We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great!”

Cha Restaurant (Si South Road)
Ranked #272 of 16,926 Restaurants in Shanghai
Neighborhood: Former French Concession
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Former French Concession
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always great!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This place might be a little shabby and loud, but my goodness, it's sooo good!! What you get for the price you pay is TOTALLY worth it, even if you have to wait. What we normally do is go during the off peak hours so we never have to wait. It's so delicious!! Must try the Kaya and or peanut butter toast as a dessert...mouth is watering just thinking about it =)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhy0719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    25
    8
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“NOT worth the long wait.”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The food was OK. But definitely not worth waiting 45 mins for.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jApdoLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local Favourite”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Shanghai favorite, always huge lines. They close at 1:30 on saturday night, best to go after 9pm if you don't want to wait too long.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jonathon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The food is worth the wait”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Since I don't live or work in the area, I usually eat at Cha's when I pass by the neighborhood or on weekends; which is not such a good idea as the restaurant, probably, is at its busiest (over an hour wait depending on when you go). But hey, some (I) would say it's a good sign.

Some people associate HK food with dim sum; if you expect to find these delicacies at Cha's, don't go. If you have a craving for Cantonese-style noodles, fried rice, any kind of roasted meats and vegetables, then yes, Cha's is the right spot. The menu offers lots of choices; even if I like to try new dishes, I have my preferences; you guys must try the fried sticky rice with mushroom and sausage, the tofu with chicken and salty fish, the deep-fried chicken wings, the x.o. sauce marble beef noodles... Also, forget about Coke, Sprite, or whatever sodas; what you need is a HK drink to complete your food order: order the traditional milk tea. And be sure to mention "traditional", which is the one that comes with milk-tea ice cubes (I think it is the #04 drink on the list).

The price-range is very affordable, especially for this quality of food. The menu is easy to read, with both Chinese and English and numbered dishes, which makes it easier to order. They even serve Western food such as pastas and sandwiches, which taste ok, but obviously not the main reason you go to Cha's. The don't take any afternoon break, it's all-day service and as I remember, they are open until 2 am. It is very well-located and accessible, and there is a terrific chocolate place called Hof right next to it, perfect for a desert if you still have room (I am writing a review this one too).
Don't mind the sloppy-looking waiters and waitresses, because they are usually efficient and fast on the serving. And because of its popularity and people lining up, they will make you share your table with some random people; I love the casual attitude of this. If you mind the wait and sharing tables, they also do take-outs.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Go in the late afternoon to beat the crowds”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

They say this restaurant is in the style of Hong Kong cafes in the 1950s. I wasn't in HK in the 50s, so I can't vouch for that. But the food here is outstanding.

We had braised pork belly with preserved vegetables, Singapore-style fried vermicelli, and shrimp toast. All were memorably great.

Important tip: this place is very popular, and it doesn't take reservations. At peak mealtimes, there are reportedly lines down the block. One day we ate a large and late-ish breakfast, then spent the noon/early afternoon hours touring around. We went to Cha's at 3:30 pm and walked right in. Definitely the way to go.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cha Restaurant (Si South Road) also viewed

 

Been to Cha Restaurant (Si South Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing