We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's not a Buddhist temple.”

Shanghai Confucian Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Walking Through the Hidden Door of Shanghai Old Time
Ranked #42 of 1,312 things to do in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It's not a Buddhist temple.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and interesting , will be good if you ask for a Gide to tour you around they are available at the location so is easiest to understand . Beautiful gardens

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lasfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    89
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

A quiet but very interesting stop which was a very big surprise in this bustling city. RMB10 entry fee. The temple complex is tranquil and surprisingly in a large area. The gardens are very picturesque.
Many Bonsai trees some hundreds of years old create another interest. Guide explained the raised door thresh holds should be stepped over in a particular way. Females must step over with their right leg first and men with their left leg first. This is said to be because women are always right.
Take your camera as there are some great opportunities for some interesting shots.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rivets1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Level Contributor
202 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Serene Temple in the Middle of the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is well worth a stop, even a short one, to experience some calm in the midst of a bustling city. We stopped here as part of a 1/2 day tour, it was an unexpected stop not publicized as part of the tour, but I would have to say it was one of my favorite parts. Most of the temple was destroyed in the 60's and 70's and rebuilt later on, they did an excellent job rebuilding in the older style. Volunteers will meet you at the door to lead you through the various parts of the temple and give you the history. Like everywhere there is a bit of a sell on buying something to support the school, the prices start quite high, but can be negotiated significantly downward. The tea ceremony was very interesting and I did end up buying some tea that I saw later for a little less, but I didn't mind paying a bit more as I did get the experience of the ceremony which was quite interesting. I would stop back again when in Shanghai and spend a bit more time to experience the serenity.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_junkie3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Welcome break from the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Peaceful and calm place, although a book seller event was placed at the entrance. Note they will emphasise their need for donations during your visit.

Helpful?
Thank MikeWithBike
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Lonely temple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This temple was a big surprise. It was not in my travel guide but I bumped into it walking in the old city. It is quite small and I only spend around 30 minutes here, but during that time I was the only visitor. This is a very rare experience in a city of 20 million! There is a very nice shop in the temple which sells paintings, tea, teapots, and beautiful antiques. A nice relaxing place which deserves more visitors.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susana61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Confucian Temple also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shanghai Confucian Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing