We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Réveillon du 31 Décembre”
Review of Institut Paul Bocuse - CLOSED

Institut Paul Bocuse
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Bund
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Réveillon du 31 Décembre”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We booked for new year eve diner for the 5 of us. As My youngest son (11 years) is not a fan of complex food we did ask for a special menu ... It was good but the quantity were very small for the price we paid for him. For the grand menu ... Everything was perfect : 10 courses ... Delicious ... But the dessert trolley was a disaster... They offer Only a choice of heavy butter/cream/ sugar cakes ( chocolate tart was good only... ), we would have loved a bit of lemon tart / red fruit tart... A bit of acidity to balance the cream and sugar! But except this ... It was a great diner ... Dommage pour la note finale... We are used to go in Ecully close to Lyon where the original school is based ... The quality is about the same ... Exceptional...

Helpful?
Thank thibautlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Shanghai”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our family went to Paul Bocuse for a brunch last year and we had the must amazing food.
This week we went there for lunch and again what a pleasant surprise, gazpacho, prawns and scallops, cooked for perfection, lamb with veggies, and an amazing desert. Congrats to chef Matthew who can put together the most delicious food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Some of the food was great but not all of it”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Went to have dinner there
Location with roof terrasse is nice but in a desert neighbourood.

Meat was just perfect but "os a moelle" really far from it
Desert was disappointing so were wines

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laure P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You really need to be committed to find it but worth the hunt...”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away on the top floor of the Rhone-Alpes Pavollion on the edge of the Expo site there is no real indication of the restaurant save a small plaquette outside the building. Very well set tables and young student servers who marry style and enthusiasm with some success. We all have to start.
The food was outstanding - the ravioli with fois gras appetizer was a visual, demonstrable and epicurean delight. Fish cooked to perfection and interesting deserts. Everything was the perfect temperature and bursting with flavour. Interesting selection of Rhone wines. Expensive so we'll save it for special occasions but...we will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
1,199 reviews
931 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,414 helpful votes
“Still good food but very bad reservations system and reservations staff”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Through diningcity.com, they were advertising a special menu from 22 to 31 December to commemorate Chef Lars' leaving. Wanting a friend to try out their food, I made an online reservation for 24 December dinner. That reservation was cancelled online by the restaurant, without immediate explanation. I then got a call later to say they only served Christmas menu that day and to book another day. I then made another online reservation for 22 December with a note appended to check if there was any place for 23 December as well. That was also cancelled online by the restaurant without explanation. I followed up with an email, after which the response was they only serve brunch on Sundays, without any explanation why my Saturday reservation was cancelled. In future, they should be more specific about the time period when they have special promotions, and they need to follow up to explain quicker.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orator11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Institut Paul Bocuse also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing