We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly exceptional so far...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Ranked #30 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I've never stayed in an Andaz before - and this was over my corporate budget but got a deal agreed through local office!

All I can say is that the room I have is truly amazing. It took me 10 mins to find the lights (panels in drawers!!) but all makes sense once you know...

Room size - awesome; bathroom is its own wonder (wet room, illuminated bath...wasted on a business trip!) free soft drinks from minibar; free WiFi...I stay in a LOT of hotels both on corporate budgets, and at luxury end for personal trips - and this hotel is in my top 10...and depending on how the rest of the stay goes, top 5! I would personally pay full freight here if in Shanghai for leisure.

City is surprisingly modern - already found the ubiquitous Starbucks - which I need to do as breakfast here is not cheap, and am on a company expenses. But that's a general criticism of hotels in the region so far.

Am staying with Andaz in NY next year - it has a lot to live up to!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Businessclass2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,023)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

755 - 761 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beside being impressed I was with their hotel and room designs n stuff, i was exceptionally impressed my their service!
It was my first time to Shanghai and prior to the trip, I was overwhelmed by work and had no time to google on Shanghai. Upon checking in, the receptionist asked if I was here for leisure or business. When I told him I was here for leisure, he asked me where do I intend to visit. I told him I was absolutely clueless and he went on asking what kind of travel experiences I wanted and gave me a few good suggestions and gave me a rough itinerary for my 4-days trip.
On one of the days, as usual, the concierge was helping me hail a taxi while i was waiting at the car pouch. That day, the temperature dropped and it was exceptionally windy. One of the hotel staff who was standing in the hotel saw me rubbing my palms, walked towards me and ask me to wait inside the hotel and once they managed to hail a taxi, the would call for me.
Not only were their staff friendly and helpful, they were all very observant and pay notice and attention to the occupants. I would definitely stay in this hotel again on my next trip thought it's very expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pigletpong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We've stayed at a number of hotels in the Shanghai area, and had the opportunity to check out Andaz's new Shanghai property. It's in a great location next to Xintiandi (Shanghai Tang, Din Tai Fung and Starbucks are a stones throw). The rooms are super contemporary - LED lights can be programmed in the room and the bathroom (LED tub anyone?). The service is exceptional, American-style service. The beds - soft and luxurious. (For anyone who travels to China regularly, this is a major bonus.) The contemporary design of the building is also super cool. Worth checking out if you're interested in staying in the French Concession area of Shanghai.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong, but higher has better views of the Shanghai skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is my 3rd stay at this hotel. Got the XL kingsize room. Very generous space with wrap around windows. Bed and pillows comfortable. Checkin smooth. Service at breakfast was not great. Staff not observant to notice only 1 table setting for 2 diners. Food was good though. Close proximity to xintiandi across the road.

Room Tip: Choose the XL kingsize rooms. Lots of space and not too far from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YinChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

First time here and I loved it! Great central location next to Xin Tian Di and subway. Can walk to plenty of shopping and food places. The service was top notch (thank you for finding and mailing me back my earphones, really appreciate it). The pool/gym/spa were lovely, food at the restaurant was excellent, and really appreciated the size of the room and bathroom. Best touch was the complimentary wifi. I don't like to support top hotels that charge for wifi as I think it is a basic right of any global traveler in this day and age. I whole heartedly recommend this hotel, I will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Xin Tian Di
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielHoonOu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

One of the best hotel that I have stay. Located right next to Xintiandi and very easy to get around. Service at Front Desk and Housekeeping was good, but the service for breakfast seem a bit slow and not attentive. Room size is reasonable, but the room set-up and amenities is great. The only issue that we had encountered was the hand basin water drained seem a bit slow. Wifi, minibar (non-alcoholic drink) and the so call "Lounge" located right next to the Front Desk is free. Breakfast is served in 2 areas - Western and Chinese section, but the food varieties is average but sufficient. Definitely not value for money if you have to pay for it.

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skywalker0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

There is no doubt that the location is excellent - right near Xiantiandi. Service is quite good and responsive..... but thr rooms are another story! No carpets, very light on amenities and generally a cold, stark feeling. The worst thing is the design of the buttons for lights and the curtains. Try picking the right button even in daylight without squinting to find the labels and you deserve a medal! I'd come back again mostly because of the location.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank onep39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#33 of 5,161 in Shanghai
616 reviews
Lujiazui
Park Hyatt Shanghai
Park Hyatt Shanghai
#28 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
#175 of 5,161 in Shanghai
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai

Address: No.88 Songshan Road, Shanghai 200020, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $201 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first Andaz in Asia is located in Xintiandi—a landmark entertainment area in the heart of downtown Shanghai, internationally acclaimed for its restored Shikumen architecture housing stylish restaurants, bars, and boutiques. Andaz Xintiandi, Shanghai is a short walk to the Metro and the prestigious Huai Hai Zhong Road, one of Shanghai’s premier shopping areas. The newly constructed 28-storey hotel features 307 spacious guest rooms measuring 41 square metres, including 47 premium rooms and suites ranging from 80–740 square metres, all with vibrant views over Shanghai and impressive LED lighting where guests can customise the colour to suit their mood. As in all Andaz hotels, non-alcoholic minibar drinks and snacks, local telephone calls and wireless internet access are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing