We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing pork dumplings!”

Yang's Fried Dumplings (HuangHe Road)
Ranked #19 of 16,925 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: People’s Square
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
820 reviews
589 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
“Amazing pork dumplings!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Amazing pork dumplings to be had at Yangs! We ate at the Yang's near the entrance to D Mall at Peoples' Square. Yang's has other outlets across ths city.

The dumplings were full of pork but were crispy at the bottom which really tasted like pork crackling!! Be careful eating them as hot liquid can squirt out of the dumplings.
6 RMB for 4 dumplings.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    172
    47
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Might not go again.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I had heard so much about Yang's and I am crazy about dumplings so I was very excited to try some of the famous shengjianbao at Yang's. They were tasty - I can't argue with that - and they were cheap. But they were also stodgy and greasy and I couldn't manage more than one even though I was really hungry (they're quite big though). I think they'd be great post-drinking food to soak up the alcohol but I wouldn't be rushing back for any more dumplings.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Still dreaming about this place”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I visited shanghai in Sept 2011 and was taken to Yangs. OMG I haven't stopped dreaming about the place and am on the never ending search to find something remotely similar in Sydney. I don't think I will, this place is one of a kind and unfortunately I think ive had my only chance. So tasty and so cheap....

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maidenvain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Why Did I go?”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

In Shanghai there a quite a number of "Must Do s". Yangs was one of the places I was told to go for Fried soup dumplings because it was a Shanghai institution. I went for breakfast one morning as it was right around the corner from the hotel off of West Nanjing road (there are several, its now a chain). Wow - Bad just doesnt say it better. Over fried with tastless pork inside. The people were nice and it was cheap and clean but there are many other places that are much better

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious but watch out”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

These fried dumplings are big balls of joy. Filled with a soft mince meat and soup, it is encased in pastry, pan fried and topped with sesame seeds. The base is crispy and you are encouraged to dip in the vinegar and chilli which is on the table. Be warned though the juicy goodness comes squirting out and is hot hot hot!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Samson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yang's Fried Dumplings (HuangHe Road) also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Yang's Fried Dumplings (HuangHe Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing