We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite and experience”
Review of Sun with Aqua

Sun with Aqua
Ranked #315 of 17,012 Restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: The Bund
Montréal
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Quite and experience”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went at Sun with aqua for lunch. We did not reserve but fortunately they found places at the counter. We couldn't have better place as we were right in front of the cooks and were able to see how they prepare the dishes. It was amazing too see them cook and actually comforting. The sushis, though they were a bit large, were amazing. The meat was perfect.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernatchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    34
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“One of the best Japanese in town”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best Japanese restaurant in town... Unfortunately it is quite expensive in the evening (lunch set are worth the try). Even if the food is good it is not at the level of an average+ place in Japan :(

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanghaiJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great if you're not paying”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I come to this place a lot for company dinners. My boss loves it here. The sashimi is very good. Especially the salmon. The cooked black cod is amazing. The tempura basket is great for those who don't like sushi. None of the food is mindblowing (except for maybe the Black Cod). We always get a private room overlooking the bund, which has a nice ambiance/view. The bathroom has a heated toilet seat. Big plus.
Since I always come with my company, I don't know what kind of value for quality this place is. All I know is it's expensive and I wouldn't go if I had to pay :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank muchacha052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Over hyped / Very poor”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

The service is charmless and poor which is inexcusable at this very high price point. The tiny sharks swimming above the 'check in' desk may be novel, but it is all downhill from there. There are three menus - the main one, 'specials' and 'seasonal' - unlike the helpful picture menus generally found in China these are garish and look like cheap motorway restaurants. They are badly set out and conceal totally ridiculous prices for Shanghai or even The Bund. Although it advertises itself as a bar and restaurants, they only have cocktails based on cassis or Midori. If you are lucky enough for the staff to visit your table to take an order you will end up with some very average food at daft prices. There are no Bund views except from private rooms. Avoid!

Helpful?
2 Thank JeffCypress
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Come if u are loaded.”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I came to this place because of the reviews on web, however, here's how I feel.....
Service poor, food average, price high...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ttorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun with Aqua also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Sun with Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing