We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanghai Lander-Day Tour

Shanghai Lander-Day Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.00*
and up
3-hour Shanghai Bund and Breakfast Tour
Ranked #11 of 105 Tours in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shanghai Lander is operated by professional Shanghai tour guides and local experts. We offer destination management and private sightseeing tours based in Shanghai of China. We would like to share the real city with you, new landers in Shanghai.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Found Shanghai Lander on Tripadvisor and Annie Guo was our guide for our day trip from Shanghai to Suzhou and Tongli. We had a small group-sister, brother-in-law, nephew and myself which was nice because it was personalized and we could ask as many questions and go at our own speed. I would highly recommend Annie as a guide. Her English was wonderful, she was very interesting and had a good sense of humor. We would definitely use her services again if ever in Shanghai again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank chloebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    26
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tour guide excelence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Annie arranged collection and delivery to/from the airport and accompanied us for two days of sightseeing, shopping and guidance in all matters Shanghai.

She was excellent in every way, totally recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank gerryepUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“It's amazing. Annie Guo is also a good guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

I am a chinese but don't speak Mandarin. And my friend is a Canadian. Due to we don't know anyone in shanghai and chinese government changed its traveler visa rule. So we decided to hire a tour guide. I found shanghai lander from TripAdvisor. At first I had doubts. But shanghai lander was so helpful. They didn't ask for any money up front and wrote me a invitation letter. They also assigned the tour guide right away and I didn't have to worry about money transaction nor tour guide wouldn't show up.

I have been to shanghai and west lake. But this time Annie the guide showed me places I never been before. She was so helpful. She listened to our needs. We set our own pace. And she never pushed nor took us to those shopping traps.

We had a very nice time. The only thing that we walked a lot. Comfortable sneakers and not carrying bulky bags are the tricks to travel around in shanghai. Just like anywhere else in the world, be aware of pickpockets. We had great time

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnny_lambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Walking Tour of Shanghai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Arrived night time in Shanghai and organised a walking tour to start the following morning. Best decision we made as the language barrier is difficult and our guide showed us our to use the Metro system, explained it perfectly, so well that we used this on our own for the rest of our stay. Showed us Xi Tang Road, Confusious Temple, old French area and the bird, fish and insect market. June wasn't available the day of our tour, I have never meet her but we had Shine who works for her and I think we hit the jackpot. His English, knowledge of the area, the little things he pointed out on the walk he knew we would find interesting and told us this about costs of living ie. AUD$15,000 just the put a car on the road, cost of housing, size etc. all round awesome guide and so polite, warned us before we went to the insect market (which was our choice to add to tour) that we might not like this, some people find it confronting and are we sure before we went in. Highly recommend a walking tour to start your adventure and ask for Shine.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lozzyj1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ewen, New York
Level Contributor
220 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Great private tour in Shanghai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were going on a 2+ week river cruise with only 1 day in Shanghai. Decided there was so much more to see in Shanghai that we would miss, so decided to spend 2 days prior to the trip in Shanghai on our own. Looking on Tripadvisor for a private tour, we found Jean Liu with Shanghai Lander. After 2 emails with her telling her what we would see with the river cruise folks and what we wanted, she put together a 2 day tour with private driver that hit all our "must sees" and would not repeat anything we would later see.

Our local guide, Annie, met us as scheduled with driver parked right in front of the hotel with plenty of water in the car. Off we went to all the places we had arranged. Annie was very knowledgeable and fun to be with. Her knowledge of the area was amazing. There was no question she couldn't answer. Annie took us to 2 local restaurants for lunch and explained what everything was we ordered and our first tries at Chinese style, lazy Susan dining. Worked out great. She even pointed us to a couple of local street vendors she trusted to try some local food, like fried chicken hearts. They were very good. As time permitted, she also added a couple of other things to see the like "marriage market", which was very interesting. Annie was a great guide with a good command of English.

Jean also arranged seats for the ERA acrobat show and had the driver drop us off there and told us exactly how to get a real cab back to the hotel. She also gave us the hotel name in Chinese which is important to have. After our second day, she also arranged to have the driver drop us at the hotel the river cruise had arranged across the Bund. All these not only made things convenient, but saved us time and money doing the transfers ourselves.

Leading up to our trip, I emailed Jean many times with various questions, some about the trip, and others about general info for Shanghai, and answers were always prompt, complete and always willing to help us out.

Our private tour worked out better than I could have expected, as well as very reasonably priced. Jean and Annie made our trip a gem to remember for a long time. Thanks to both of them.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank donutking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Lander-Day Tour also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shanghai Lander-Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing