We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for lunch”

ShangHai Hen Niu DuChuang Beef Noodles (FuMin Road)
Cuisines: Chinese, Taiwanese, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Jing'an
Illinois
Level Contributor
141 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good for lunch”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I visited Noodle Bull twice during my visit since our office was in the general vicinity and we needed quick(ish) food.

This is a trendy looking noodle spot and was busy during both of our visits. However, we had a rather large group, and were still seated pretty quickly.

I know my ex-pat colleagues enjoy this spot as the one was clearly a regular. He also was very helpful in telling us what to order. I tried two different noodle dishes - I think one had pork and one had steak. Both were surprisingly delicious and flavorful, though somewhat difficult to eat with chopsticks (I'm ok with them, but soup is hard - try it!). The meat was nicely seasoned and they listened when you tried to explain how hot and spicy you wanted your dish.

Service was friendly, and while this wasn't super fast dining, it still is a relatively quick spot for healthy and fresh food with a kick (if you want!). Reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Spicy, warming, wonderful bowl of soup”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This might just be the best winter dish in Shanghai. While there are lots of side dishes and other choices, the beef noodle soup is the star. The broth is deep and rich, and the noodles have a wonderfully chewy mouth feel. The beef is tender and cooked just right. Located in the French Concession, the décor is modern minimalist with long communal tables (a good place to connect with folks you don't know). There is a great mix of locals, ex pats and visitors. The prices are reasonable (not cheap as its Shanghai) and a great value. Beer and wine are available.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very good, Noodle Bull!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Neat place and minimalist atmosphere in the heart of Former French Concession, Noodle Bull serves very good and simple Taiwain-style stirred and soup noodles : classic 5.0mm bull noodles are my favorite, the few and well selected further choices are also absolutely worth a try. Be also sure to taste the delicate 'thin sliced beef' and 'Korean pickles' (cabbage fermented with vinegar) entrées. Great quality/price ratio!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paolottivomita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
148 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

First of all, this is a simple and tasty restaurant. They do a few things well, but they do Taiwanese Beef Noodle soup the best, though a little more expensive than you might pay on the streets of Taipei. That said, they are strict in claiming no MSG is added. You can have the noodles a few different ways, and they give you plenty of Taiwanese style chili on the side to heat it up if you like. A few decent starters can be had, as well as real drinks and real beer. Stylish and industrial in design, service fairly simple, and usually can get in and out relatively quickly or stick around and make an evening out of it.

If you can't get to Taiwan while on your stay (I've been plenty, and I'll tell you that this is authentic), have a meal here. A note: the address insinuates this is ON Fumin Lu, while it's just part of the massive building on a corner with Changle lu. From the intersection, walk eastward about half a block and you'll see it on your right next to Bistro Burger (also delicious!!!).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zach F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
439 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Fabulous Noodles”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This must be one of the top noodle places in town! Went their with business friends and enjoyed the atmosphere, friendly service and heavenly noodles. I will certainly be back soon and will also try their other branches in town! For noodle fans - highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ShangHai Hen Niu DuChuang Beef Noodles (FuMin Road) also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing