We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knowladgable and time saving”

Shanghai Lander-Day Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
3 Hours Shanghai Old Town Walking Tour
More Info
$68.00*
and up
3-hour Shanghai Bund and Breakfast Tour
More Info
$68.00*
and up
3-Hour Walking Tour: Old Town Morning With Authentic Shanghainese Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 118 Tours in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shanghai Lander is operated by professional Shanghai tour guides and local experts. We offer destination management and private sightseeing tours based in Shanghai of China. We would like to share the real city with you, new landers in Shanghai.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Knowladgable and time saving”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Our guide was Aron. He met us at our hotel on time, we took the subway all over, its very clean, safe and easy to understand how to get around. We visited the Bund, a Buddhist Temple, the Shanghai Museum, the pearl market and the old Shanghai area. I strongly recommend you hiring a guide for a Shanghai Visit ... this was not the first time I visited Shanghai and had not discovered so much. Aron took us straight to the right Tea House where we got the "tea demo" then took us straight to a Silk shop that explains how silk is harvested, he was always there to explain it all, at the pearl market a girl opened a live clam with a pearl in it and explained how to differentiate between fake and real pearls ... he was very knowledgeable about the history of Shanghai. The fact that we did not waste time in uninteresting stores or venues gave us enough time to go shopping for gifts later. We walked and took the subway all day. I would use their service in the future and recommend you do also.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank SalesBoyRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    26
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience! Highly recommend and will seek Jean out again”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Jean is one of the most professional and knowledgable guides we have ever used, truly exceptional! She really made our trip to Shanghai come alive. My husband and I were finishing a cruise from Singapore to Shanghai and booked Jean to help us navigate the city. We saw all the major sights, had some wonderful meals, and shopped till we dropped.She was very efficient in handling transportation and sensing our interests and adapting the itinerary. Her command of the English language is superb and her enthusiasm for her city is contagious. I have already recommended her to several friends. We feel we have made a new friend in Shanghai. You can really relax when you book Jean and then enjoy the city.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank time2travel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We hired Jean for 2 days and it was the best money we spent in Shanghai.

Communications via email were clear and prompt and her verbal English was excellent. I felt we had nearly 100% understanding and I could not say this about any other Chinese person I met in Shanghai. I am not a clear speaker and sometimes have trouble being understood at home, but Jean had no problem with me.

The itineraries were well-planned and flowed smoothly, incorporating our specific advance requests. She offered some options and alternatives during the tours based on our interests as they changed during the day. She offered informed commentary from historical, cultural and local perspectives wherever we went, and obviously had done some homework with respect to the specific requests we made. She did not steer us to shops where she would get a commission but when we wanted to look into a store she helped with translation and suggestions on negotiating the prices.

We found her to be patient and kind, with a relaxed demeanor, and we became quite fond of Jean by the end of our two days. We would have enjoyed additional time with her.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BizTravellerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent few days .....”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

From the booking through Jean through to the four days we spent with Kelly as our Guide around Shanghai and Hangzhou, everything was organised very professionally and really added to the enjoyment of my Mum's visit to Shanghai.
Despite having lived in Shanghai for almost a year, Kelly's experience and insight into the sights of Shanghai meant many new places to see. Her English skills were excellent and she was very good company.
I would thoroughly recommend her and Shanghai-Lander.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie_Ross_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great Day In Shanghai”
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Jean Liu made our day in Shanghai a truly pleasurable and memorable day. She met us at our ship and created a great day in Shanghai. Her knowledge of the city was truly exceptional. She arranged a fabulous lunch which all members of our party are still talking about.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank casinoman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Lander-Day Tour also viewed

 

Been to Shanghai Lander-Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing