We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic pool and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Ranked #4 of 4,968 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic pool and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very comfortable rooms with every amenitity including TV in the bathroom mirror, an amazing full size pool, and attentive staff, based in a convenient location. the house keepers even folded my worn clothes and pushed the toothpaste to the end of the tube to keep it tidy! Fantastic servce.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsingtao911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFourSeasonsPudong, General Manager at Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time to share your feedback about your visit to the Four Seasons Hotel Pudong, Shanghai.

We are delighted to read that you were very satisfied with your stay, and that you were pleased with the services provided to you by our staff. Whatever success we achieve in meeting the needs of our guests is entirely due to the dedication and commitment of our people. The primary goal of all of us at Four Seasons is to provide our guests with the best possible service, and it is of course immensely gratifying to know when we have succeeded in meeting their expectations.

We have shared your comments with our team, please know that they mean a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai when your travels bring you back in our direction.

Kind regards,
Christian Poda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    78
    10
    10
    6
See reviews for
74
88
28
267
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is a new and quite lovely hotel. Admittedly it's not perfect (some of the other reviews mention the tiny pool, the difficult to us toiletries) but these really are minor gripes at what is a beautifully designed hotel. The rooms are large and well-appointed with iPad control centres that are surprisingly easy to use and a lovely cocktail bar. The public areas are nicely designed and well thought out. It's lovely to look at and to stay in. The big challenge is the location. If you need to be close to the Jinmao Tower or Shanghai World Financial Centre, it's perfect and cheaper than the Park Hyatt. But waling to anywhere decent is impossible and taxis can be a challenge, especially in the rain. Pudong is getting very competitive with the Intercon, Ritz Carlton and others, so this hotel has its work cut out for it. But if you can get a good rate, take it.

Room Tip: You don't need to pay for a premium room to get a good size - they're all big
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zebanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFourSeasonsPudong, General Manager at Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time to share your feedback about your visit to the Four Seasons Hotel Pudong, Shanghai.

We are delighted to read that you were very satisfied with your stay, and that you were pleased with the services provided to you by our staff. Whatever success we achieve in meeting the needs of our guests is entirely due to the dedication and commitment of our people. The primary goal of all of us at Four Seasons is to provide our guests with the best possible service, and it is of course immensely gratifying to know when we have succeeded in meeting their expectations.

We have shared your comments with our team, please know that they mean a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai when your travels bring you back in our direction.

Kind regards,
Christian Poda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

This is the most beautiful hotel I've ever stayed in. The pool area is even more beautiful than the pictures on the website show. The view from our room was spectacular! But the best part truly was the amazing, wonderful staff. Everyone was so kind and helpful. There were a number of fluent English speaking staff, and nearly all spoke good English. The restaurant buffet breakfast was also fabulous. Daniel W. was especially kind, friendly and helpful. He helped us plan our Shanghai metro use and probably saved us a lot of time. ( FYI the metro was very efficient in Shanghai especially considering the WILD taxi experiences we had in Shanghai!) the room was absolutely Posh!! Loved this hotel!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BnRLovetosail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFourSeasonsPudong, General Manager at Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time to share your feedback about your visit to the Four Seasons Hotel Pudong, Shanghai.

We are delighted to read that you were very satisfied with your stay, and that you were pleased with the services provided to you by our staff. Whatever success we achieve in meeting the needs of our guests is entirely due to the dedication and commitment of our people. The primary goal of all of us at Four Seasons is to provide our guests with the best possible service, and it is of course immensely gratifying to know when we have succeeded in meeting their expectations.

We have shared your comments with our team, please know that they mean a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai when your travels bring you back in our direction.

Kind regards,
Christian Poda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

The hotel is very new and the rooms have all the mod-cons but sadly the closer you look the more you see that the quality is just not up to standard. Admittedly I did not stay long enough to use many of the facilities but the conference/function rooms suited our needs nicely, although I felt the location was not as convenient as the Ritz, Shang, Hyatt. The service from the staff was very good for Shanghai but again lacked a little something and given all the new hotels now in Pudong, travelers are spoilt for choice, so for me I am not sure I need to return in a hurry.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFourSeasonsPudong, General Manager at Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time share your detailed feedback about your stay with Four Seasons Hotel Pudong, Shanghai.

As you can imagine, I was concerned by your comments about your stay and that our service was lacking a special touch. I have shared your notes with our team to ensure improvement is made.

I truly believe that your experience is thankfully not typical of the style or standard of service that we more normally achieve.

If you like to contact me directly please find my details below.

Kind regards,
Christian Poda
Hotel Manager
Christian.poda@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

1.No bath salt, so cheap. Low quality red bottles of shower stuffs. Broken showerhead.Location isn't good for meals/shopping.I won't go back again.Old Four Season is much better.I love that one!ShangHai Four Season is much better and I'd stayed there twice.

2.It's impossible to squeeze those shower gel, shampoo and etc. out of the terrible hard red bottles. You gotta non-stop keep shaking the bottles for getting it out.

3. Tiny swimming pool, it looks like just fo kids. Maybe just only 10 meters long, so tiny. I didn't need to jump in and I didn't want to.

4. The most reception staffs don't know to smile, no homy/cozy feeling at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miya Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFourSeasonsPudong, General Manager at Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time share your detailed feedback about your stay with Four Seasons Hotel Pudong, Shanghai.

As you can imagine, I was very concerned by your comments about your stay and have shared your notes with our team to ensure improvement is made.

I truly believe that your experience is thankfully not typical of the style or standard of service that we more normally achieve. I would hate to think that this unfortunate incident would discourage you from returning in the future, and hope that, on reflection, you may feel able to give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.
If you like to contact me directly please find my details below.

Kind regards,
Christian Poda
Hotel Manager
Christian.poda@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Excellent hotel, the hotel location is great, just behind the bottle opener tower. The service is very good as well, asked the reception where i could buy a new suitcase and a private chauffeur drove me to the place for free, and then on the second day, i had to leave really early in the morning to catch a flight so they even packed a breakfast to go, very nice! The rooms are BIG, they are new, well designed and spacious with lots of cool gadgets like the ipad mini where you can order in room dining on it and control the room settings. The food is great and the health center at the top is just incredible.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralph6429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFourSeasonsPudong, General Manager at Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time to share your feedback about your visit to the Four Seasons Hotel Pudong, Shanghai.

We are delighted to read that you were very satisfied with your stay, and that you were pleased with the services provided to you by our staff. Whatever success we achieve in meeting the needs of our guests is entirely due to the dedication and commitment of our people. The primary goal of all of us at Four Seasons is to provide our guests with the best possible service, and it is of course immensely gratifying to know when we have succeeded in meeting their expectations.

We have shared your comments with our team, please know that they mean a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai when your travels bring you back in our direction.

Kind regards,
Christian Poda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

I was skeptical about this newer Four Seasons in Shanghai because of my poor experience in the first one on the Puxi side of town. But I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are modern and we'll appointed. The gym and pool on the top floor is probably the most stylish (and still we'll equipped) among all hotels in China. But most importantly the staffs are very friendly and attentive, sadly not always a given for luxury hotels in China....

The only issue I had was a faulty electric curtain on two of my visits. Seems like a design fault that needs to be fixed.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank BeijingHongkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFourSeasonsPudong, General Manager at Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time to share your feedback about your visit to the Four Seasons Hotel Pudong, Shanghai.

We are delighted to read that you were very satisfied with your stay, and that you were pleased with the services provided to you by our staff. Whatever success we achieve in meeting the needs of our guests is entirely due to the dedication and commitment of our people. The primary goal of all of us at Four Seasons is to provide our guests with the best possible service, and it is of course immensely gratifying to know when we have succeeded in meeting their expectations.

We have shared your comments with our team, please know that they mean a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai when your travels bring you back in our direction.

Kind regards,
Christian Poda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#6 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Lujiazui
Park Hyatt Shanghai
Park Hyatt Shanghai
#15 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong

Property: Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Address: No.210 Century Avenue, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4,968 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Travelocity so you can book your Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing