We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pearl of Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong
Ranked #6 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Four Seasons Pudong, Shanghai is a "Pearl" above all hotels.
From the moment our taxi arrived at the driveway till we checked-out after a 6 nights stay, the impeccable service and attentive to details never failed to impress us.
Room is spacious and modern. The toiletries color theme is red which carry a taste of being "Chinese".
Concierge and front desk staff are very friendly and informative, always greeting you with a smile. The indoor swimming pool on the 41st floor is amazing. It overlooks the Oriental Pearl Tower and the view is great. Is a "must go" place when you are staying at the hotel.
We had lunch at Camelia restaurant located at the lobby. Food is great and service is attentive but not intrusive.
The nearest subway is Dongchang station and it is a mere 5-10mins walk from the hotel. If you are more adventurous, there is a bus-stop right in front of the hotel as well.
Overall, this hotel truely epitomise what service is all about and should try it out when you are in Shanghai.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room facing the Oriental Pearl Tower, it is a different "scenery" in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clementalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFourSeasonsPudong, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time to share your feedback about your visit to the Four Seasons Hotel Pudong, Shanghai.

We are delighted to read that you were very satisfied with your stay, and that you were pleased with the services provided to you by our staff. Whatever success we achieve in meeting the needs of our guests is entirely due to the dedication and commitment of our people. The primary goal of all of us at Four Seasons is to provide our guests with the best possible service, and it is of course immensely gratifying to know when we have succeeded in meeting their expectations.

We have shared your comments with our team, please know that they mean a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai when your travels bring you back in our direction.

Kind regards,
Christian Poda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 668 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

The quality was excellent in all respects, personable service, in-room dining was far superior to nearby hotels, good sized rooms, fantastic spa. The location is just across the road from Shanghai World Financial Centre which has excellent food choices, and you can take the overhead brdige to IFC, Pearl Tower and Superbrands Mall.
The staff members were warm, welcoming, professional and efficient which made the stay comfortable and enjoyable.
The room and bathroom was spacious and very well set out, decor, lighting and signage was good (better than the Park Hyatt which is "too cool" and dark).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHTSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFourSeasonsPudong, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time to share your feedback about your visit to the Four Seasons Hotel Pudong, Shanghai.

We are delighted to read that you were very satisfied with your stay, and that you were pleased with the services provided to you by our staff. Whatever success we achieve in meeting the needs of our guests is entirely due to the dedication and commitment of our people. The primary goal of all of us at Four Seasons is to provide our guests with the best possible service, and it is of course immensely gratifying to know when we have succeeded in meeting their expectations.

We have shared your comments with our team, please know that they mean a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai when your travels bring you back in our direction.

Kind regards,
Christian Poda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Simply an amazing hotel. Service was top notch. Pool/gym/spa were wonderful. Rooms were large with great views. Breakfasts were a bit pricey but good. Upon exiting my cab on day 2, they addressed me by name and told me about my scheduled pick up for the airport. Overall highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFourSeasonsPudong, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time to share your feedback about your visit to the Four Seasons Hotel Pudong, Shanghai.

We are delighted to read that you were very satisfied with your stay, and that you were pleased with the services provided to you by our staff. Whatever success we achieve in meeting the needs of our guests is entirely due to the dedication and commitment of our people. The primary goal of all of us at Four Seasons is to provide our guests with the best possible service, and it is of course immensely gratifying to know when we have succeeded in meeting their expectations.

We have shared your comments with our team, please know that they mean a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai when your travels bring you back in our direction.

Kind regards,
Christian Poda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have spent the last weekend in Four Seasons, Pudong, Shanghai.

The Hotel is flawless. The room is spacious enough and is tastefully done. The city view is splendid. You will get to see the Oriental Pearl TV Tower (like it or not). The bathroom is luxurious, with a blend of class and fashion. The mist shower head is just wonerful to have.

The service is also impeccable. All the staff at the conceirge are professional. Amongst them, Ms. Fay Jay, the Guest Relations Manager, has impressed me the most. She is pleasant, attentive and responsive. She makes efforts to ensure that all guests are well looked-after and will leave the Hotel for their onward journey happy and satisfied.

Some travellers may have preference for hotels across the river in Puxi. I did struggle a bit in planning my itinerary. I guess this is entirely understandable. Afterall, restaurants and shopping area are clustered along East of Nanjing Road etc. I have encountered cab-drivers refusing to take me back to Pudong after dinner (Saturday at 10-ish). Having said that, I do not find the Pudong location a huge minus. A large part of Shanghai (for the purpose of tourists) are well-connected by metro. The Hotel is on Line 2 along the Century Avenue. When you get off Dongchang Road Station, it only takes 5 minutes' walk to get back to the Hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the floor zone the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFourSeasonsPudong, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time to share your feedback about your visit to the Four Seasons Hotel Pudong, Shanghai.

We are delighted to read that you were very satisfied with your stay, and that you were pleased with the services provided to you by our staff. Whatever success we achieve in meeting the needs of our guests is entirely due to the dedication and commitment of our people. The primary goal of all of us at Four Seasons is to provide our guests with the best possible service, and it is of course immensely gratifying to know when we have succeeded in meeting their expectations.

We have shared your comments with our team, please know that they mean a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai when your travels bring you back in our direction.

Kind regards,
Christian Poda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Modern and elegant hotel but comfy at the same time. Location is great. The staff was always helpful, very attentive. They called me by my name most of the times and they all spoke English. Rooms are stylish with great views. I definitely recommend it. The spa was great too! I'd love to go back soon. This hotel works for business, couples and family trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Na A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFourSeasonsPudong, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time to share your feedback about your visit to the Four Seasons Hotel Pudong, Shanghai.

We are delighted to read that you were very satisfied with your stay, and that you were pleased with the services provided to you by our staff. Whatever success we achieve in meeting the needs of our guests is entirely due to the dedication and commitment of our people. The primary goal of all of us at Four Seasons is to provide our guests with the best possible service, and it is of course immensely gratifying to know when we have succeeded in meeting their expectations.

We have shared your comments with our team, please know that they mean a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai when your travels bring you back in our direction.

Kind regards,
Christian Poda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This Four Seasons is located at Shanghai Pudong’s Lujiazui area, right on the Shijidalao (Chinese for the Century Boulevard). It is situated farther away from the Huangpu River compared to the other 5-stars in the area. However I would still give this Four Seasons a higher score than some other hotels which are right next to the river.

To me, a. the Huangpu River view is not worthy of the extra cost, maybe because I am not new to Shanghai or maybe I simply don’t find a busy commercial river that attractive; b. it is a lot more convenient to get to Four Seasons from the Dongchanglu Station of the metro line 2. You walk out of the station, the hotel is almost there right across the street (big street though); c. overall this Four Seasons carries an ambiance which is quite appealing: unlike the gaudy colonial style of a few top hotels on the Bund, it is more like what I would call, elegantly practical.

Just like the other older Four Seasons in the Puxi, this Pudong one also has a seemingly small lobby, which is probably why some people think it is rather like a boutique 5 star, but the room is nicely spacious, bed, bathroom and walk-in closet both modern, large and comfortable. I also happened to adore the warm colour tones and the red-black combination in the deco theme. I chose the most modestly priced room for this short stay and found it perfect for a solo traveler or a couple. The desk was the only piece of furniture which I found a bit strange because it looked unnecessarily big, occupying some extra space but I also suspected that I had been a bit too critical.

Besides, the swimming pool is also very lovely. My local friend even commented that the pool was nicer than the one in the Ritz Carton, which is also located in area. The hotel staff appeared very friendly and professional. They smiled warmly to me when trying to help me find out some flight information. I guess it was partially because I spoke their language which made it easier to them, partially thanks to my own habitual smiles to almost anyone but I did notice that the service in Shanghai had been improving in general, especially in places such as the high-level hotels.

I however could tell this hotel may appear awkward in a financial area for the sightseeing people who came for the first time. Different restaurants and cafes can be found in the International Financial Centre next door or on the nearby Pudongnanlu Road, and views of a modern China's concrete jungles are all around you, but it is almost impossible to find the real old Shanghai-styled anything around: you simply have to take the metro or a taxi to go to the Puxi area (The metro strongly recommended during the rush hours!) All in all, this Four Seasons probably suits better the business people who visit the organizations in the Lujiazui area or other places in the Pudong.

Nevertheless for me, who lived in Shanghai for 5~6 years and have been quite familiar with everything, this Four Seasons just provided a perfectly nice reminiscent stay.

Room Tip: I wouldn't be bothered with the river view room. The view would be blocked mostly by other tall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AYWEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFourSeasonsPudong, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time to share your feedback about your visit to the Four Seasons Hotel Pudong, Shanghai.

We are delighted to read that you were very satisfied with your stay, and that you were pleased with the services provided to you by our staff. Whatever success we achieve in meeting the needs of our guests is entirely due to the dedication and commitment of our people. The primary goal of all of us at Four Seasons is to provide our guests with the best possible service, and it is of course immensely gratifying to know when we have succeeded in meeting their expectations.

We have shared your comments with our team, please know that they mean a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai when your travels bring you back in our direction.

Kind regards,
Christian Poda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Everything was fabulous, the rooms, the vibe, the personal service and touches. Floor to ceiling windows and total ease to get across the river via subway or boat. Exceptional views and amazing quality service. Stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFourSeasonsPudong, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time to share your feedback about your visit to the Four Seasons Hotel Pudong, Shanghai.

We are delighted to read that you were very satisfied with your stay, and that you were pleased with the services provided to you by our staff. Whatever success we achieve in meeting the needs of our guests is entirely due to the dedication and commitment of our people. The primary goal of all of us at Four Seasons is to provide our guests with the best possible service, and it is of course immensely gratifying to know when we have succeeded in meeting their expectations.

We have shared your comments with our team, please know that they mean a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai when your travels bring you back in our direction.

Kind regards,
Christian Poda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#32 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,416 reviews
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,052 reviews
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#9 of 5,146 in Shanghai
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong

Address: 210 Century Avenue | Pudong New District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $307 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing