We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First experience with Uygur cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Xibo

Xibo
Ranked #38 of 16,873 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Xinjiang
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Former French Concession
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“First experience with Uygur cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We came during peak hours of dinner, luckily we got a table for two easily. Love the interior design, very unique yet classy taste.

We noted that their service was a bit slow. But we were spoiled by their interior details, thus service wasn't an issue for us.

Ordered two dishes: local rice with some meat on the top and barbeque lamb ribs. Overall taste a bit modest and milder (compared to Sichuan, Cantonese or Hunanese). But it has special character of cumin taste, something I like a lot.

For beer lovers, their collection list is quite extensive

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xtin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    71
    11
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
526 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Good food, terribly slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Second time here and the food didn't disappoint.

Ordered a number of dishes, including veg, bread, skewers and a main of stew (chicken, peppers with handmade noodles). This was shared between 4 people during lunch.

Overall, the food was good, the broccoli slightly too salty for my tastes but the stew was extremely delicious. We even ordered extra noodles to soak up the stew. For the skewers we had lamb and beef, both tender and very little fat, unlike the typical skewers you get at night markets with minuscule pieces of questionable meat. Bread was standard Uyghur fare which I always enjoy.

This is not traditional Xinjiang food but more fusion/contemporary take. Regardless, the food is worth coming back for.

Only real negative was the service, it was just way too slow and the excuse that it was busy as it was lunch just didn't help matters.

Would definitely come back but would consider ordering the set lunch as the service was much faster.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mokkey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Something new and very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Being from New York, we have the opportunity to eat out a lot at a restaurants serving a range of different cuisines. So we do not often encounter something completely new and different. Xibo was just that. Uyghur cuisine is not something to which we had had any previous exposure. The food was delicious and different with a range of different ingredients and tastes. My family of 5 shared six dishes and two deserts. All were great. The service was very good and a few of the servers spoke passable English. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“Be careful with the dessert!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Overall it's a nice location offering delicious food. BUT we were there on 22.11.13 with four people. Every dish we sheared but the dessert. Only two of us shared the chocolate cake with a small scoop of vanilla icecream. The two having eaten the dessert got horribly sick the next day, bad stomach, vomiting etc. The two not having eaten the dessert did not suffer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Florian_A_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cozy little place, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nice, relaxed and personal decor, just my kind of place. Went here for lunch. I think lunch set menu is quite good value. Two of us ordered three lunch set menu and shared. We had quite a lot of food but we chatted and ate, had good time. Monday lunch time wasn't crowded Lamb skewer was good and so was chicken plate. Dessert was a small western cake and mismatched to the muslim Chinese food but something small and sweet at the end of a nice lunch was nice all the same. I will come back if I visit Shanghai again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megumi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xibo also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Xibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing