We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Stars but with reservations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lee Gardens Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #131 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
kansas city
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“4 Stars but with reservations”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

No doubt about it being 4 stars but there are draw backs. First you are about 20 minutes away from the commercial and financial center of the city. the block it is on has almost no commercial life.
Plus, breakfast is $21 if you didn't include it in your booking. (However, there are two self service restaurants and a pastry shop right next door) An added bonus is that you are only one block away from two subway lines. (7 & 4) Most trips are 66 cents.
When you exit the room you must take the magnetic room card with you which disconnects the electricity to the room, meaning no air or heat while you are gone, and the room can be uncomfortably hot or cold when you return.
I got a great price $55 which outweighed the disadvantanges for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank genemean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    87
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
30
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I spent a bit more than three weeks. I had a room at the back of the hotel, overlooking a small garden, which was quiet. The rooms are of decent size and the beds very very comfortable. Clean and modern and I found the staff, accommodating. Breakfast was fine, but the elevators at rush time can be slow as pointed out by other reviewers. As also pointed out the "lounge" is not so inviting. I found these all to be minor issues. After reading some of these reviews, I anticipated this being a terrible hotel, but was pleasantly surprised, particularly given the price. I stayed in far more expensive and much grungier hotels in China. It is a bit far from tourist sites, but you get a better feel of "real" Shanghai, by wandering around the streets in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sukker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
262 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights total ie 2 nights at the beginning of our tour and 2 nights at the end. Had two very different types of room. Initially we had a spacious room with Sofa and kitchenette area which was at the front of the hotel . Latterly we had a much smaller room at the side of the hotel, however this was much quieter. Breakfast was fine with an overspill room when it gets busy. Slow check in and no facility for exchanging travellers cheques however there is a machine in the lobby for converting currency ( cash) Obtain code from reception for free wifi in lobby.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Northerntraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spend 5 nights in this hotel, when we booked we wanted to have a hotel with swimming pool and in its website it was mentioned that it has an indoor pool. However to my surprise it was a false information and there was ni pool at the hotel. I took it up with them and they had literally no answer for the same. Further the staff did not even know that such a thing was mentioned on their website. It was a news for them as well. They did not even have a courtsey to give me sorry note. There are only few from the hotel who speak english, further they say they have travel desk but it is not of much use as they do not know anything about there own city or they do not undestand english. I was very much dissatisfied with the service. Further I could not sleep well as the room was just adjacent to the road and one could hear all the horn beeping throughout the night. There was no activity for the kids as well and I had to fight with them as they were going to charge breakfast for my 3 years old kid, just beacause she accompanied us to the breakfast room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at the start & 2 at the end of a tour. The rooms are clean with nice beds. There is a lot of noise from the street outside. The lifts are small & slow.The position is far from ideal for tourists - a long metro ride to the main tourist sites (although the metro exit is very close). There is a bakery & snack outlet close by but no bar / restaurant within easy reach. The hotel restaurant is very poor particularly if you take an evening meal there. We found it extremely hard to get drinks - even getting the menu was an effort with surly staff & inadequate staff numbers. Drinks are very expensive - watch out for the complimentary water - its the bottles in the bathroom not the Evian on the dresser which they sell for £4-80! (Family Mart next door much better value!). Overall I think its good if you have business in that part of the city but wouldn't reccomend it for tourists.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daleswalker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level Contributor
158 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel was chosen for us as part of a tour. We spent 2 days there at the start of the tour and two at the end. You can't fault the accommodation - extremely comfy beds, lovely shower and bathroom and good sized rooms. A clean hotel.

The hotel, as others have described is not in the centre of the city, and there is nowhere close to relax with a drink. The hotel bar is virtually non existent and we didn't feel welcomed to drink. I admit I wasn't enthusiastic about returning. However, our room this time was even bigger with a small kitchen area (cooker and microwave) although no utensils or crockery (not that we wanted or needed to cook!). With more free time we had time to explore and used the metro which had an entrance virtually a couple of doors along. Once we'd worked out how to purchase tickets (only paying the equivalent of 30p for a single trip) the metro was quick and easy to use only taking about 20mins to the centre

Room Tip: The main road is busy and noisy so the higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackiemenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Quiet, clean, good sized service apartment, without cigarette smell. The tub was comfortable, and the very strong shower head, a good plus. ADSL in room free, but WiFi only in lobby. Slight short of staff at front desk. Pool not available for use yet, pending license.
Breakfast spread was good, and attentive restaurant staff.
Dong An metro station exit 4, just past the convenience store downstairs. This station is intersection of lines 4 and 7.
Difficult to find for taxi drivers, so tell them its across the street from "zhong liu" (cancer-tumor) hospital.

Room Tip: Request higher floor, not facing main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed1982_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
#62 of 5,059 in Shanghai
437 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#121 of 5,059 in Shanghai
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Gallery Suites
Gallery Suites
#184 of 5,059 in Shanghai
186 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hua Ting Hotel & Towers
Hua Ting Hotel & Towers
#128 of 5,059 in Shanghai
567 reviews
Shanghai Stadium
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
#100 of 5,059 in Shanghai
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lee Gardens Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lee Gardens Hotel Shanghai

Property: Lee Gardens Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.255 Dong'an Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China (Formerly Xuhui International Executive Suites Shanghai)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xujiahui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#53 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#83 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#117 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lee Gardens Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lee Gardens Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xuhui International Executive Suites Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing