We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular!”
Review of Madison

Madison
Ranked #2,053 of 16,925 Restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: $29 - $73
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Former French Concession
Description: Madison restaurant was conceived with a very simple mantra in mind. Incredible New American cuisine coupled with pro-active sourcing, a diverse and dynamic wine list, and five star service without pretension.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Love the brunch, and lunch here. Every dish I have tried here is spectacular. Scotch eggs are only available at the weekend but I wish they were available all the time! Bacon and caramel popcorn, wow! Burgers are out of this world. Love love love this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sightsmellsounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    19
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
177 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great place for homesick Westerners!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Had lunch at the bar. Excellent choice of draught beer and wine by the glass.

Very nice gastropub type of menu. Nice mix of soups, salads, sandwiches and comfort food. Salad was great and the fries the best I've had in China.

Service was efficient and Shanghai style friendly.

Short walk from S. Shaanxi Rd. station.

Will return frequently.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seattleflyer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh & Locally sourced ingredients. Fine dining with a home cooked flair.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Shanghai needs more places like Madison!
Great for brunch, I've yet to try their dinner menu but will definitely do so next time I'm in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sunny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap and good western meal in SH”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This restaurant been in my "to try list" for long, finally tried it last night. Decor is simple, service is nice, but as there is only 2 staffs, so service a bit slow but still okay. 2 of us we order 3 dishs, burger with midium rare is prefectly cooked and taste good, just a bit too salty. pan fries goose live again is prefectly cook, just not like the berry sauce that much, and the fat fries with duck gravy and cheese sauce, wow it was amazing!!! I am big fan of fat fries and the dips at the side were amazing!!!! just the fries was a bit over cook and some of them become too oily, but overall still taste good, and price is reasonable. Sure will come back again to try their famous brunch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cyrus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent meal. Would recommend”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Myself and a work colleague went here on a word-of-mouth recommendation. It was a great idea. I had the Asparagus salad with goats cheese and the Tortellini pasta dis for a main. Overall I was absolutely delighted with both courses. The food was excellent. It wasn't very busy on the night {A Tuesday evening} which took from the overall atmosphere a little but the staff were very helpful and added to the experience. Stephen in the restaurant was a great guy.
One issue I found odd was the serving of the cocktails. Each cocktail has its own unique presentation glass. I was less enthused about this and found it a bit gimmicky. A normal cocktail glass would have been fine.
That being said I will definitely return as it was one of the better meals I have had in Shanghai in a few years.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shylock101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing