We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not authentic, more for tourist and foreigners”

Lost Heaven on the Bund
Ranked #14 of 16,906 Restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Yunnan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: The Bund
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not authentic, more for tourist and foreigners”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place is famous and pricey, with good atmosphere and decor. Good for entertaining visiting friends, but not the place for real Yunnan food. Locals in the know will head elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank towkaylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    574
    124
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, nice ambiance n great service”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Impressive ambiance, exotic oriental decor, would prefer lightings to be slightly brighter, it's too dark now, many patrons were using their mobile phone torch apps to see, food was very good but not excellent, waitresses were overall very polite n attentive, definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tpprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous find!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Prior to leaving for Shanghai from Australia, I had read the reviews and based on them, made a booking for dinner. We were not disappointed and it was a wonderful evening. The ambience, food, and service was excellent. We would thoroughly recommend. Hint: You need to make a booking, as it is very popular. We requested a table downstairs where it was quieter and were pleased that we did as it was hectic and noisy upstairs with so many people!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jellat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Level Contributor
177 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Terrific unique South China Yunnan food.”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Not to be confused with Hunan food, this restaurant specializes in Yunnan region food. Very unique ingredients, very well prepared. Dishes like tea leaves salad! Yum! Food is really good! Service is quite good. Decor is from Yunnan, with exceptional photographs of Yunnan. Me draw back is the main dining room is quite noisy. Be sure to make reservation even on weekdays. And because of its location on The Bund, hailing a taxi is very difficult with very few available. Be prepared, and patient,

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D_C_Exp_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I'm in Heaven!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Lost Heavan could possibly be my most favourite restaurant in Shanghai. I'm not sure of the authenticity of the food but I love the way the food has been prepared. Finely prepared, not a single dish is a chunk of meat or a bunch of vegetables quickly put together! Taste is well-balanced. Had the eggplant n tofu cold dish and the wild vegetable pancake for starters. I like the roast pork in banana leaf as it is a total surprise from what is expected of roast pork. As I said no chunks of meat but finely minced pork marinated with spice n herbs n roasted in banana leaf! Yums!

Decor is pleasant - a little too dark for the light challenged although there is stragically placed spotlight over every table! It would be strange to say this but a visit is not complete without a visit to the toilet! Go discover the interesting twist! (Don't worry, no indecent proposal involved, just good clean fun!)

I must say though, that i enjoy the cosiness of the Gaoyu Lu restaurant better than the one at the Bund. But Lost Heaven is a choice for me whenever I return to Shanghai!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cikgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost Heaven on the Bund also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Lost Heaven on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing