We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Turkey Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madison

Madison
Ranked #1,826 of 16,842 Restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: $29 - $73
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Former French Concession
Description: Madison restaurant was conceived with a very simple mantra in mind. Incredible New American cuisine coupled with pro-active sourcing, a diverse and dynamic wine list, and five star service without pretension.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Turkey Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

A group of 15 of us are currently sitting in Madison, and we unanimously agree that we just had the best turkey every, no matter if a thanksgiving or Christmas dinner, or where in the world. The Irishmen say "the best d... turkey EVER, would get up in the middle of the night for it!!!"

So, no matter if you like white or dark meat, it was juicy and succulent - the citrus apparently does the trick. The stuffing was the best we've every had. We can't agree what was next best after the bird, some say the super creamy, chive Mashed potatoe - once again the Irishmen commented it was the taste of home! The bean salad was crispy, the gravy bacon studded, the sprouts were a perfect balance between tangy, creamy and smokey. The cranberry were ginger and orange infused. All topped off with alight and fluffy pumpkin pie with bourbon cream!!

As with all good holiday meals we are stuffed to the max and very happy celebrating in a family environment!

Can not recommend Sunday Suppers enough!!!

Helpful?
Thank TravelingHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    19
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“YUM - best brunch i have had in ages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Austin Hu has really done it this time. I have only been here for BRUNCH so far and if brunch is any indication of the rest of his cuisine, get ready teeth, watch out gums, tummy all ready cuz here it comes

the scotch eggs were awesome as was each dish which was carefully prepared and had the touch one would hope for from a kitchen of such magnitude that it completely makes me jealous! we shared everything, had almost the entire brunch menu and it was all spot on, although the benny could have been more runny, but if that is the biggest complaint, pffffffffft

i'm going back and with a possee as this is the type of place to order family style and throw down

keep it up Austin and Garrett! looking forward to coming back for more

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank unkleriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All i have to say is WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

After waiting what felt like forever for it to reopen after renovations i finally have been... I enjoyed the brunch here so much, it might possibly have been one of the best Eggs Benedict I have had, served with an XO hollandaise and pork trotter. Albeit slightly small.. and don't miss the Brioche french toast stuffed with caramelized bananas! mmhmmmm. great value for money.
It is also refreshing to see the owner/chef there and greeting guests, seems like a nice chap.
Will definitely be back, my mouth is watering just thinking about it!

Without a doubt best brunch destination in shanghai!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SSSBBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Fine Culinary Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Madison has moved to 3 Fenyang Lu, Building 2.

Quality of food was excellent, very fine food and the presentation understated, allowing the (organic) flavors to speak for itself. EVERY dish we had was 'delicious' which included the foie gras, fig salad, pasta, and fish, followed by cheese cake and their speciality, the apple tart. Deliciously crisp, light, and topped with fresh vanilla ice cream. Try their desert wine.

They now have a new tastefully designed minimalist dining room where the service was professional and attentive (to details). The only area for improvement is the 'inconsistency' of service between the front-of-house vs. back-of-house.
The kitchen staff must learn to work quietly....often their loud voices discounted any ambience created in the dining area. A definite fan and we're sure to return.

Helpful?
Thank Naliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
2 reviews
“Madison, American food inspired menu in Shanghai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Madison restaurant 3 Fenyang Road Building #2 near Huaihai Zhong Road in French area.This was our first time to eat at Madison and it was fantastic. We were a little confused when we first arrived in a cab because the restaurant is set back off the street almost behind the Howard Johnson Hotel which is under construction. Four of us had home made biscuits with chorizo gravy,house made sausage with ground mustard, tomato soup with grilled cheese croutons, duck eggs with tripe, French toast with bananas and blueberry confit,house made sweet rolls.bacon and egg sandwich, eggs house made English muffins, cheese bread,hamburger with French fries like we had never eaten before. First the potatoes were mashed and then shaped into French fry shape and fried! Insanely delicious !II We met Austin the owner chef , who was born in Shanghai.
He grew up in the US and trained with great chefs. The prices were really reasonable. If we lived here this would be one of my favorite regular restaurants. He is just opening a room there for dinners too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank erm2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing