We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Perfect Service, Excellent Quality.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #10 of 4,997 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Location, Perfect Service, Excellent Quality.”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have been to this hotel 4 times and each time I stayed 3 nights. During al these time I have never got any problem except one time; I already told the porters the time for bringing my suite cases down by 9 A.M. unfortunately they bring them down 1 hour later. But the manager gave me a free coupon to get at least one free drink from the hotel bar. It's located just a stone away the Nanjing road. Variety of restaurants, shopping malls and so on. Rooms are very modern and well decorated but do not expect a dreamy view. The lifts are a bit confusing at first but it's OK.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ssarmedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    353
    68
    15
    12
See reviews for
236
239
68
623
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I bid a five star hotel on Priceline and got this Mariott. I got an amazing deal and paid very little. Upon arriving I asked for a room on the highest floor with a view. They were kind to oblige and gave me a room on the top floor (26) with a view of The Peoples Square. The service was great and the staff was kind and polite. Lastly, and most important the location was great. Shopping and food at your fingertips and a major train hub (though I only used it once prefering to walk everywhere). This hotel was a major highlight of my trip.

Room Tip: Ask them for the best room they have on a top floor. They will oblige as best they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spyro m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Was in Shanghai for 6 nights in Jan 2013. And was grateful for my agent for booking this finest property for me. From the time you enter the hotel, you are a star guest for the staff,, They take well care of you.

Once a taxi driver came running behind me shouting that i gave him less(mistakenly of course) and the security stopped him before the guy reached me and did not let him enter the hotel. The security got cash from me and gave him to send him away. such responsible staff.

had an issue with room security when someone barged in, but Andrea( Marriott Rewards Manager) , Leo and the Jimmy( Head of Security) went a mile ahead to sort out the issue.. I will always stay at Marriott Shanghai in future.

Thumbs Up guys !!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AhamedY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This new hotel is a welcome addition to the Shanghai cityscape. Facilities are top-notch, with twin double beds in the spacious rooms, all tastefully decorated in a modern Chinese chic style. The breakfast buffet is extensive, featuring Japanese and Indian selections in addition to Western and Chinese fare. What stands out for me, however, is the warmth and friendliness of the English-speaking staff, who are eager to assist with queries and requests. I travel extensively in China for business and say without hesitation that the Marriott Shanghai City Centre ranks for me as one of the top hotels, not only in Shanghai, but in China.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank WeiMing1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel with a beautiful lobby and is in an excellent location. The hotel is one of the most appealing I have seen, it rivals the JW Marriott hotels I have been in. The rooms are very large, airy and well lit. The bed was extremely comfortable and had an array of pillows to meet anyone's desires. The desk was well equipped, having a scissor, stapler, paperclips, a ruler as well as the usual pens and paper. In addition to being so nicely equipped there were outlets that did not require adaptors, they could accept standard American plugs. It appears that this hotel was designed with the comfort of the guests in mind. The bathroom left nothing out, there was ample counter space and a fabulous shower and some really soft robes to wear. The towels were very soft and in ample supply.

As a gold status member we were able to breakfast in either in the executive lounge on the 37th floor, or the buffet located on the 3rd floor. We also took advantage of the food being available in the lounge during the evening. After a full day of sightseeing it was really nice not to have to go out and find places to have dinner. There was a nice choice of wine and beer in the lounge to complement the food, as well as some great pastries and desserts.

The hotel is immaculately clean where ever you look and the level of service provided by the staff was excellent throughout the hotel. My only thought on improving my stay would have been for there having been two luggage racks in the room without my having to ask for the second one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrstepheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montvale, nj
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile


This hotel which is only 1 1/2 years old has a beautiful immaculately clean lobby with a Japanese theme that carries throughout the entire hotel even the guest rooms. Even walking through the hallways is a pleasure, especially after a long day of sightseeing, as the carpets are very soft and well padded. The room was a spacious size with a very comfortable bed with many pillow choices. There was also a desk and even a stapler and scissor. There were electrical outlets that accommodated American plugs which saves the trouble of using an adaptor. The bathroom is large and attractive with a great shower. My one complaint with the bathroom is that there is a window with an electric blind which can be lowered. We have found this in other hotels also but I think it is a waste. Who would want the blind up to look in or out of the bathroom.We had a lovely view of the city which was beautifully lit up at night. The buildings are very distinctive so they were easy to identify. We are gold status so we were able to access the executive lounge for breakfast which had very good choices. However the breakfast buffet on the 3rd floor had a much better selection of both Asian and American foods and was also included.The staff in both places was very accommodating. We also were entitled to food in the evening. There was a nice selection of food but it was repetitious every night with only one new dish available. We had previously been at the JW in Beijing which had a much larger selection and a greater variety each evening. The desserts here were delicious for ones' sweet tooth. Overall this is a wonderful hotel with a great location.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank fromNY2NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice hotel, layout of the room was great and it was clean. Only problem I had was I was on the 16th floor and got woken up at 6am with the construction work across the road. It will be a great place to stay when the construction work is finished.

Room Tip: As high up as possible to avoid the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triplife22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 4,997 in Shanghai
2,476 reviews
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,997 in Shanghai
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: 555 Xi Zang (Middle) Road | Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 4,997 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 720
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre is located in People's Square, the heart of Shanghai. With easy access to metro line 1, 2 and 8 in just 5 minutes, you could explore Shanghai effortlessly, perhaps starting from the nearest attractions such as Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street to the Bund with the best night views. Pudong airport and Hongqiao airport are 48 kilometers and 17 kilometers away from our Downtown Shanghai hotel respectively. Metro line 2 and our hotel airport transfer limousine service are both good choices for you to arrive from the airport or to get back there upon leaving Shanghai. Our hotel offers 720 guest rooms with skyline view and suites with plush designer bedding, varying from rooms that satisfy business purposes to leisure activities. Our executive lounge is accessible for guests staying in Executive room and above. There you could enjoy exclusive snacks and beverages, plus access to our business facilities. Other on-site amenities include a full fitness center with a 25-meter indoor lap-pool with spa. Our five innovative restaurants and bars are dedicated to serving you with high-quality cuisine, ranging from Shanghai Cantonese style in Manho, Hokkaido style in EZO to all-day dining in Shanghai City Bistro. Treat your friends with a made-to-order afternoon tea in our Lounge or drop by our Java+ to get your morning coffee. Come and experience our spirit to serve at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre. We assure you an unforgettable journey in Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing