We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learned something”

Shanghai Jewish Refugees Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.00*
and up
Tour of Jewish Shanghai led by a Jewish History Expert
Ranked #18 of 1,316 things to do in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Shanghai Jewish Refugees Museum contains the site of one of only two synagogues in Shanghai, the Ohel Moshe Synagogue, along with two exhibition halls. Volunteers offer informative tours of the museum.
New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Learned something”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We never knew that the Chinese saved over 20,000 Jews by issuing Visas and settling them in Shanghai. Manynew facts learned despite visiting Dachu and Berlin. The metro stop is Dailan on the purple line or the number 4. Walk out on Changyang Road and it is at most a ten minute walk. Make sure you walk up to the third floor of the synogague. There are tours but you can do it on your own and learn new history.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandie-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    167
    31
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Jewish in Shanghai”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

It was nice to see old photos of jewish folks in Shanghai, the video is very good, the actual museum it's not that impressive, you can do the whole thing in 30 min max, from a history perspective its good to see that Shanghai was the only city with no restrictions (in the amount of jewish accepted at the time of the war)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nala1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A must go for every Shanghai visitor”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Before I went to see this museum I never knew there were the Jewish refugees in China. And I consider myself very informed on WWII and the Holocaust. The story is amazing and would be a great movie idea for Spielberg.. Visiting the museum really made me see the Chinese people in a different light. The entrance fee is 50RMB and it is well worth it. It includes an English speaking guide, and since there were no other guests but us, we received a private tour. The guide was quite knowledgeable and answered most of my questions. He also explained to us how to get to the Jewish park after the museum visit. Definitely a must go and bring your kids.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank elko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!!!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a place all must visit. Show how those in Shanghai helped those needing refugee status during WW2 - very nicely presented and our private tour guide was great!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank upnadam12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“small, but interesting Museum and neighbourhood”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The museum is fairly small but has some interesting areas and rooms about Jewish refugees in Shanghai, with some touching personal stories, upstairs is dedicated to facts about the Holocaust. The surrounding neighbourhood and park, the former Jewish refugees quarter, are interesting to walk around to see the architecture. museum costs about 50 rmb, so not cheap, but a tour guide is included. i bit off the beaten track but an interesting insight into a part of Shanghai history.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pichis83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Jewish Refugees Museum also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shanghai Jewish Refugees Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing