We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Clean Safe Massage” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Massage

Green Massage
Ranked #5 of 73 Spas & Wellness in Shanghai
Attraction details
USA
Level Contributor
151 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good Clean Safe Massage”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I am often asked for recomendations for a good place for a good massaged and Green Massage is just that. Make sure you asked for an experienced therapisit as they have many new timers. The massage rooms are small however comfortable. DragonFly is also a similar type of place with mutiple locations. Cost run around 75$ per hour...no tipping...very ethical.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DRuben1330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    14
    4
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really..?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Ok it was Sunday, it was 6pm, and we didn't had a reservation. But instead of sending us away (which would have been favorable for us) they told us they have a slot free. So after commited to spend about RMB 1100 for 2 PAX we waited about 20 minutes. And as it was pact, we didn't had any place to sit.

But then came a funy guy and a girl that took us on a 90 minute torture trip. I mean really...? No skills, very hard, constant chating and giggling with each other. It was just horrible. Sorry, was there other times and it was fine but this time, two thumps down. Lesson to be learned, sometimes its better to say no. Quality instead of quantity!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Milo_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good priced massage in China, with good English”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

The massage here is cheap relative to prices in the US, but a bit expensive even for Shanghai. The normal 90 minute massage is about 200 RMB, but can be had in other non-english speaking places for about half of this. You pay for the decoration and the english speaking staff.

I went to the Shanghai world financial location, which was relatively quiet. In this location, there are two small changing rooms with lockers so you can store your clothes and shoes. They provide you with a pair of soft pants and shirt so you do not have to be undressed to have a massage. The lockers are unlocked with a magnetic key, which seems to be very popular among hotel lockers for gyms, pool, etc. The chinese massage was good, but a bit rough in certain areas. I could have probably asked to skip certain parts but i wanted to try the entire massage before asking to change it. Next time i will request to work only on certain parts.

The other services seemed reasonably priced but im sure it can be had elsewhere for much less.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank evildoughboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous "must go to" massage - in Xintiandi location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Whenever I visit Asia, my favorite thing to do is get massages (and a lot of them). They are so cheap compared to North America prices and so readily available. We heard about Green massage from the Times Magazine Top 10 things to do in Shanghai list we found online. It's a gorgeous spa (not like some of the questionable hole in the walls you often find), very clean, and you even get lockers to store your personal items (rare for many massage places in Asia). While cheaper than North America, it's not as cheap as some of these hole in the walls but well worth it. We opted for the 135 minute Traditional Relaxation package and it was fantastic! A great Chinese massage (no oil used and you wear Chinese PJ's) and foot reflexology. They are open until 2am so that is very handy. Because they have been reviewed they are definitely busy so be sure to make reservations in advance. (only need 1 day notice) It's right in the Xintiandi area so lots of great restaurant options for food after.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank B-YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Still the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

2nd time in Shanghai in 6 months
Booked an appointment as soon as I find a break
So happy they opened late and I was able to get a 2 hour massage at 10 pm
It was as good as I expected and hoped for.
When I go back to Shanghai again in 6 months, will stop by again for sure.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank pollyanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Massage also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Green Massage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing