We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily one of the best hotels in China”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #15 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This new hotel is a welcome addition to the Shanghai cityscape. Facilities are top-notch, with twin double beds in the spacious rooms, all tastefully decorated in a modern Chinese chic style. The breakfast buffet is extensive, featuring Japanese and Indian selections in addition to Western and Chinese fare. What stands out for me, however, is the warmth and friendliness of the English-speaking staff, who are eager to assist with queries and requests. I travel extensively in China for business and say without hesitation that the Marriott Shanghai City Centre ranks for me as one of the top hotels, not only in Shanghai, but in China.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank WeiMing1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,187 - 1,193 of 1,855 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel with a beautiful lobby and is in an excellent location. The hotel is one of the most appealing I have seen, it rivals the JW Marriott hotels I have been in. The rooms are very large, airy and well lit. The bed was extremely comfortable and had an array of pillows to meet anyone's desires. The desk was well equipped, having a scissor, stapler, paperclips, a ruler as well as the usual pens and paper. In addition to being so nicely equipped there were outlets that did not require adaptors, they could accept standard American plugs. It appears that this hotel was designed with the comfort of the guests in mind. The bathroom left nothing out, there was ample counter space and a fabulous shower and some really soft robes to wear. The towels were very soft and in ample supply.

As a gold status member we were able to breakfast in either in the executive lounge on the 37th floor, or the buffet located on the 3rd floor. We also took advantage of the food being available in the lounge during the evening. After a full day of sightseeing it was really nice not to have to go out and find places to have dinner. There was a nice choice of wine and beer in the lounge to complement the food, as well as some great pastries and desserts.

The hotel is immaculately clean where ever you look and the level of service provided by the staff was excellent throughout the hotel. My only thought on improving my stay would have been for there having been two luggage racks in the room without my having to ask for the second one.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrstepheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013


This hotel which is only 1 1/2 years old has a beautiful immaculately clean lobby with a Japanese theme that carries throughout the entire hotel even the guest rooms. Even walking through the hallways is a pleasure, especially after a long day of sightseeing, as the carpets are very soft and well padded. The room was a spacious size with a very comfortable bed with many pillow choices. There was also a desk and even a stapler and scissor. There were electrical outlets that accommodated American plugs which saves the trouble of using an adaptor. The bathroom is large and attractive with a great shower. My one complaint with the bathroom is that there is a window with an electric blind which can be lowered. We have found this in other hotels also but I think it is a waste. Who would want the blind up to look in or out of the bathroom.We had a lovely view of the city which was beautifully lit up at night. The buildings are very distinctive so they were easy to identify. We are gold status so we were able to access the executive lounge for breakfast which had very good choices. However the breakfast buffet on the 3rd floor had a much better selection of both Asian and American foods and was also included.The staff in both places was very accommodating. We also were entitled to food in the evening. There was a nice selection of food but it was repetitious every night with only one new dish available. We had previously been at the JW in Beijing which had a much larger selection and a greater variety each evening. The desserts here were delicious for ones' sweet tooth. Overall this is a wonderful hotel with a great location.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank fromNY2NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice hotel, layout of the room was great and it was clean. Only problem I had was I was on the 16th floor and got woken up at 6am with the construction work across the road. It will be a great place to stay when the construction work is finished.

Room Tip: As high up as possible to avoid the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triplife22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Having spent 5 nights at the JW Marriott in Beijing, comparisons were inevitable. This hotel is on a par with the best in the chain! We were on an upgraded floor with Executive Lounge privileges...the room was lovely, the service in the lounge area so good that you felt asif you were in an expensive restaurant being spoiled royally! If my only complaint, after years of traveling, was the lack of a hook in the bathroom, to hang a robe on (the robe supplied by Marriott), you can imagine how fantastic this hotel was! As an aside, I informed guest services that my husband left a t-shirt on the bed which was taken away when the linens were changed, and within less than 12 hours we were presented with a plastic bag containing the shirt! Service above and beyond!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank VEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here recently for 4 days. This hotel is nicely located in Shanghai and the rooms give you a nice view over parts of the city. The check-in was easy and the staff here was helpful and spoke English very well. My room was spacious and clean, and I particularly liked the layout of the bathroom where you could still get a view out of the window. The bed was very comfortable and came with almost too many pillows, you should be able to find one that works for most anyone. The lounge and bar areas near the lobby are well decorated and gave a nice atmosphere. If you come here directly from the main airport don't be afraid to try the metro, it took about the same time as a taxi and cost about $1. You can easily pay $100 for an executive taxi but you won't get there any faster. It is an easy walk to the river from the hotel and some of the main shopping streets are just around the corner. If you are hungry and just need something quick to eat walk across the street to the Pizza Hut and you can get a quick meal for less than $10. There was a lot of construction across the street from the hotel which can be quite noisy at times so that was my only complaint but not really the fault of the hotel at all. I would recommend the hotel to business travelers who need to be near the city center.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristinMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

When we arrived we were upgraded to the Executive level as Lifetime Platinum Member we were on the 35th floor with a fantastic view of the city. The lounge open 7 days has eveything you could possibly want great Martini's one night sea bass another Lamb Chops nice business area with 4 Apple Computers a staff of about 10 We used points for our one week stay and by far it was the best Lounge we have visited Lisa Wang the manager of the lounge does a fantastic job. The location is ideal fo everything you would want to see and the hotel is only a few years old

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okorganist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,791 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#6 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre

Address: 555 Xi Zang Road | Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $139 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 720
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre locates in People’s Square, the heart of Shanghai. Easy access to metro line 1, 2 and 8, you could explore Shanghai effortlessly, perhaps starting from the nearest attractions such as Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street to the Bund with the night views. Pudong airport and Hongqiao airport are 48 kilometers and 17 kilometers away from our hotel respectively. Metro line 2 and our hotel airport transfer limousine service are both good choices for you. Our hotel offers 720 guest rooms with skyline view and suites with plush designer bedding, varying from business purposes to leisure activities. Executive lounge is accessible for guests staying in Executive room and above. There you could enjoy exclusive snacks and beverages, plus access to our business facilities. Other on-site amenities include a full fitness center with a 25-meter indoor lap-pool with spa. Our five innovative restaurants and bars are dedicated to serve you with high-quality cuisine, ranging from Shanghai Cantonese style in Manho, Hokkaido style in EZO to all day dining in Shanghai City Bistro. Treat your friends with a made-to-order afternoon tea in the Lounge or drop by our Java+ to get your morning coffee is also a good option. Come and experience our spirit to serve in Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, we assure you an unforgettable journey in Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing