We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent pork dumplings”

Din Tai Fung (World Financial Center)
Ranked #56 of 16,873 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Taiwanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Lujiazui
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
247 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Excellent pork dumplings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

I have been to original in Taipei and one in Tokyo. The one in Tokyo was just okay, but this one in Shanghai was as good as the Taipei restaurant.

The pork dumplings are great. The broth is really tasty. I espeicially like the pork with truffle dumplings. The larger pork buns are good too. We also enjoyed the garlic spinach and fried rice. There are several good noodle dishes as well. And, the fried pork chop we saw someone else order looked good.

Service was very fast. The staff were friendly and could handle English speakers well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank skline2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    79
    19
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

One of the best run franchise delivering consistent service and food quality. Attentive staff making the lunch with 3 kids a comfortable experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GoGoEasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
326 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Always good. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

After trying a couple of the other Din Tai Fung we came to this one because we were in the area. Somewhat smaller than the other restaurants in this chain but just as good. The dumplings here are great, we tried as well some noodle dishes and one with mushrooms. All just tasty.
Like with most restaurants in china there is always a line. Either go eat early or eat outside the normal dinner/lunch times.

Helpful?
Thank Clodruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent Dumplings and the service was very nice and friendly. Definitely worth a visit if you are a dumpling lover!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank noufou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

The linen-tablecloth decor here is a far cry from most of the other dumpling places I visited in Shanghai; see Yang's Fry-Dumplings (yum!). Though a little stuffy, the food is quite good. We had a prix fixe dinner with soup, several kinds of dumplings, and dessert. You can get better xiaolongbao elsewhere in Shanghai, but the shu mai were good and the dessert was tasty.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeglegEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Din Tai Fung (World Financial Center) also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Din Tai Fung (World Financial Center)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing