We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place in the center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Ranked #11 of 292 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Valencia, España
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place in the center”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It's located just behind Nanjing Road, maybe best area to stay in Shanghai. The rooms were nice, the staff was ok, just ok. The have a bar with western breakfasts, but price not very chinese. Perfect for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuiqueSenent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    60
    33
    7
    4
See reviews for
9
31
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the dormroom on the 5th floor. We had a very mixed experience in this hostel. I'll sum it up below:
positive: hostel looks very nice, plenty of room to sit and relax, pooltable, dvd-room, good showers, good food, good wifi, very nice beds (for Chinese standards), powerful aircon in the room, lockers, nightguard, excellent location.
negative: dirty bathrooms, overall not very clean, rude and unhelpful staff, almost no atmosphere.
It's really strange this hostel won a Hostelworld Cleanliness Award in April 2012, because the shared bathroom on the 5th floor was very dirty. Hairs everywhere, mold and slime in the corners of the showers, dirty towels laying around for days and days... Maybe they stopped cleaning after they got that award? The dormroom was pretty dusty, but the linen was very clean and the beds are quite new.
The staff was terrible though. Especially the lady at the reception, she was rude, uninterested and didn't want to spend one second longer than necessary talking to us. They were constantly playing with their mobile phones. They forgot our order twice because one of them was sleeping and the other was totally hypnotized by her phone.
The common room is full of people staring at screens, either their laptops, smartphones or the tv. This was kinda sad and I never experienced it this bad (I've been to dozens of hostels over the past couple of months).The only place where you could talk to some other people was outside with the smokers...
But, I would stay here again and I would recommend it, just because it's affordable, the sleep quality is good and the location is excellent.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mathieu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
137 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I will start out by saying I am not really a youth hostel person. This is my first one in five years so I don't have much to compare it to (it was chosen by a friend). The place seemed very lively--when I arrived well after midnight the lobby/check-in area was packed with young people drinking beers, hanging out, checking email, etc. The location is central if you are interested in being near Nanjing Road, the Bund, and People's Park. The subway stop was very close, making it easy to get around. Note that credit cards are not accepted so you should bring cash.

We stayed in a private room--actually one the "luxury" rooms, which was not what we intended, but when we checked in they didn't have the family room we had reserved. At first this was irritating, but I actually was happy not to get the family room; the one we saw was much smaller, and while we booked it for the convenience of having a second bed, the second "bed" was in fact a tiny, beat-up fold-out futon with no sheets on it.

The luxury room was large and pretty well-equipped, with a private bath... sheets, towels, A/C. No soap, so bring your own or buy it downstairs. The surfaces were pretty clean, but the sheets on the bed had odd stains and looked a bit worse for wear. (We didn't see any roaches in our room, though a traveling companion spotted a couple in the lobby). Wi-fi didn't reach our room most of the time, unfortunately, but we could use it in the lobby.

I will say that once you get into the more expensive private rooms at this hostel, it's not that great a value--you could get a cheap hotel room in Shanghai for the same or not much more, and it would have more amenities. However, the place definitely has some good points, and for those looking for a central hostel, it's not a bad choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiekins570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I was looking for a last-minute and cheap place to stay in Shanghai found this little gem off of Nanjing Road, and a few feet away from night vendors (awesome for late night munchies that cost as little as 1RMB).

The staff spoke enough English to be understood and to understand all words exchanged, and was pleasant.

The lobby was very cozy, and had a nice sense of community to it. It's equipped with wifi (the rooms, however are not) and a bar that serves alcoholic beverages, coffee, juice, and smoothies, which opens at 8:00 and closes at 23:00/11pm. It also provides you with two computers (requesting you use them for 30 minutes or less at a time) and they even sell hygienic tools (tooth brushes, and paste, etc.) as well as postcards, and plenty of travel books. They also have a pool table on the second floor.

I opted for a one-night's stay in the dormitory for 65RMB, and was pleased when I received my own sets of keys (some dorms I've been to only provide one key). The rooms were /very/ clean and equipped with an AC, and natural sunlight (at least mine was). Bathroom, shower, and sink are separated into another room than the beds. Sheets were spotless, pillows odorless, and the three other's I stayed with (the dorm fits six, fyi) were very courteous-this place brings good vibes. You have a cabinet that fits to your key for belongings, and the dorm has three bunk beds.

Check out is at 12:00/noon.
You may have to pay a 100RMB despot, which you'll get back at check out.
It's close to Nanjing Road, People Square, The Metro, and shopping for all budgets (malls and night vendors). The night view, just up the street, is breathtaking.
The lobby closes at 1am, but you are allowed to stay in after provided you won't get service.
The elevator functions from 8-23/11pm. This isn't really a problem unless you have a heavy load, and if you're on the 6th floor, you will need to walk a flight of stairs, as the elevator only goes to the 5th floor.
Saw many ages pass through, heard many romantic languages, Korean, English, and Mandarin while I was there.

Overall, it was perfect; Good atmosphere, clean, and provided a good deal of things, and I will be returning or trying their Hidden Garden location soon.

Room Tip: Although this place is good for on-the spot booking (seeing as it's a bit further down the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuuya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Was there twice with my friends. The place was cozy, neat, and very convenient. Located only walking distance from the Nanjing Road pedestrian street and People Square make it a great location. The underground metro station is also few minutes away (the East Nanjing Road Station). You can also walk to the famous river bank to see the night view of Shanghai.

The staff were really friendly and helpful. They can speak English well, so it's quite a relief for a non-mandarin spoken guest like me.

The only problem was during our 2nd stay. Me and my friends got bitten by bed bugs. Fyi, the rooms involved are the room no. 506 and the one opposite it. Hopefully the staff can do something about it.

Overall, it was great staying there. If there's any chance going Shanghai again will definitely book this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i3ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trebon, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Spending there 4 nights in May 2012 - twin room. Nothing to complain, size of cockroach in the bathroom suitable :-)
If you search the hotel, it is better to use underground stop East Nanjing road - it is closer then from Peoples park.
We had room in the third floor, they say wifi is broken, but I think they just want to keep people in the lobby to order some drinks, well, beer was cold and nice.
Location is really excellent, about 10 - 15 minutes to Bund, Pedestrian street about 5 minutes, Peoples park about 15-20 minutes.
If you need laundry - do it yourself, just ask front desk.
We booked in the fron desk early morning taxi to the Pudong airport - 200 yuan - perfect in time, just give room card to night guard and he will give you 100 Y back, no problem at all.
We had street window, so sometime night noise, but you can close it and use AC.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lhota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Returning to Shanghai for the second time while traveling through China for a month, myself and my buddy decided to change locations (being in Jing An before) and move closer to the Bund and riverside. We stayed at Mingtown Nanjing Road for 2 nights at 50 RMB per night (normally 55 but we are Hosteling International members) and found it to be nearly perfect! The hostel is a minute walk to Nanjing East subway station and pedestrian walk and less than a 5 minute walk to the Bund - a great position for those wanting a central location with transport, sights and food nearby.

Our room was a 6-bed dorm with lockers, bedside shelf and lamp. There were several bathrooms on our floor to be used and they always seemed to be vacant as well as clean with 24 hr hot water. There is nice common, self-service kitchen with a fridge, microwave, stove and plenty of cooking equipment, which we found a great help. Mingtown Hostel also has fast wifi that reaches the room and a pool table.

The service was top notch, with the staff always being very helpful with writing things out in Chinese to make our lives easier and when my friend lost his phone on the street, the guy at reception was fantastic with helping us track it down and even spoke to the guy who found the phone in Chinese to help us meet up the same night! The only negative thing I have to comment on was the noise in the morning. Our room was along the street and there was a hefty amount of loud traffic in the morning that woke me up several times. Regarding food, the restaurant downstairs we found to be a bit too expensive but discovered at night there are some amazing and cheap dumpling and fried noodles/rice street-vendors at the intersection near the hostel - definitely worth checking out!

Overall, we are very happy with our time at Mingtown Nanjing Road Hostel and would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone heading over to Shanghai in need of cheap, and great value accommodation! Thanks.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room away from the main road for a more comfortable sleep-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaimeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#46 of 4,997 in Shanghai
776 reviews
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#34 of 4,997 in Shanghai
971 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#59 of 4,997 in Shanghai
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 4,997 in Shanghai
2,476 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
Zhongshan Park
Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Property: Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Address: No.258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 292 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing