We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Ranked #9 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, and everything was fantastic.

Good service, nice location, good facility & room.

Room itself is not large, however, overall quality is above expectation.

I had a breakfast in the first floor, and it was not bad. However, food selection was quite limited. The quality of orange juice was not so good either.

Except this, overall experience was good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham_Xintiandi, Hotel Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Trip935,
Thank you for your review of our hotel and we are delighted to hear you had an excellent experience. I have made a note of your comments regards the orange juice quality and limited breakfast selection and we will seek to improve in this area through further enhancements to our offer.
We hope to have the opportunity to be of service again when you next return to Shanghai for business or leisure.
Best wishes,
Andrew Dartnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

725 - 731 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

This being my first visit to Shanghai, I was worried that the locality was not city center.However, I did anyway choose to stay here after reading other reviews. "Xintiandi" is only a 15 minute walk from the Shanghai Convention center , so worked for me. Thumbs up to the hotel staff ! I cannot emphasize enough on the top quality service ( right from the doorman) to the front desk.The room had a top class design with all the latest gadgets. The hotel itself gives you a boutiqui chic feel ( which is so welcome) . The only minus is the slow quality of the internet( but then this seems to be the case in all hotels in Shanghai). Since the hotel is located in Xintiandi there are plenty of pubs and nightclubs which are open till late and seem to be a hotspot for the young , hip new generation. All in all ......a pleasing experience .....Will recommend it 10 times out of 10.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LITTLEINTERNATIONAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham_Xintiandi, Hotel Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear LITTLEINTERNATIONAL,
Thank you very much for your positive post of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant experience and that you enjoyed the top quality service and the modern rooms including our superb location next to shopping , entertainment and dining.I have made a note of your comments with regards to the internet and we will be looking to improve our services in this area very soon. The team and I also thank you for recommending us to others.
Best wishes
Andrew Dartnell
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

First, my husband, my mother, myself and my two sons (4 years old and a baby) arrived the restaurant with the scence of balloons flying everywhere as well as an unusual crowd of people. We just thought the hotel put up a festive decoration to accomodate family diners, especially towards year end holiday season and more Chinese people start to dine more indoor. The waitress was very helpful as usual seating us near the dessert station on the other end as we requested for big space to handle our baby stroller. All went well and we got our usual table spot. After the first trip to the buffet line, we couldn't wait to leave and come back to our table. There were so many people getting the foods, some were chatting away in loud noise without bothering who was waiting behind, some were using their hands grabbing the food to their plates (as well as tastsing it on the spot), some were dropping their food and putting it back from the floor next to the buffet line, more than 10 children running around without supervising, some diners even found their comfort zone sitting on the restaurant floor!, etc. We decided to ask the staff and was told there was a birthday party with around 50 people on that day. The restaurant itself was a real chaotic scene and gave us a feeling of a local restaurant on the street, not a luxurious lunch buffet in a 5 stars hotel on Shanghai prime area Xintiandi.

From our experience, most restaurants (both high end and local) would make the venue sectioned or closed if they decided to accomodate such party, which I believe 50 guests are more than reasonable amount to do so. This is to be fair and offer privacy to other diners, especially for a buffet line. However, we do not understand the restaurant policy on this except trying to make the most revenue with disregard on other diners nor the hotel reputation. Or at least, we should have been told about the party before we entered the restaurant. This is a very big mistake to the Langham trademark value.

Second, the purpose of going to the restaurant was to celebrate my birthday. We also received a voucher for one person buffet meal as being part of a regular diner of Langham Supper Club. However, we were told the voucher was valid only Monday - Friday, while such condition applied only to the hotel spa, not the restaurant. It was very clear and well written in the voucher. (I am sure you can look up the letter voucher you sent out). The staff still refused (with her broken English) to have a second look. Together with a very disappointing meal and a spoiled atmosphere, we no longer wanted to bother ourselves with further argument, so we just paid everything in full price and left.

We do not consider ourselves demanding customers and normally have good experience with Langham also in UK and Hong Kong. After last Saturday, however, we are reconsidering if we should return, bring, or recommend our friends to this place in the future. We hope to receive a your valid explaination as a matter of urgency.

We have all the restaurant pictures as well as the voucher to share them here in case you would like to witness the situation and would like to have a feel of the atmosphere on that day. Something slightly better than dining on a street food in China.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank sugarbear44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham_Xintiandi, Hotel Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear sugarbear44,
Thank you for taking the time to detail your dining experience on Tripadvisor.On behalf of the team and myself please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused as a result of the big booking in the restaurant which did not let you enjoy your dining experience.The restaurant team have been briefed on how we could have done a much better job as you have highlighted in your post and we will certainly learn from this incident.My colleague has contacted you privately to try and resolve the matter.
Thank you again for your continued support of our hotel and the Langham group. We do look forward to an opportunity to redeem ourselves.
Sincerely
Andrew Dartnell
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Langham Xintiandi is hard to place on the scale. It's not the worse of the lot, but neither the best. I guess it all depends on expectations...As for mine, as summed up: A bit of a let down.

Location & Public Areas:
Great location! Smacked right in Xintiandi with great eateries all around. Fantastic French and Italian food.

Extremely comfortable. Amazing art pieces that leaves you chuckling. I enjoy a hotel with humour and character; without having to try to be overly artistic. This is not an art-hotel. It's a hotel, with great art =)

Did have an issue with the lift lobby though. Positioned extremely close to their restaurant Cachet, you inevitably walk in and out of the lift, smelling like fried eggs/ food. The room corridors too had a funny smell (I guess its from the wool in the carpet). Would have liked them bumping up the Langham scent (gingery-tea lily scent).

Rooms & Bath:
Not the most spacious of the lot, but comfortable. Three can be a slight squeeze. Beds were super comfy. Closet spaces were very limited. The chairs and work desk in the room didn't seem to be ergonomically designed for work. Rooms didn't smell too good. Had to purchase a bottle of Langham room spray (158 RMB) from the lobby to use in the room.

In the bath, brownie points for the automated toilet seat, but the WC area was just weird; no place to put a magazine, or hang your clothes. Shower area was massive (not too sure it was necessary), strong and powerful rain-shower that was very appreciated. The counter top area was the worst designed. There's hardly space for your own toiletries...

Service:
Patchy throughout the property.

a) Concierge, bell-boys, Cachet staff, Spa team were always smiling, always welcoming and more than happy to go the extra-mile to make you feel special.

b) Cachet bar and outdoor area staff; non-chalant, can't be bothered attitude.

c) Housekeeping was the most unpredictable. Great on 1 out of 5 days I stayed. The rest of the 4 days was not great.

(a) Pushed my toiletries (hair wax, deodorant & moisturiser) which I laid nicely on a hand towel, into the corner just so they could place two rolled-up hand towels on the counter top. Very odd.

(b) Would some days find my roll-in bed in the middle of walk-way, other days, pushed to the side.

(c) Chairs were never arranged properly in the room. Always one oddly placed and obstructing the walk-way.

(d) Generally, the room never felt neat (except for tidied beddings and refreshed towels) at any time.

(e) The marbled areas in the room (entrance area, the WC area and the wash-sink area) always felt sticky on the feet.

Breakfast:
Chinese food was surprisingly poor. The dim-sum wasn't as refined as expected. Rest of the buffet was very decent.

Room Tip: Only fit 3 to a room if you have an amazing room rate. Due to poor design, 40sqm is not well utilise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimbostratus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham_Xintiandi, Hotel Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Ninbostratus,
Thank you for your detailed post on Tripadvisor.We are happy to note that you found the location to be great and that the rooms were comfortable though not spacious enough for three persons. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconsistent service you experienced during your stay. The team have been made aware of the issues you have highlighted and we have put corrective measures in place to ensure there are no repeats of a similar nature. We do hope we will have another opportunity to improve upon this stay.
Best wishes
Andrew Dartnell
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I recently stayed at the Shanghai Langham for 10 days and it was absolutely some of the best customer service I have ever experienced. From the courteous doormen, helpful front desk, excellent Concierge and what my colleague and I like to call the 'Roaming Ambassadors' throughout the hotel, this is a premium property. In-room amenities are unique and top-notch - the bathrooms and dressing spaces are large and the bed is wonderfully comfortable. We were lucky enough to stay on the Club Level, and the staff there were unreal - catering to whatever we asked for with a smile and 'of course'. The Manager was an absolute gentleman and treated us as if we were the only people staying there. The food was fresh, flavorful and presented beautifully. Location can't be beat. The hotel is_spotless_ and smells like heaven.

I had written about specific people in my checkout review, and lo and behold, by the time I arrived back in the States, I had a thank-you email from one of them. Now that's class. I also had the opportunity to meet the Sales staff, who could not get me addresses fast enough for their favorite custom tailors and pearl shops. Felt like being with people who actually like to speak with you, because they do!

I am coming back in December and cannot wait to stay at the Langham again!!

Room Tip: The location is so well-insulated that every room would seem to be just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBethG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham_Xintiandi, Hotel Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear JBethG,
We do sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a such a wonderful review of our hotel on Tripadvisor and we thank you for the same. It is always heartening for the team to receive such comments especially for a job well done as well as for your recognition of outstanding service provided by Ken our Club Manager. We do look forward to your return visit in December.
Kind regards
Andrew Dartnell
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a 5 star plus hotel. Great room, large, electric drapes which open to reveal a lovely cityscape, closets and drawers. A huge bathroom with a great Toto commode and a shower space that includes the bathtub.(sorry for the maid who had to clean it every day). Lovely service with a great Guest Relations Staff who speak fluent English and just break their backs to be of assistance with anything. Breakfast lovely and the buffet dinner looked entrancing but who caneat that much. Location is incredible. Walk outside and you are in the middle of everything. We felt at home in this hotel and very comfortable in Shanghai. Must be our NYC roots.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtroner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham_Xintiandi, Hotel Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear mtroner,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.We are extremely glad to hear that you felt at home and very comfortable in the hotel and also enjoyed the facilities provided in the room, our friendly service and the great location. We do hope that you will return again when your travels next bring you to Shanghai.
Best wishes
Andrew Dartnell
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We spent five nights at the property and loved it. Shanghai has a lot of competition in the 5 star arena, but I have to say we were extremely pleased with our choice, first of all because you cannot beat the location in buzzy Xintiandi. The hotel is relatively new, the rooms are fresh and minimalist with great comfy bed and all the technology you would expect. The most spectacular feature was probably the bathroom, with a massive monsoon shower and bath together in a huge glass cubicle. Very good choice of cosmetic products, too. Breakfast downstairs offered a lot of choice both in western and Chinese cuisine with noodles made freshly on the spot, etc. Finally the club lounge is a massive benefit (unlike other hotels) with fish, meat and pasta freshly cooked in front of you in the evening by a chef, a good selection of cheese, salads, desserts etc. Basically when you get a club room, you can have a proper good quality dinner included in your rate. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Club lounge rooms are on the top floors and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank headacheinasuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham_Xintiandi, Hotel Manager at The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Headacheinasuitcase,
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about our hotel on Trip Advisor and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be back again. We are indeed blessed with a wonderful location next to all the shopping, entertainment and dining venues in Xintiandi. We are also happy to note that you found our Club Lounge to be a great benefit too. We look forward to your return when you next visit Shanghai.
Best wishes
Andrew Dartnell
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Xintiandi
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
#30 of 5,222 in Shanghai
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#7 of 5,222 in Shanghai
1,545 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi

Address: No.99 Madang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#8 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#174 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $237 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Shanghai’s vibrant Xintiandi entertainment and restaurant precinct surrounded by glamorous boutiques, galleries and outdoor cafes. The Langham’s elegant rooms and suites provide a haven for discerning guests. Cachet Restaurant and Bar; Chuan Spa offering Traditional Chinese Medicine and spa treatments (opening Q2 2011); 24hr fitness centre and indoor pool (opening Q1 2011). For meetings and special events, the hotel features a multi-purpose space, adaptable for any conference, function or business event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Xintiandi Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing