We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed at the 4-people dorm for 2 weeks in this hostel. There's only 1 locker for each person so you need to occupy extra floor space in the room for baggage. Luckily I only got 2 bags with me so it's fine, otherwise I have to ''compete'' with other people in my room who seem to live here for longer.

Bedding is clean and the duvet is warm enough. Quite happy to find it quite clean since budget travelers ask for nothing more than a clean and nice place to sleep. Public area such as the bathroom and toilets are quite clean surprisingly. I think they clean it everyday. Hot water is ok as long as you do not bath at ''peak'' hours. 9am in the morning or 8pm at night is OK. There's radiator (air conditioner) in each room so it's quite warm. The lounge is a very nice place to social if one wants to meet new friends and chat.

One needs a room card to get into his/her own room. I feel quite safe in the hostel.

You will need earplugs to sleep, if you're a lightsleeper. Don't expect too much from hostel. People chat and shout at nights and in early morning.

THey reply email quite efficiently. Very appreciated.

The only 2 things that you may find annyoing:
(1) Wifi is ok but not exceptionally great.
(2) The location is a bit tricky to find. I would suggest others to search for Wu Yi Road 551. The hostel is located in the small lane opposite to Wu Yi Road 551. It's easier to locate than finding Zhao Hua Road as the hostel address suggests.

Room Tip: You pay for what you get. So....4 people dorm may be better than 6 peopple and 8 people dorm...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 287 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed in a deluxe double room for two nights - the room was large and clean, and the bed was comfy. Having a proper shower area (as opposed to a "wet room" bathroom) was good and daily change of towels was a nice touch. The communal area of the hostel is really nice - great sitting room and nice garden/pond outside. Location is a little away from the main sights but an easy metro ride away so not a problem. Great for travelling to/from SHA airport. Unfortunately this otherwise great hostel was let down by very very slow internet access and only luke-warm hot water.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Place was easy to find using the subway from airport, no need for taxi. It had the best atmosphere of the 3 Hostels I stayed in in Shanghai... lots of room to relax in common area, lots of couches, chairs, tables, a bar, a water garden. Neighborhood is sketchy but safe, great to walk around explore. Rooms are a little tight, had mouse poop under my bed. Common bathrooms on each floor. Very helpful staff, beer is cheap at the bar, Shower stalls on third floor, a little tight fit. Four floors in this Hostel, no elevator..Metro was a 10+ minute walk or so..There are a couple of computers by the reception desk if you wanna check your email or skype..but there's almost always someone using them. I enjoyed myself while staying here.”

Room Tip: Get a lower floor room if you can...no elevator in this place
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badmedicine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Usualy we don't like so huge Hostels but because of the price and the reviews we decided to book this Hostel and we didn't regret it. The staff was very nice and very helpful. Because of the spacious Area we got a place to put our bicycles. When we had to pack them for the transport the staff helped us out with all different things we needed. The room was ok. Not very big and medium clean, as well the toilets and washrooms but for the price still very good. We met a lot of nice people there and we can recommend it to other guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanapaese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2013. It was a great place to stay! The rooms were clean and comfy and the staff were there to help. Many chinese people do stay at this hostel too which is different to most hostel I have stayed at. I was on the top (4th) floor and it was quiet but there is no elevator so you do have to walk a bit. It is relatively close to the subway (5 minute walk) and the subway is very simple to get to wherever you want to go. So if you are concerned about location, don't be!

note: Taxi ride from the Maglev should only be 60-70 Yuan! They will try to get you to pay more so do try to get it down to a reasonable price. Hope this helps!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank Cogper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

First off, the staff were EXTREMELY helpful - they spoke fantastic English, and helped us organise train tickets to Beijing.

The location is fine, as long as one is happy getting the metro/taxis everywhere. Remember the last metro is before midnight.

The shower was great and the room was clean.

However, the beds are slightly uncomfortable - not great after a day of walking.

Also (and this is our main gripe), as the whole place is tiled, sounds transmit really well. Which is a pain if one is trying to sleep whilst people are playing pool downstairs.

Maybe we were unlucky. But we were on the 3rd floor, and the noise kept us awake until 3am.

Apart from this, the hostel was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbarkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Staff were very helpful and the hostel was safe and clean. If you plan to spend time in your room, up grade for a few RMB a night because some of the private double rooms are very small and the windows open into the hall. A bit difficult to find, so read the map to the letter follow the instructions , you should be fine. The hostel is close to an interesting ECO park where there are all sorts of activities including dancing in the square at night. Bar and lounge are wonderful and there are all sorts of people to talk to.

Room Tip: Bathroom in basic double was up dated and clean.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadianelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#62 of 5,111 in Shanghai
604 reviews
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#12 of 5,111 in Shanghai
1,538 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)
People’s Square
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Dapuqiao
Shanghai Blue Mountain Youth Hostel Luwan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel

Address: No.278 Lane 615, Zhaohua Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200050, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 322 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range: $12 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rock&Wood hostel is trying to be the best one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock & Wood International Youth Hotel Shanghai
Rock And Wood International Youth Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing