We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonable priced food in a cozy location”

Kervan Orient Express
Ranked #166 of 16,906 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: People’s Square
Description: About Kervan Orient Express and ServicesThe popularity of Kervan Orient Express Cuisine is due to the quality of the food, affordable prices and the generosity of its owners. Our menu has grown to include more vegetarian and sea food dishes. Main dishes are served on a heap of buttery rice with grilled tomatoes, peppers and onions. Tasty Mezze and salads are ideal for lunch as is the hearty lentil soup. Kervan Orient Express also serves more conventional fare, like a sparkling array of dips and spreads with puffy bread, and the usual chops and kebabs. The service is so pleasant, you will want to linger over desserts such as baklava or milk pudding, chocolate cake and strong Turkish coffee. Our ambitious menu offers a Grand Bazaar's worth of Turkey's culinary riches, from the our signature lahmacun (pita pizzas) and pide (stuffed breads) to an enormous array of meze, appetizers hot and cold. Still hungry? Explore a wealth of kebabs, a luxury of lamb and surplus of seafood dishes like yellow fish. We offer great food, great service and very reasonable prices. Delivery Service offered. Private Room is available. And you can consider Kervan Orient Express cuisine for your next catering event as well.
Jinan, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“reasonable priced food in a cozy location”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had the Meze plate which is really reasonably priced with 95 RMB for 9 little starters. It comes with turkish bread... we also enjoyed the chicken diner plate with rice which is huge if you had a starter....
At around 7:20 pm they started an amazing belly dance...worth watching!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Philipp_Jinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    38
    12
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience at Kervan”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Excellent turkish food (I recommend the meze's and mixed grill), pleasant surroundings and relaxed atmosphere. Provides an interesting alternative to Chinese and Western cuisine restaurants in this part of Shanghai. Just around the corner from the Yangtze hotel where we were stayed. Not without faults (service a bit dozy at times, limited choice of wines by the glass, although the one I had was very nice). Was able to buy some pearls for my wife on the way out from a tasteful selection of jewellery. Charming host/owner. Would certainly go again next time I'm in Shanghai.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank saintaubyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We were greeted by the most charming young hostess who was so helpful all night. The wine was pleasant and the food was reasonable but the price was outrageous for what was served. I guess if you're desperate for something other than Chinese it will seem reasonable. We come from a country where good fresh Turkish food is reasonably priced and this is far too expensive for what you get. To make it even worse, the owner was sitting in the nicest part of the restaurant having dinner alone and everyone else was squeezed into the ground floor level with no atmosphere and very bland decor. The reason we saw the rest of the restaurant is because we had to climb to the third floor to use the toilet. What a joke! I feel sorry for the lovely woman who greeted us who has to explain to people why they have to climb two flights of stairs to get to the toilet only to find the owner sitting alone having a private meal in the best part of the restaurant.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustihaveone
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good, generally tasty, friendly staff”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Being vegetarian, I go here often during my Shanghai visits. The staff is friendly, many speak English, and the menu is pretty extensive. I can't speak to the main draw, which is presumably the meat. But I make do with the meat free starters and salads etc.

Drawbacks:
1. Consistency: the first time i had the aubergine ratatouille, it was horrendous, like shredded eggplant in vinegar. The second time, it was nice like babaganoush and the third time it was absolutely wonderful. Similarly, the hummus has sometimes been great, sometime like flour and water.

2. Bread: they serve some kind of white-flour, leavened bread about an inch thick. Maybe this IS authentic turkish bread, but a pita-like break would be a nice option to have.

3. Pricey: not necessarily for business travellers like me, but it surely must be pretty high-end for China. My colleague and I had a salad each, and we ordered 2-3 cold starters and juice (no alcohol) and it all set us back nearly 400 Yuan.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mustihaveone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice food and ambience”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Very nice oriental decoration, smell and global ambience in this restaurant. The food was good, the staff very professional and speaking good English. Prices are reasonable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kervan Orient Express also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Kervan Orient Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing