We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended for a great dinner experience in Shanghai.”

Shanghai Haidilao Hot Pot (Zhangyang Road)
Ranked #21 of 16,925 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Recommended for a great dinner experience in Shanghai.”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a great business dinner here. Nice round table seating 12 people in a separate room. We made a reservation in advance. Fresh ingredients for both spicy lovers as well as 'european' taste. The concept is simple after starters you receive the hot pot. This is hot boullion with spices in which you dip the fish and meat to cook it. Staff is very friendly, speaks a bit of English and shows you the way. Mainly locals eating here which is good sign.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cgeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    113
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Simply Superb Service”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Close to our hotel (Sheraton), walking distance which is amazing in Shanghai, this was a fantastic find. The conceirge did call ahead and we were given a waiting number and he said it may be an hour or so, however on arrival we were given a small table some plum juice and popcorn but before I had even read the menu we were off to a table.
While few of the staff spoke English they were all really pleased to communicate with us in any way they could and they seemed delighted by our visit - even singing us a song which they explained was about friendship. They advised us what to order, provided us with aprons and were generally super attentive - even coming to stretch some noodles at the table - which we hadn't even ordered.
The food was good and then they brought lovely decorated fruit at the end as well as some popcorn for my husband to take home.
I tried to leave a small tip and they ran to the lift after me refusing to take it.
This was our last night in China and this level of service left us with a great memory. The staff may all be young but they are clearly happy in their work and trying very hard - a credit to themselves and the management.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dnaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service is excellent”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

As all Hai Di Lao Hotpot restaurants, the service staff was excellent. From the moment that they received you at the entrance to the moment that you said farewell to them, excellent service all the way... thumbs up!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josephine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This place is off the hook!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The place is very big and super busy. I was worried that it was too busy to be taken care of. Was I wrong. The service is unbelievable. We had a private room with our own server. They gave one of the guest a eyeglass cloth to clean her glass's and little plastic bags for cell phones. She dropped one of her chopsticks and before we could ask for another, she was handed another pair. The food was very good and filling. I can't tell you the value because we were guests, but I would have to guess that it was reasonable because of all the people there. I would go back there anytime and will!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ebert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“bubbly”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Fun evening out with Fresh natural food product. Cook yourself naturally and healthy! Great atmosphere. Call ahead, very popular

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnberndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Haidilao Hot Pot (Zhangyang Road) also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shanghai Haidilao Hot Pot (Zhangyang Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing