We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Paying for the ambience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shook!

Shook!
Ranked #138 of 13,919 Restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: $67 - $82
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Paying for the ambience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Located across the BUND in a old colonial building. Food was so so nothing spectacular. It is the view and ambience you are paying for.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheMartians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    68
    33
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Super Value Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Went here for a mid week lunch with a group of friends. Booked online. We ordered from the specail set lunch at 88rmb. I had the Ceaser Salad and the chicken. Excellent value and good sized portions. The presentation and taste were excellent. Very satisfying!! I was very happy with the food and the value of the food. I also had a dessert for an extra 38rmb. However, watch out for the drinks. We had 2 bottles of water and these were almost 100rmb each! A friend had a glass of wine and this was 138rmb for 1 glass! Overall a great destination for a great value lunch in a lovely setting, just be careful what you drink!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anafonitria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great food, wonderful atmosphere, attentive staff! Lovely rooftop area with view of Bund. Prices are a little steep, but worth it for a special occasion. Book well in advance for the cosy table for two at the window.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food overlooking the Bund in Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A delicious meal for sure. The staff was very attentive to all of our needs. I love to eat in an open kitchen atmosphere and the Chef was there to greet us and to talk to us about our meal. It is a bit pricey but well worth the experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgerpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
146 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was a bit apprehensive since I had heard some negative comments about this restaurant. I am glad that we went there inspite of that.
The evening was perfect. We were a group of about 14 people and were given a nice round table in a nice nook of the restaurant with a great view of the Bund. The food and wines were excellent and the waiters very attentive, polite and knowledgeable. This is not always the case at some of the other comparable restaurants in Shanghai.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jetsetrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shook! also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shook!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing