We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Every Dollar!”

Shanghai Pathways-Private One-day and Walking Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.23*
and up
Private 2-Hour Walking Tour of Shanghai's Jewish Ghetto
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Private Tour: Zhujiajiao Water Town from Shanghai
More Info
$57.12*
and up
Private Colonial Walking Tour: Shanghai French Concession
Ranked #15 of 118 Tours in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you want unique & authentic tours to see the real Shanghai, come join us! We take you behind the scenes of a destination to reveal it's hidden gems and appreciate the Chinese culture. We believe this is the perfect style of travel experience for those who want to get off the beaten path and really connect with the destination. With English speaking Chinese guides who lives in Shanghai, you are assured a real local experience. The experience can be as short as a couple of hours, or a whole day, but in every case we will take you to interesting places to meet locals, and really see what makes the place tick.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth Every Dollar!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a free day in Shanghai on a 12-day tour we took with Chinatours.com and wanted to take a walking tour. Prior to the trip, we found the Web site (and other Trip Advisor reviews) for Shanghai Pathways and found several interesting tours. We contacted owner Janny and asked how we would string together three of the walking tours, and she suggested that we go ahead and just book her for the day. Boy, are we glad we did! She customized our walking tour for our interest. We zipped around by subway, walking and taxi and covered more in that one day than we could have in a week on our own, seeing old and new, learning about history and current events and culture, ate wonderful food, were shown beautiful vistas for the best pictures, Most memorable was a visit to a 250-year old home and meeting the owner. Janny efficiently got us from Point A to Point B, made sure we saw the highlights and understood what we were seeing and why it was significant, went beyond the normal "history talk" to make it poignant and personal. At first glance, it may seem expensive and a bit of an indulgence, but it's worth every dollar. You've come all the way to Shanghai so you might as well see all there is to see, not just the tourist destinations.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattleBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janny0302, Owner at Shanghai Pathways-Private One-day and Walking Tours, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you! It is lovely meeting you and your husband in the end of your China trip, I hope you will come back to Shanghai one day and thank you so much for your tips about my US travel plan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    17
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You only live once”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

After several days in Nanjing and Shanghai on business I had three days to see what Shanghai really had to offer the tourist. My wife flew in from Melbourne and we did three Shanghai Pathways tours.
Booking the tours and confirming our requirements was easy, being met at our hotel was convenient and communication was efficient.
The first was "The Best of Shanghai" where were escorted by Ashaki, a very pleasant young lady with a good command of English. We enjoyed an informed commentary that made much of what we saw fascinating beyond their apparent commonality or normality. The Best of Shanghai covers most of the important tourist locations and a few that are difficult to find. We saw from the ground what “Skyfall” showed from the air at night.
The second tour was “Lost and Forgotten Shanghai”. We toured the areas selected by Janny with 8 or 9 other people, some of whom lived and worked in Shanghai, that had no idea that these areas existed. We saw many sights and sounds that are not really part of the standard tourist track. Whilst we understand why it is both lost and forgotten, it offered a glimpse into the past that only a knowledgeable tour guide would be capable of transforming from mundane to mesmerising. This is an absolute must-do tour of Shanghai.
For the third tour we went and experienced the Zhujiajiao water town, again with Ashaki. This is a most interesting area that is criss-crossed by canals and gondolas. The market areas show a side to local cuisine that, to western tastes, should probably remain pretty much exactly where it is! This is a place where Made in China really means it. The taxi trip back was an exercise in patience as taxis are hard to flag down in the dark many kilometres away from the centre of Shanghai.
Over the course of three tours we were able to see gardens, temples, houses, courtyards, laneways and canals that showcase China’s rich heritage and culture in a very small corner of a vast country. We ate where locals dined and travelled how locals travel, it was a huge experience crammed into a necessarily short period. We highly recommend Shanghai Pathways to anyone wanting to see Shanghai.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueKooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janny0302, Owner at Shanghai Pathways-Private One-day and Walking Tours, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you so much ;-) We are glad that you have had a great time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“an eye opening experience”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My mom and I did the foot binding shoe museum tour with Shanghai Pathways, I was really happy as this is on top of my MUST DO list in Shanghai after reading "the snow flower and secret fan", an eye opening experience to meet the shoe collector and getting a deeper insights with this amazing part of Chinese history and his personal story of getting over 3000 pair of shoes. For over 1600 years, Chinese women have to bind for the pleasure of their future husband, I highly recommend this tour if you are interested in learning about Chinese culture and tradition.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank s_harris36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janny0302, Owner at Shanghai Pathways-Private One-day and Walking Tours, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Tea Tour in Shanghai”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I am always interested in learning about Chinese tea, so when I saw Shanghai Pathways offers tea class, I decided to give it a try. It is perfect for the cold winter day and I was lucky enough to get a private class with a 60 years old Chinese tea master. The owner of the company, Janny was also there and she helped to explain every step in great detail. In the end of the class, I learnt 3 different ways to prepare Wulong Tea , which I love the most. It was a great tour and I highly recommend you to try it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TTW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janny0302, Owner at Shanghai Pathways-Private One-day and Walking Tours, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you very much and we are really glad that you like the tea tour ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tour Shanghai with Insiders”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

It is an amazing time to experience Shanghai off the beaten path, my friend and I have lived and worked in Shanghai for 2 years, so we thought that we know a lot about this city. However, the tour with Janny changed everything. Not only we got to visit the hidden corners of this city, discover the lost garden which has been right in the mid of the down town area for over 250 years, ate tasty local shanghai food and hairy crab at a place with only 4 tables, this tour made us open our eyes again and really appreciated the Chinese culture. She personally thought us the "secrets" of Chinese tea and we have learnt more about tea in one single day than the past 2 years.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltheworld309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janny0302, Owner at Shanghai Pathways-Private One-day and Walking Tours, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you ;-) Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Pathways-Private One-day and Walking Tours also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shanghai Pathways-Private One-day and Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing