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and fitness centre. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. Onsite parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Atlantis Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Atlantis Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Accor Atlantis Shanghai
Novotel Shanghai
Shanghai Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing