We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, especially if you need an American meal fix, but not a great meal”

New York Style Steak and Burger
Ranked #153 of 16,926 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Former French Concession
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice, especially if you need an American meal fix, but not a great meal”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The food was prepared as it should be, no frills and correct flavor. The service was courteous. However, nothing excelled (save the onion tower) and the hamburger bun had a distinct defrosted flavor. We needed some familiar-tasting meat, and we got it. However, this place does not measure up to the mid-range places in the US or Europe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liluaidez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    49
    19
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali
Level Contributor
181 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excellent burger!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

First, a small warning. This place is NOT easy to find. Tianzifang is a bit of a maze to begin with, and this one is tucked in a little hidden corner.

But let's talk about the food. The 4 of us had different burgers and each came out a winner! The meat was juicy and succulent and the side order of onion rings was to die for! The fries are a tad of a let down, but don't let deter you. The burgers here are worth the extra calories!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Louis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Burger in Shanghai”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Located in the maze of shops, restaurants and bars in Tianzifang, this restaurant serves a good selection of gourmet burgers at very reasonable prices. Drink prices are not as reasonable though. The interior is clean and they have 3 floors for seating. The reception can be a little frosty depending on who is at the front desk, but once you get past that the meal should be very pleasant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattausMuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Nothing Beats USDA Certified Corn Fed T-Bone Grilled to Perfection”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I've lived in Shanghai since 2008 and didn't realize there was such an authentic US steak place tucked away in the heart of Puxi @ Tienzhifang. We ordered the corn fed USDA certified T-Bone and strip sirloin steaks -- grilled to perfection. The Manhattan clam chowder was mediocre, but the mushroom soup was worth coming back for more. There's also a good selection of wines. It's popular, so make sure to book ahead. Overall a very delightful dining experience and needless to say, we'll be back for more! Bon appetite! ^.^

Helpful?
Thank Naliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nothing to rush there for”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

the place is first not easy to find its set back at the far end of a pedestrian hutong style shopping area. As you walk in you may be unlucky as i was and sit downstairs this is a small area where the reception bar and service area is so quite cramped and not peaceful as telephone rings constantly, outside orders picked up and dirty plates passing by, so try to sit upstairs.
The drinks are quite expensive house wine around 7-8 dollars small glass and a small beer around 4 dollars.
the food, i ordered as a starter the onion rings the portion was huge feed 4 people or more easy but sadly was quite greasy. For the main meal i ordered the 18 ounze centre cut ribeye medium rare it was nicely cooked but about 30% of it was big chunks of fat ,not marbling but just hunks of fat. When i pointed it out to the waiter he shrugged and said thats sometimes how it s delivered !. The steak was 60 dollars so paying 20 dollars for something you couldnt eat seemed expensive. i wanted another glass of wine but at this point they had had enough of my money and left.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Style Steak and Burger also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to New York Style Steak and Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing