We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far below what it should be”

AiLi JueShi Restaurant
Ranked #306 of 16,962 Restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Bund
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Far below what it should be”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The setting is nice, even very nice, the view is great. The service had a few misses but was friendly at least, perhaps slightly to off the cuff but still ok. The food however was pathetic for a place like the Peninsula. First impressions are created by presentation. Even small little restaurants nowadays manage great presentation so one would have thought that a place belonging to the Peninsula should also be able to do so. Unfortunately, most dishes look like they come from a third rank restaurant in the 70s. The presentation is old fashioned and, worse, similar across different courses (I had the violet flower at least three times in a five course meal). Now coming to the taste, except for the amuse, all dishes were way too salty. My main course, a fish and my partner's main course, beef, were both dried out as if they had been left for too long under the heat lamp of a fast food restaurant. The course before, was again a fish dish, smelled and tasted of gas, as if the crust was created by a gas flame rather than under the grill. The apricot dessert was too grainy and had a muddy taste. I had a nice evening because of the company, the setting and acceptable service but, sadly, certainly not because of the food quality.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spechtje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    18
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive!!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Should have known when the place was half empty on a Friday night. Although the food was very good, nothing can justify the pricing. Save your money and go to Mr. & Mrs. Bund or Lost Heaven.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterL565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Something at the Peninsula shouldn't be average”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

At here for dinner recently.

--the view is nice
--the service is good for the most part

But the food... average. And the Peninsula, nothing should be average.

Beef was bland. I wish I had loads of dipping sauce to get rid of the blandness. A salmon appetizer was ok-- not amazing and not bad. Desert-- I rarely wince at desert when I am eating it and I was wincing a lot. Didn't finish... just not my liking.

Unlike a previous reviewer I think the service is quite good and just about up to Peninsula standard. Where I think it fails is when the staff describe the dishes... I think they don't know what they are saying-- very robotic and memorized and when you question them ("what is this again?").... they stammer, stutter and leave, and someone else has to come to your table. At other times, they just are not clear-- learn to annunciate.

There are 2 restaurants across the street from the hotel, one on the west side (Otto 8 1/2, Italian) and one on the south side (Imperial Treasure- dim sum). Both of those restaurants are fantastic food, as are many others on the Bund a short walk away. There is no need to go to Sir Elly's. For the money spent, have an amazing meal elsewhere (or at least better than average!)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maldives44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service poor”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Complained about the taste of pate to be informed it was made the day before and nothing wrong with it.

Will not visit again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dawn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Had lunch here on a recent visit, beautiful decor. Excellent service and food was delicious. As you are on the 13th floor there is a great view of the bund.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DPCosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AiLi JueShi Restaurant also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to AiLi JueShi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing