We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Shanghai World Expo
Ranked #2,494 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    22
    12
    17
See reviews for
2
1
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 5 days in early Dec 2012. We had prebooked including buffet breakfast. Upon arrival the front desk clerk did not speak any english. Began to charge more for the room than what we had already had confirmed previously. We argued and showed our confirmed reservation so she relented. The breakfast 'deal' we had ordered was 15 yuan per day for 2 people (7.50 each). This was a discount special for online booking. Instead she charged us 30 yuan per day for 1 breakfast ticket - only good for one person. The sign on the wall behind her stated the charge for buffet breakfast was 22 yuan! Hard to understand what exactly went on except to know for certain that we were overcharged for a not very good breakfast.
Also - no free internet is available in rooms. Only wifi is in lobby of this hotel alone. No wifi in rooms. The internet in lobby is for max time of 15 minutes!
As for location - it is not near the Oriental Pearl tower et cetera as stated in the advertising.
It is one block from the Dongming metro station. Easy to access downtown Shanghai in 20 - 25 minutes and about 1 hour from Shanghai Pudong airport by metro.
BEWARE! - the metro stops running at 22:57.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from some sort of entertainment or maybe radio from kitchen which begins around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Ibis Shanghai Worl expo hotel is in a great location as it is 5mins from a subway station. If you want somewhere cheap it is an ideal choice. Whilst the rooms are not 100t% clean they are passable. I would avaoid the breakfast as a westerner. The staff were really helpful and spoke english. I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsmile1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed 1 night at Ibis Expo because I want to get to Pudong airport early the next day. The hotel is located within 100 meters from DongJiangRoad Station but there is nothing else in that area. There is no WF in the room except the lobby. Nothing worth to say much

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeatherTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a very basic hotel and only good if all you want is a bed to sleep.

The location is ok. It is near the World Expo and the airport. There is a shopping centre across the street.

The room is terribly small and the bathroom is tiny. It's not even a permanent bathroom. I think it's a transportable bathroom. It is made of plastic.

This is the worst hotel I stayed in on my trip to China.

Room Tip: Don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsiantravellerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Houston
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights during China lantern festival. The hotel is about 5 min walk from nearest metro. Again, just like many hotels in China, regardless it's Ibis or Novotel, English is not widely spoken by staffs. However, one hotel staff, Thomas tang has gone out of his way to make sure our stay there as comfortable as possible. he gave us his personal cell phone number so we could call him for help with translation anytime. He went out of his way to book for us table at a famous local restaurant. He gave us detailed written instructions in English so we knew how to get around town. For short, he was a big help while we're there. Other staff members were helpful as well but their helps were hampered by their limited English! Room was nice and clean with size large enough for an Ibis. They managed to offer me a discount for being a Gold A club member. By metro, it takes about 20 min to get to downtown Shanghai like Nanjing Rd and the famous "The Bund".

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathantran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Hotel Ibis Shanghai Lianyang
Hotel Ibis Shanghai Lianyang
#2,528 of 5,069 in Shanghai
352 reviews
Waigaoqiao
Ibis (Shanghai Waigaoqiao)
Ibis (Shanghai Waigaoqiao)
#2,449 of 5,069 in Shanghai
49 reviews
Changshou Road
ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang
ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang
#2,629 of 5,069 in Shanghai
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Ibis Shanghai Xujiahui
Ibis Shanghai Xujiahui
#743 of 5,069 in Shanghai
60 reviews
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#42 of 5,069 in Shanghai
845 reviews
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#74 of 5,069 in Shanghai
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Shanghai World Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Shanghai World Expo

Property: Ibis Shanghai World Expo
Address: No.800 Chenshan Road, Shanghai 200125, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,494 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Shanghai World Expo 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Shanghai World Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing