We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Set your watch by the trains...”

Shanghai Hongqiao Railway Station
Book In Advance
More Info
$96.00*
and up
Private Nanjing Sightseeing Day Trip from Shanghai by Train including Lunch
Ranked #4 of 18 Transportation in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Duns, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Set your watch by the trains...”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Fantastic - Shanghai to Nanjing, First Class - £22... How can that be wrong? :) The speed is amazing, and free food too. The privatised rubbish in the UK could learn a thing or two...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Blellum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,113
    871
    313
    46
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My favorite way to get around”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The CRH is light-years ahead of anything in the USA. It is fast, amazingly smooth and quiet, and great value. I frequently use the CRH from Shanghai to various cities within 500km. It always amazes me the availability of tickets and routes. I highly recommend the Business Class car. The cost is very reasonable, with excellent service; and chitter-chatter of other passengers is gone. An added bonus to the Business Class car is that it has a western style toilet. Some tips to think about - on some routes they will sell tickets that seat people on beds - 3 people to a bed - very odd and not comfortable for an hours-long journey. Another tip is that the class of service from lowest to highest is coach-first-business, so business is the best class of service - again, a little strange.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank vzqk50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“carolync”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

we took the g train from beijing to shanghai - great trip - so much to see along the way. we travelled in first class, seats were comfotable, plenty of room. much preferred this to flying. we did take our own food on board though & I would advise this as the food being sold didn't look too appertising.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank carolyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you want to take a ride on a 300km/h train”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Not mind blowing but I think you can check it out, its fast and takes you to metro line nr2. The price isnt also a killer as other wrote here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting experience”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I took the high speed (G class) from Beijing to shanghai (5 hour one) but was a bit disappointed when I realised it wasn't the magnetic train. However, the journey was ok and more comfortably than flying and going through the airport.

I booked VIP class seats which were 6 seats to a carriage (booked through an online agent before i got to china and they delivered to my hotel - no extra charges for this service) and was glad i didn't have to sit with the mass of people in the rest of the train. I had my own seat next to the window which was awesome and spent a fair bit of time watching the landscape. VIP tix are also only $20 more and include snacks and drink. Total cost was 1055 yuan (approximately $200).

This doesn't compare with the bullet train in Japan as smoking is allowed on board some carriages and the internal isn't as good, service is also not as good as in Japan. Overall a positive experience but probably wouldn't do it again! (Whereas I love catching the bullet train!)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Hongqiao Railway Station also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shanghai Hongqiao Railway Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing