We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Frech Food at a Reasonable Price”

Lingo Restaurant and Wine Bar
Ranked #2,099 of 16,925 Restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: People’s Square
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Frech Food at a Reasonable Price”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Small & cozy.
Excellent choices of French food with excellent pricing.
Good selection of mid-range wines.

Best Mousse au Chocolat tried in Shanghai.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gadvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
shanghai
1 review
“reasonable price, good service”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

friendly staff, who are pretty efficient and helpful, tasty food quite a good place for lunch but it can get quite busy with groups getting cheese fondue seems to be the signature dish, certainly one of the best value places in peoples square

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice little restaurant”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We went as three generation-family, certainly not the typical customer group at this restaurant - but we felt very welcome, more than we would probably have at some of the fancier western restaurants in Shanghai. Food was very decent, definitely worth the money - I think it's rare to find a restaurant like this - it seems western food here is too often either fast food or fancy expensive. At 148 RMB for the 3 course and 118 RMB for the 2 course menu, this is certainly not cheap and for the same money you can find better Chinese food here - but that's OK, I don't expect a French restaurant in Shanghai to be that competitively priced and I think you wouldn't easily get a better deal in France...
Among our dishes, I liked the grilled chevre, my mother cruelly opted for foie gras (which also tasted great), and the beef w sichuan pepper sauce was great. The side salads where a little simple and uniform. The baguette they served tasted pretty much like the real thing (maybe it sounds ridiculous but it's been a while since I had a baguette as good as this). The desserts where great (chocolate cake and another dish w apple and cinnamon). To top things off, I indulged in the cheese platter at the end - first St. Nectaire cheese outside Europe EVER :). Wines where good, waiters where a little slow w refilling water (no big deal, but that would rarely happen at a Chinese restaurant of this price level). Everyone was polite and nice. Interestingly there where almost exclusively Chinese patrons, maybe also because 2 days before Christmas there aren't as many tourists here. Atmosphere was very good, music not too loud and not too bad. If I had to rate by interior design, I would have given 5 stars. Really well done, feels like France (until you walk out the door back into that shopping mall :) ).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Till M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
1 review
“Good French Restaurant”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This bistro is a serious French restaurant ,We made a reservation and we were lucky and wine bar was a great find in central Shanghai opposite J W Marriott at Tomorrow Square .The service was very friendly, accommodating and efficient. The bar has very 2 course dinner deals for 118 RMB which encompass a wide selection of dishes. I can't wait to go back. Great food, great service and great atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great French Cuisine”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Salad was fresh and a great fusion of flavors. Steak was tender and well cooked. Chocolate Molten cake was perfectly done. Buy one/Get one free on select wines was a refreshing benefit.

It isn't very loud; and is probably best suited for dating (shared fondue, etc); but there were a few groups too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smgigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lingo Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Lingo Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing