We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place ! You've just got to sip a cocktail & listen to the Jazz band !”

Jazz Club at the Peace Hotel
Book In Advance
More Info
$165.00*
and up
Shanghai Luxury Dinner and Nightlife Experience including Lost Heaven and Bar...
Ranked #4 of 88 Nightlife in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a great place ! You've just got to sip a cocktail & listen to the Jazz band !”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Our friend took us to the Peace hotel and we sat and listened to the Jazz band. Sipped cocktails & had a wonderful evening. A great experience. Check out the artwork in the foyer too !

Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    36
    12
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't go for the Music”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Beautiful small bar at the Peace Hotel promises live Jazz by a group of very senior musicians every day at 7:30. The music was old and tired and barely recognizable but worth the cover charge to sit and have a nice drink in this historical setting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SusanKNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great jazz and smoke free to boot!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Dropped by on a Saturday night in October. There was no cover charge (the policy may have changed since the earlier April review below … perhaps that review changed things). The place was packed, and the band really knew their stuff. Tons of people taking vacation shot photos of the band, and even with the band (they were pretty good sports about it).

Since I was a party of one, I sat at the bar. Price for a small bottle of beer was 85 RMB, pricey perhaps, but more than fair since it paid for the band. I was not pressured to hurry along and order another round. Mixed drinks and wine will cost you more, and you can really run up your bill if you want, but you don't have to.

The band started their set earlier than I was told to expect. I arrived at 7:20 (for a 7:30 show time), but they were already into the first set.

The hotel, including the jazz bar, is smoke free, which made for an amazing evening for me, a non smoker. This is a great spot if you like jazz.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry-of-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanstead Abbotts, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Top class Jazz and free entry!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This has to one of the best value night spots in Shanghai - given that entry is free! The bar food is expensive, but still less than you would expect to pay to get into a club!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Extraordinary!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Def not the youngest band playing the last couple of sat evenings but superb jazz. Drinks pricey but worth it to support these guys. Not sure what the review above means about not being able to drink what we wanted. We had vodka and tonic, wine and lager.

Helpful?
Thank Gouldie1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jazz Club at the Peace Hotel also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Jazz Club at the Peace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing