We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar/restaurant in a lovely area”

ShangHai Boxing Cat Brewery(FuXing West Road)
Ranked #61 of 17,012 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Former French Concession
walled lake
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great bar/restaurant in a lovely area”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Loved the menu - next time we'll order and split. Wonderful beer selection. Good prices. Great location

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank laura d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    109
    45
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala FL
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“If you're an American in Shanghai, you owe it to yourself (otherwise, go anyway!)”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Interesting restaurant and microbrewery. Nice selection of sandwiches and entrees -eclectic American fare. Includes steaks and great Vegetarian choices. The decor is a hoot (boxing cats and everything retro beer related), the beers are good and changing, and the food is good as well. However - Southern Cole Slaw lovers, beware the spice. Grandma never made it this a way ...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scoutly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lacking ...”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stopped by the Sinan Mansions location, looking for beer and good comfort food, but instead we had okay beer and bland food (hamburgers, salads and fries). The service was okay. Not sure, we would return as there are much better places for beer and bar/comfort food. For those of you that do venture to the Boxing Cat, there are two locations, the Sinan Mansion location is better as its bigger and has good outdoor seating for happy hours and getting together with friends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good beer, bad food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's not my first time to BC and certainly not going to be the last but was disappointed last night with the place, mainly in terms of the food compared to past visits. Dishes were over sauced, one guest's order of ribs arrived ice cold and the red velvet cake which used to be stellar was dry and tasteless.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank herrmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place for a fresh beer”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I happened upon this place while I was walking around the French Concession and decided to stop in for a beer. As it was St. Patrick's Day, they had a green beer, which was a pilsner and tasty. Since I was there in the middle of the afternoon, they did not offer the full menu, but still a decent selection. I ordered a turkey club panini, and it was over grilled and very dry, but the food that the other customers had around me looked good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReMaKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ShangHai Boxing Cat Brewery(FuXing West Road) also viewed

 

Been to ShangHai Boxing Cat Brewery(FuXing West Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing