We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Convenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #12 of 4,324 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
152 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a rather new property close to People´s Square and therefore it benefits for a very good location, since you have 3 subway lines very close to the Hotel. You also have many shopping malls around the hotel, so this means a lot of food options.

Room is very good and well appointed. Service was fair, but the bad note is that when you ask for a taxi in the early morning to go to airport they will never give you a card with the taxi plate and I got one with a rather "speedy" meter, so I ended paying more for the fare that it supposed to be. To me for this kind of property, this is unacceptable as it may compromise guests safety, since someday it may not be a fast meter, but something worst.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prayanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    286
    53
    15
    10
See reviews for
180
180
52
516
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

After reviewing a few of the comments, I decided to book my stay at the hotel despite having multiple other hotels to pick and choose from. The hotel is wonderful. Overall, the staff is extremely courteous and friendly. The rooms are quite spacious and nicely laid out. The AC was working perfectly and I had no issues whatsoever. As a Gold member, I had access to the Lounge on the 37th Floor. Good food and plenty of drinks to choose from. The only think that disappointed me was the Xiao Long Bao. I stayed there only 2 nights. And for both nights, the Xiao Long Bao felt under-cooked (the skin was still hard and chewy). Although I was not expecting top-quality Yu Garden Nan Xiang XLB, it was a disappointment. I made the staff aware of it so, hopefully, it will be corrected. As for the location, it is in a great location. Close to the #1, #2 and the #8. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esteban L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

One of the best rooms we have ever had. Huge bathroom and bedroom and entry way. Beautiful lobby with a nice lounge area. Located near a walking shopping street and not that far from a subway entrance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have stayed at this Marriott property a half dozen times or so since 2012 and every stay has been exceptional. A real 5 star experience every time..

I am usually alone here and use this hotel as a kind of home base, which it is perfect for. The staff is exceptional in making me feel welcome. The restaurants are good and there is a shopping center directly next door with additional restaurants.

The concierge lounge is fantastic, 37th floor with stunning views of the Shanghai. The lounge is always stocked well with a fusion of western and Asian snacks, drinks, and small plate foods.

The rooms have ample space with modern decor. The beds are comfortable with plenty of pillows. In room internet works well and is fast enough. The nespresso machine in room is great too!!

The location is also great, just a couple of blocks from Nanjing Rd..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel sits adjacent to the Nanjing Rd pedestrian street, as well as nearby several very interesting museums. We have stayed there several times, and, as Marriott Gold Elite members, we have also been able to access the excellent Concierge Lounge, located on the 37th floor of the hotel - stunning views in all four directions. A wide range of breakfast items, and great evening snacks are available here, with very friendly and accommodating staff.

The rooms are in our view are a solid 4.5 stars - quite spacious, with top-notch furnishings and fixtures (including Nespresso coffee makers).

It is quite a distance to Pudong airport, but there are various shuttles available, if needed.

The shopping, restaurants and nightlife are legendary on Nanjing Rd., and this is a block away from the hotel.

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the Bund, and across to the Pudong side's spectacular skyline. Obviously...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stocktocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a first class property with a very attentive staff. The setting is terrific and convenient to major attractions such as the Peoples Museum. The concierge lounge was wonderful. It was fully stocked at all times when we used it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scycgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Staying at this hotel right now, in the middle of a 4-day stay. This is a high-quality hotel. The hotel staff have been ‘faultless’, everywhere I have encounted them. Friendly ‘good mornings’, etc everytime I have met each & everyone of them. If you can, take an Exec room, which gives you access to the 37th floor Exec Club. A lovely, quality environment, with plenty to eat & drink, especially for breakfast and afternoon ‘happy hours’. The staff in the Exec club are ‘perfect’.

Room presentation is specalular, well at least in the 32nd level Exec room I have. Can’t speak for the others but I’d be surprised if not to the same standard.

Location is good [unless you want to be right on the Bund], albeit this hotel is a 15 min walk from there. It’s literally a ‘stones throw’ from the Nanjing East pedestion walk, hop-hop off buses around the corner, as is a major metro station [junction], with access to 3 or 4 lines. This is a very good hotel, high quality and worth every consideration. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobEvans25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: No.555 Xizang Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 4,324 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 720
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of Shanghai awaits both inside and outside of the doors of the Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre. Situated in the heart of the city, only minutes away from People's Square metro hub1, 2 and 8, Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street, leading to The Bund. While exploring Shanghai is easy to do, we've made settling in equally as compelling. Our 720 guest rooms and suites boast expansive city views and include 42-inch LCD TVs and plush designer bedding. If you're staying in an Executive Level suite, enjoy perks like complimentary snacks and beverages, plus access to our business facilities. Other on-site amenities include a full fitness center with an 25-meter indoor lap-pool. And be sure to experience a meal at one of our five innovative restaurants, where you can savor everything from authentic Cantonese cuisine to made-to-order afternoon tea. Come see why the Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre presents guests with an unparalleled downtown experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing