We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, high quality hotel with a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Ranked #12 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very nice, high quality hotel with a great location”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I only stayed at this hotel two short nights, not much more than 24 hours the way the timing worked out. I can't comment on the value for the money, I'm sure it is very expensive but it was direct billed to my company.
The room was very nice, clean well appointed, and well maintained. Everything worked as it was supposed to, the Marriott television connection panel was great for presentation preparation and streaming videos. The internet worked as well as can be expected in China it was fast enough. The room was a bit small, but it is a city hotel and the layout worked well, although I think I had a non standard room layout. The bathroom was nice and the shower had good pressure and hot water.
The breakfast was a bit overwhelming. It is a very large breakfast area and when I arrived was quite full and bustling. It was a bit confusing to find a table and then to find the food. TIP, near the lift lobbies and the entrance is a large buffet area that has all different types of Asian cuisines, and this is where most people sit. Head to the right past the open area towards the lobby and there is a lot more seating and an even larger buffet area with traditional western breakfast choices. They do truly have options for just about everyone.
The hotel location is fantastic for exploring the city, very close to People's Square, and metro stations, one drawback to the location is that the hotel layout has the entrance on a side street and getting a taxi can be a challenge, we eventually just walked to our destination.
Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Shanghai, whether for business or for pleasure. The rooms are nice, clean and well apportioned the breakfast gives you a great start to the day and the location makes for easy travel around the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasher0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    376
    74
    17
    14
See reviews for
258
261
77
665
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

i usually stay at the jw marriott tomorrow square, but chose this marriott because i was staying only one night... close to metro number 2 line (rmb5 for the 34 minute ride from hongqiao train station - beats taking the taxi rmb80/100 every time)... the rooms are nice, i think they were redone recently... as can be seen more and more these past years, the majority of guests are chinese business travelers, which adds just a slightly different flair to the experience... one thing that speaks for the marriott city centre, is price which is definitely cheaper than the jw marriott... but otherwise, there is nothing truly special nor bad about this...

Room Tip: just ask for a nice room, this usually helps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Mi
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have nothing but positive words for this property. Central location, near People's Square Metro station, and pedestrian walk way along Nanjing Rd. Rooms are immaculately clean, staff friendly and helpful, but not as sufficating as in a Ritz-Carlton. Exec lounge has nice variety of breakfast and evening 'snacks' that can easily be made into a meal. Internet is fast and easy to access.
Only real tip is to watch the room prices. We booked 4 months ahead of time and got a rate of 1800 RMB per night. Two days prior to arrival, checked Marriott site and saw offer of 1500 RMB per night with third night free. Made the new res, canceled old res and saved almost half !!
At checkin we informed that we upgraded to a two room suite. It helps to have a lifetime platinum status with Marriott.
Never the less, we felt like we got a great deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at this marriot hotel: the service was exceptional and the staff super friendly. Our room spacious and modern with a stunning view. As part of a package we were able to access the executive lounge with free snacks/ drinks a even more spectacular view and concierge services. Would definetly come back anytime!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKitty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night and had a very nice experience. It was actually the Chinese New Years Eve, which in China means a heavy artillery of fireworks during most of the night, and although it was noisy for a couple of hours it was also a spectacular sight from the hotel windows! Wouldn´t have missed it!
The situation is perfect; close to People´s Park and Nanjing Road. Beds (as always at Marriott) extremely comfortable, although the extra bed for our son was a bit hard. Beautiful downtown view, perfect service and good food at the restaurant on third floor. We ordered a plain lunch; hamburgers and club sandwich, but it was all but plain - tasty and deliciously nice arranged. We will definitely stay here next time in Shanghai.

Room Tip: In all big cities rooms on the higher floors provides better view and less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helbjo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good hotel. Rooms are world class and staff are super friendly. There are plenty of good food options. Hotel is near People's Park and at the top of Nanjing Road. Subway is close and views are really great there.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CWinstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed here over Thanksgiving Weekend 2012 and I was very pleased with the service of the hotel staff and the quality of the room. The lobby is beautifully decorated with chandeliers and modern furniture. There is also a small cafe on the lobby floor. The room was nicely decorated and it was very clean. The bed was comfortable and there was a great view of the city. The bathroom had a tub and shower and it was very spacious. The hotel also provided amenities such as a toothbrush, shower cap, shaving kit, etc. The hotel also has a club room where they serve breakfast and later on tasty finger foods in the evenings (not free). The hotel staff was very friendly and helped us with buying movie tickets and getting a cab during rush hour. Near the hotel, there are many eating places and a movie theatre. Overall, I had a good experience with this hotel and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieMary0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#38 of 5,069 in Shanghai
2,580 reviews
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre

Property: Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Address: 555 Xi Zang (Middle) Road | Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 720
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre locates in People’s Square, the heart of Shanghai. Easy access to metro line 1, 2 and 8, you could explore Shanghai effortlessly, perhaps starting from the nearest attractions such as Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street to the Bund with the night views. Pudong airport and Hongqiao airport are 48 kilometers and 17 kilometers away from our hotel respectively. Metro line 2 and our hotel airport transfer limousine service are both good choices for you. Our hotel offers 720 guest rooms with skyline view and suites with plush designer bedding, varying from business purposes to leisure activities. Executive lounge is accessible for guests staying in Executive room and above. There you could enjoy exclusive snacks and beverages, plus access to our business facilities. Other on-site amenities include a full fitness center with a 25-meter indoor lap-pool with spa. Our five innovative restaurants and bars are dedicated to serve you with high-quality cuisine, ranging from Shanghai Cantonese style in Manho, Hokkaido style in EZO to all day dining in Shanghai City Bistro. Treat your friends with a made-to-order afternoon tea in the Lounge or drop by our Java+ to get your morning coffee is also a good option. Come and experience our spirit to serve in Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, we assure you an unforgettable journey in Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing