We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best - again and again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Ranked #5 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The best - again and again”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is my second review of Langham Xintiandi in Shanghai, but I can not stop beeing facinated by this extraordinary hotel. Even from outside it looks like nothing you have seen before. Again I was greated by the most service minded staff you can wish for, the relaxing Langham smell as you enter the lobby and the good athomosphere in the restaurants surounding the reception area. The rooms are different in all aspects with open solutions, modern design, automatic solutions (curtains and toilets) and a bed sent from heaven. The combined bath and rainshower makes you wish to stay in that hot waterfall for hours. This time I even had time to try the gym in the basement. Unfortunately the gym turned out to be the first disapointment I've expereinced at Langham, but that is fair enough. Again - I will be back and I can't wait!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham_Xintiandi, Hotel Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Anders G,
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear that you once again enjoyed your stay. Your comments will be shared with the team who will be further encouraged to perform even better in our constant quest for improvement everyday. We do look forward to your next visit to our hotel.
Best wishes
Andrew Dartnell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    143
    26
    9
    7
See reviews for
76
190
50
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

I've had the luxury of staying in many hotels but the langham xintiandi comes out tops in terms of service quality. Our group of 6 ladies stayed in the club rooms and the quality of drinks, food and service was outstanding. Special thanks to Leo, Ken and Gwen from the club lounge. They always wore their best smile and nothing was ever too much trouble. The only small minor gripe was probably the design of the bathroom which had a trough around the bath area which makes it hard to clean properly but I'm just being picky. There is only one hotel for me now in Shanghai and that's the langham xintiandi!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham_Xintiandi, Hotel Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Joanne L,
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor and the team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Langham Xintiandi and furthermore that the hotel will be your preferred choice for return visits to Shanghai.Your kind comments about the service received from Leo, Gwen and Ken from the Club Lounge will be shared with them and will serve as further incentive to get better everyday. We look forward to welcoming you back,
Best wishes
Andrew Dartnell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Love this place, location is perfect in Shanghai's answer to Covent Garden and the property ticks every box. The rooms are delightful with everything you would want delivered in classic style, the gym is excellent for a city hotel, the breakfast and bar areas outstanding. All delivered with brilliant Asian service.

Room Tip: High floors are quieter as the location is on a busy cross junction
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham_Xintiandi, Hotel Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear AJ J,
The team and I are happy to hear that you loved your stay in the hotel and we thank you very much for taking the time out to post a review on Tripadvisor. The team do take great pride in providing friendly intuitive service at all times and we are delighted to hear that we met your expectations. We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to The Langham Xintiandi once again.
Best wishes
Andrew Dartnell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed here around 12 months ago and had the pleasure of another 4 nights last week. Still outstanding; rooms spotless and beds incredibly comfortable. Food excellent including room service meals served steaming hot, which is rare even for the best of the best hotels. What always impresses me here is that I never feel like just another "number" like in the big chains. They've got the right blend of genuine, friendly interest and unobtrusive respect for guests. It's a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singapore_Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham_Xintiandi, Hotel Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Singapore_Fish,
We are delighted to hear that your stay a year later was still outstanding and we thank you for taking the time once again to post a review on Tripadvisor. Your comments will be shared with the team who im sure will be glad to hear that we are getting the mix of genuine friendly service and unobstrusive respect for our guests correct which is only possible through the dedication and sincerety of our team members. The team and I look forward to your next stay when you next visit Shanghai.
Best wishes
Andrew Dartnell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel understands excellence! From the moment you walk in the door, you are treated like family.

The rooms are spacious and exude excellence. The staff attends to any need and you never have to want for any item.

Don't miss a stay at the Langham!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaAllee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham_Xintiandi, Hotel Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear LizaAllee,
Thank you very much for your kind post of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you felt like you were treated as family as we do strive to provide friendly intuitive service everyday. Your comments will be shared with the team who will be grateful for the recognition. We do hope your travels will bring you back to our city and to The Langham Xintiandi once again.
Best wishes
Andrew Dartnell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

A well trained and well motivated team working under the strong
leadership of the hotel management. Staff feels proud of their hotel
uniform and are very eager to serve and willing to work hard. I have
been extremely well looked after throughout my four days stay.
Everything is tip top from detail to attention. It was such a wonderful
stay thay I MUST put down my feeling and opinion in saying their praise
so as to be shared with fellow business travellers. Special Thanks to
Sebastian the Concierge-Manager.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piercarlotorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham_Xintiandi, Hotel Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Piercarlotorri,
Thank you very much for taking time out of your schedule to post such a glowing review of our hotel and its team. We are delighted to hear that you were well looked after and that Sebastian in particular was outstanding. Your comments will be shared with the team who will be thrilled with this recognition. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham Xintiandi.
Best wishes
Andrew Dartnell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is our second time staying at The Langham, Xintiandi, Shanghai and we still rate this as one of our best hotel experience. The hotel is at a very good location which is within walking distance to literally anything, from commuting to food. Staff are friendly and helpful and some would even go the extra mile of finding out our needs and helping us to source information. This will still be where we will choose to stay when we're next in Shanghai.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizchichi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham_Xintiandi, Hotel Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear lizchichi24,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your return stay at the Langham Xintiandi and we thank you for taking the time out to post a review on Tripadvisor. The team will be delighted with these comments and it will only further help us to continue to provide outstanding friendly service for our guests. We look forward to your next trip and your return to the hotel.
Best wishes
Andrew Dartnell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#6 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi

Property: The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Address: No.99 Madang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#171 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Shanghai’s vibrant Xintiandi entertainment and restaurant precinct surrounded by glamorous boutiques, galleries and outdoor cafes. The Langham’s elegant rooms and suites provide a haven for discerning guests. Cachet Restaurant and Bar; Chuan Spa offering Traditional Chinese Medicine and spa treatments (opening Q2 2011); 24hr fitness centre and indoor pool (opening Q1 2011). For meetings and special events, the hotel features a multi-purpose space, adaptable for any conference, function or business event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Xintiandi Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing