We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally blown away, best hotel I have stayed in for a long time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Ranked #7 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I don't often give perfect marks but this hotel truly blew me away. I can't say enough good things.

Lets start with the staff who were utterly friendly and helpful at all times. The foreign general manager who was greeting guests was great and couldn't do enough for us

The rooms were simply amazing. Clearly a relatively new refurb. I loved the fact they don't skimp on water. There were free bottles everywhere. Loved that they didn't charge for basic wifi (pet peeve!). Little details like having an international plug next to the bedside (why or why do all hotels not have this its so annoying) was refreshing.

Also the shower. Powerful, a rain shower head the size or a small car. Never experienced anything like it. AND Toto bathroom ware (love!).

The gym was hands down the best gym I have ever used in a hotel and would rank up there even as a city gym. It was fully kitted out with Technogym equipment and even had a seperate weights room! Why can't more hotels learn from this. The gym was nicely busy and everyone left smiling.

Overall great job Langham, I will definitely be back and now curious as to what other cities they are in. If this is anything to go by it will take pride of place as my second favorite chain after W hotels.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank thekyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham_Xintiandi, Hotel Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear thekyd,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of The Langham Xintiandi on Tripadvisor.We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service provided by our friendly staff, the great room and gym and that we are now on your list of favorite hotels. We do look forward to welcoming you back when your travels next bring you to Shanghai.
Best wishes
Andrew Dartnell
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,107)
There are newer reviews for The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our stay with The Langham Xintiandi in Shanghai was luxurious. We had great service, staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was clean and comfortable. Everything expected from The Langham name which we have experienced before, so I felt from the moment I walked in I had made the right choice. But.........
We went with the club room experience this time with transfers to and from the airport. For two people that had never travelled to China before and didn't want to start our holiday on the wrong foot, it was totally worth the extra $600 for 4 nights. I estimated that if you had caught a taxi to and from, ordered room service, ate meals at the hotel, used the mini bar - it would definitely be up there. We could have 3 meals a day, plus morning and arvo tea, cocktails, personalised staff service and conversation. They would book restaurants, tours, make calls for you, fill you in on chinese etiquette, friendly banter - it made for a enjoyable, comfortable and cultural experience. I feel also that going at xmas time, be it cold but sunny, due to their slack season we got extra attention and cheaper rates - worth looking into if you want to make it a family adventure.

Room Tip: Xintiandi was a very good area, walking distance to The Bund and Nanjing Road. Shopping in between i...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank narellesinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham_Xintiandi, Hotel Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear narellesinclair,
Thank you for choosing The Langham Xintiandi as your hotel of choice for your first trip to China and also for your wonderful review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We do take great pride in our Club Lounge offer and we are glad that you found the experience enjoyable and good value. We will share your comments with the team and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Best wishes
Andrew Dartnell
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

After visiting Shanghai many times, this is our first stay at The Langham Xintiandi. We couldn't have been more happier with our choice! Absolutely first class service from all members of staff from check-in to check-out. Spacious room with beautiful bathroom and amenities. Wonderful Toto toilet! Subdued lighting in the room and lovely views over Xintiandi. We chose to upgrade to include the club lounge facilities - which was excellent in every way. Extremely courteous staff, comfortable furnishings, soft lounge music, perfect cocktails and light snacks served in the evening. A real joy to be there. We used the gym facilities each day with top of the range Techno equipment. Super luxury pool and spa too. All in all a fabulous 4-day stay at the Langham. Thanks to all the great staff, including Sebastian and Alex - sorry I can't remember all the names. We will be back!

Room Tip: High floor!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham_Xintiandi, Hotel Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Chinagirl,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you found the service,room amenities, gym and the Club Lounge to be excellent. Your comments will be shared with the team especially Alex and Sebastian who will be delighted with the special recognition. We do look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham Xintiandi.
Best regards
Andrew Dartnell
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Having recently stayed for ten days in the residence (separate bedroom and full kitchen) with club privileges at the fabulous Langham Place in Mongkok, Hong Kong, we decided to spend our last three nights in China at the Langham Xintiandi in Shanghai. We reserved the parlour suite (with club access) which has a separate bedroom, but no kitchen, though the makings for coffee/tea are supplied and there is a small fridge. As expected, service was very attentive, if a little more formal than our experience in HK. Rooms are also slightly more modern but I would give the HK Langham Place extra points for comfort - larger couch, more seating, and better control over lighting and temperature. However, the Shanghai hotel bathroom with its Toto toilet and rainforest shower is a marvel! The breakfast, part of the package, had an incredible variety of dishes to suit any taste and diet, and the lounge snacks in the evening were sufficient for a meal – salads, cheese, grilled meats, pasta, etc.

Only disappointment was the suggestion we received from the front desk for a restaurant that serves beggars chicken. The desk called a day in advance and placed the order at Xin Kai Yuan, address 98 Liu Hu Road, next to the Number 1 Department store in the People’s Square area. It was probably the worst meal we had, both in terms of food and service. The chicken was dry and I am convinced prepared in Lipton’s onion soup mix. Rice arrived after all other plates were finished. Service was extremely rude; lots of wait staff, most of them standing around occupied with their cell phones. Definitely a place to avoid! Other than that, the sole wrinkle in our stay, would definitely recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham_Xintiandi, Hotel Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear catchOttawa_Canada,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to note that you also used our sister property at The Langham Place, Mongkok and enjoyed your stay there too. I have noted your comments about the restaurant you were recommended by our Concierge and we will ensure that we do not recommend this restaurant again. We look forward to your next visit to Shanghai where we hope to be of service again.
Best wishes
Andrew Dartnell
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

good location, newly decorated hotel, stayed at executive rooms, the private lounge is excellent. tried the gym, it's very clean. but the pool is bit dark. we did an interview at the business lounge with a local celebrity, staff there were cooperative and helpful. (probably because we booked a few of their expensive rooms...)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HippyXu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham_Xintiandi, Hotel Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear HippyXu,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. The team and I are glad to hear that your stay went well and that the Club team did a good job of looking after you.The comments will be shared with the Club team who will be delighted to receive such positive feedback .We do look forward to your return.
Best wishes for 2014
Sincerely
Andrew Dartnell
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was my second stay at a Langham within one week. The Shanghai location was amazing! Extremely modern room, huge bathroom and very comfortable room/bed. The staff was accommodating, always with a smile. Yummy buffet with a great selection. Hopefully you like pink, lots of pink accents everywhere, including a pink taxi, but not overwhelming (thankfully). Starbucks on the corner (of course!). Many restaurants and shops within walking distance. Right next to the French Quarter, great atmosphere especially in the evening. I felt very safe exploring block after block during my stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 88Jennifer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham_Xintiandi, Hotel Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear 88Jennifer88,
We are delighted to hear that your second stay was also to your expectations and we thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.We are indeed fortunate to have a such a wonderful location next to great dining , entertainment and wonderful shopping.Your comments will be shared with the team and we look forward to the opportunity of being of service again.
With best wishes for a wonderful 2014,
Sincerely
Andrew Dartnell
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I have stayed in a few hotels in china, I have to say that langham in xintiandi has been my best experience to date. I have found more often then not I have run into trouble during my stays in Chinese hotels. During my stay the staff at the langham were some of the most helpful and understanding i have come across. I would like to give special thanks to front office staff Mr Sebastian Miller, who really did make sure my requests were handled in a prompted and professional manner.

Keep up the good work langham, Ill be staying again for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham_Xintiandi, Hotel Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear man,
Thank you very much for your positive review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear about our staff members being helpful and understanding and also for the special recognition of Sebastian who ensured your requests were well taken care of. We look forward to your return in the new year.
Compliments of the Season,
Sincerely
Andrew Dartnell
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#9 of 5,112 in Shanghai
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi

Address: No.99 Madang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#182 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $244 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Shanghai’s vibrant Xintiandi entertainment and restaurant precinct surrounded by glamorous boutiques, galleries and outdoor cafes. The Langham’s elegant rooms and suites provide a haven for discerning guests. Cachet Restaurant and Bar; Chuan Spa offering Traditional Chinese Medicine and spa treatments (opening Q2 2011); 24hr fitness centre and indoor pool (opening Q1 2011). For meetings and special events, the hotel features a multi-purpose space, adaptable for any conference, function or business event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Xintiandi Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing