We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tours and service!”

Newman Tours-Day Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.37*
and up
Private Shanghai Gangster Tour
Ranked #13 of 118 Tours in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only company to have won 2015 TripAdvisor Certificates Of Excellence in both Shanghai and Beijing, Newman Tours' native English speaking guides use iPads, and Chinese cultural activities to ensure your tour is informative and memorable. We have more than five years' experience leading historical and interactive tours in Beijing, Hangzhou, Suzhou, Nanjing, Xi'an, Tianjin, and of course Chengdu.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent tours and service!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I have used Newman Tours for six consecutive days of tailored tours during a one week visit to Shanghai and recommend them highly. They put together a custom agenda based on my specific interests and my expectations were far exceeded. We went far off the usual tourist path, and I got to gain a real good understanding of Shanghai. Besides visiting top museums, historic sights and tall buildings, we spent time in supermarkets, art districts, having lunch in great local restaurants and an employee cafeteria and spent as much time as I wanted in high-end and mid-market malls. Anything I requested, they were able to do. Both Daniel and Chloe were excellent,flexible and quickly figured out the pace and places that would be suitable for me.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    26
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“Learned a lot about the Imperial City”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We wanted to get historical information while touring the Forbidden City and Newman Tours was the perfect place for that. Our guide, Chris, was an expert on Chinese history - having majored in Central Asian culture as an undergraduate. His approach to the information was light hearted and thorough at the same time. He was willing to answer our numerous questions throughout the tour and was always patient and informative. He brought us to hidden spots that we would have definitely missed without his guidance and his knowledge of Chinese culture and history stayed with me even as I visited other great sites in the area. I learned about architectural methods, belief systems, various dynasties and how life in general was for the emperors and their concubines and eunuchs. I am not inclined to take tours often - but - when there is a great spot and a great guide, the combination works well, as it did with Newman Tours and Chris.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank falconjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really Interesting”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Shanghai is such an interesting city and this tour is perfect to understand foreign influences in the city. Our tour guide Chloe was such a nice person, she is from Scotland and is nice to have an english native speaker in China, otherwise you won't understand anything to chinese tour guides. Chloe is not the typical tour guide, who just gives a lot of facts with no background. She has a really good ability to capt your attention, with good examples and jokes. Would recommend this tour to anyone.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juan Pablo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Old Shanghai and day trip to Hangzhou”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Chloe hosted both of our trips. She was knowledgeable, charming and good company. Both tours lived up to expectations and we enjoyed each of them. Paul and Jan Godfrey

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 600paulg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great and interesting tour of the French Consession”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was recommended to use Newmans Tours by the girls that run Shopping Tours Shanghai and am so glad Daniel was able to fit us in at the last minute for a tour of the French Concession. Our lovely guide, Edie, was interesting and well informed and we just loved looking at the beautiful buildings and gardens and hearing about the history of Shanghai.....it just made it so much more alive for us and we are so glad we did it.....highly recommended!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarkandRoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newman Tours-Day Tour also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Newman Tours-Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing