We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waiting is half the fun!”

Shanghai Haidilao Hot Pot (Zhangyang Road)
Ranked #25 of 17,009 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Waiting is half the fun!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I won't repeat what all the other reviews mentioned, but all of it is true (including the free manicures! Just make sure to put your name and cell# in right away so they can text you when it's your turn before they call your table to be seated! The location we went to had English menus and also plenty of vegetarian options. If I went and didn't get to wait I would be dissapointed, let's just put it that way! So much fun and so delicious! My whole experience can be seen on my blog here: http://wp.me/p2Yola-iS

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ejpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    113
    20
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
730 reviews
441 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Amazing, don't miss!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

It is an amazing restaurant. We arrived at 7pm on a Wednesday night so went straight to a table. If there was a queue there were tables downstairs in readiness with games and people ready to do manicures etc. Once at the table, a wet sterile towel was brought to us and an English menu. Everything is ordered on an iPad and the waiters and waitresses are very helpful and friendly. We ordered the two soup option ie one normal and one spicy to dunk the food into. We ordered lamb, beef, mushrooms, scallops, rice noodles and mixed vegetables. Once the soup is at boiling point, they bring the bibs and put on you. If you wear glasses, they give you a sealed glasses cleaner to wipe them with due to the stem.. If you have long hair, then a hair band is provided to keep your hair back. Now ready to start, you go to the sauce station, where there are small bowls and you take as many different sauces as you want back to your table. Then the fun begins, you place your meat using your chopsticks into either of the soups and wait until cooked, then dunk into one of your sauces and eat. You do this with all the food you have ordered. Then, we asked for the show noodles and a guy comes to your table and starts to spin the noodles around, stretching them and then when done, places them into your soup. A great show!
At the end, they bring you chewing gum, green tea, a very unusual sort of popcorn and melon seeds. The total cost with 4 large beers was Yuan 350. Such a great evening, real fun and delicious food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moosie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very delicious”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

It tastes so nice, and you can put any food you want to the big pot. the price is reasonable. Chilli sauce or barbeque sauce is available. Fat mutton is a must for this soup. We always eat Hai Di Lao hotpot in winter because it can make us feel hot.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome service”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I think hot pot is popular for Chinese, especially in the winter, as a pot of bubbling broth can help to ward off the chill. Until recently it was a meal enjoyed in restaurants, I got it why people always waited outside for a long while without any impatient.
High quality service, tasty food, warm atmosphere. Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GOOD SERVICE”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Greeted by the security guard at the entrance
Greeted by the front desk at the entrance
Someone waiting outside the toilet with soap and towel
Offered cloth for cleaning my glass
I dont know how to make the sauce....and they even offered to make for me...which taste very good
The waiter is curteous and very attentive to the needs
The food is delicious and clean
All in all....very very good and must go in shanghai

Helpful?
1 Thank Minox008
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Haidilao Hot Pot (Zhangyang Road) also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shanghai Haidilao Hot Pot (Zhangyang Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing